We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Venue/Hotel- it's in the detail”
Review of Thaba Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thaba Eco Hotel
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue/Hotel- it's in the detail”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We recently booked this venue for my sisters wedding and the venue is beautiful,amazing setting,we booked 4 rooms for the night before and requested a few things prior to arrival, however there was a lack of communication between the relevant parties involved and some things were over looked by the hotel and the venue staff.

We checked in on Saturday evening only to be told our bookings were made for the next night however a gentleman by the name of Paul arranged rooms for us within an hour.The rooms are beautiful and spacious with stunning views,they are extremely clean,the bathrooms are massive,a good breakfast and an overall lovely hotel,you don't feel as though you are a stones throw away from the city.

The cons were that the arrangements I had made with the wedding co-ordinator with regards to details for our rooms and the hall for the wedding were not all fulfilled,although minor they should not have been overlooked,I have still not heard a word back from her till today as she said she would drop me an e-mail the week of the wedding to confirms these things- disappointing.
A very odd thing missing was there were no tissues in the room.

The wedding was amazing,the view breathtaking-highly recommend this wedding venue.

A huge thank you to Paul for your help in arranging the last minute details and taking the time to check in on the bridal party.

I would recommend this hotel but ensure everything is in writing or in an e-mail.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasmia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Nasmia

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing important areas for improvement to our attention. It is very important for us at Thaba Ya Batswana to be aware of such feedback and to ensure that our valued customers are always our first and foremost priority.

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our venue. We are truly blessed to have such beautiful natural surroundings.

I have investigated the issues raised in your review. We would like to state that your sisters wedding was a Halaal wedding which was outsourced to a Halaal Caterer and Wedding coordinator. Thaba Ya Batswana was not involved in the planning the actual running, staffing or catering of the event.

With regards to the Hotel Rooms, our Company policy is that all rooms need to be secured with credit card details or full payment before check in. We had not received any thing from you and also could not reach you on the contact details provided to us. Therefore we cancelled the four provisional rooms but we are glad to hear that Paul assisted in reinstating these bookings for you on the day.

We do believe in creating lifelong friendships and this is what we hope to establish with you over time.

Please contact me should you require the details of the suppliers to resolve any matters you might have.

Our aim at Thaba Ya Batswana is to offer our clients an unforgettable experience every time and look forward to having them back for all occasions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance.


Kind regards
TARYN PORTEOUS
Sales & Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    56
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
87
7
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our business accommodation was booked at this "home away from home" hotel. It was a wonderful way to relax and feel refreshed after a week of hectic business activities. The breath taking views and general feeling of calm and tranquility were appreciated by the delegates from all over the world.The staff are friendly, helpful,very efficient and always ready with a smile. The rooms are spacious,clean and have a great atmosphere with specific and creative decor. A very good night sleep is on the menu!
The Kraal restaurant did an awesome job at accommodating the needs and demands of us all and thanks to them we pulled off an amazing celebratory dinner.
Of course the Lion cubs were a highlight for many in our group, the experience of a cuddle with the babies is one that will be mentioned in our company for a long time still.
This hotel is a definite for business, family or a romantic getaway - I hope to see the Thaba family soon! A very well done to Paul and Taryn from Thaba Ya Batswana for coordinating our stay with ease.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Lynden K


We are pleased to know that we met your traveller’s expectations with our service, hotel rooms, food, especially as your guests were from different countries whose each demand was met in accordance to their specific needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was really an amazing surprise, what a beautiful set up and awesome room, great service and attention to detail. Next time i will be back with the all family. I loved the baby Lions project concept. please keep the good job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauloGoncalves69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear PauloGoncalves69

We are excited to know that you were surprised with our beautiful rooms, great service and attention to detail. We can’t wait for when you bring your family back to experience our awesome hotel.

Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our conference was held at this world class hotel & lodge, the choice of global market leaders. From the minute you enter through the gates, you forget that you are in one of the busiest cities. Breathtaking views of the Southern part of Joburg, friendly staff right down from the cleaners to the MD, everywhere we went we were greeted with a smile and someone offering to assist with luggage, finding the way, etc. Conference facilities must be the best in the world, with great food and snacks and lots to drink. Fantastic rooms, with everything you need & more, the food at The Kraal Restaurant outstanding. The highlight was our interactive session with the lion cubs, a mere 4 weeks old, climbing all over us. Truly an awesome experience.

Room Tip: The eco apartments is a must stay as well as the Kraal area rooms - we stayed in 203 with own little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Wow, thank you Melanie665 for your feedback.

From the time you entered at security to the time you were greeted by our MD and were assisted by our porters we could tell you had an amazing experience.

We are also thrilled to know that you thought our hotel rooms were fantastic and that the food at our Kraal Kombuis Restaurant met your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you back at Thaba Eco Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

There are different reasons why people stay at a hotel. Sometimes its for business, sometimes for a wedding, sometimes it is merely an escape from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives. I stayed at Thaba this weekend to visit with some friends, this was my second stay as I stayed here also in 2011.

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, from Finland across the globe to India, and I have learned along the way what makes a good hotel, but also what it is that makes a great hotel. Thaba for me is a great hotel. The basics are there, clean rooms, good food and friendly service. But more than that they strive for excellence. For example, the service is not just friendly, it is also calm and unobtrusive; and when there is a problem it is dealt with efficiently and without making you feel uncomfortable and demanding. The rooms are not just clean, they are crisp with soothing colours and comfortable and stylish furniture. And the food is not just good, it tantalizes and makes you want more!

Thaba is also about the complete experience. They have a range of other activities available to their clients including the fabulous Thaba Lions! What a delight to be able to come up close and personal with the King of the Jungle. I had the opportunity to hold and play with the little cubs. Just be careful that you don't turn into a toy for the cubs yourself as they are quite inquisitive and won't hesitate to get a playful bite in while playing!

I would definitely recommend Thaba Ya Batswana any day!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms as the best view ever!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenN_1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Karenn

Thank you for the wonderful review from a globetrotter such as yourself.

We are pleased that our service was not just basic but excellent and our staff have honoured the values of professionalism that we strive to achieve in our service to all our guests.

We look forward to see you again soon and thank you for recommending Thaba Eco Hotel.

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It has been a long time since my wife and I have gone away alone. So I decided to go onto the NET and find a place not to far from the concrete jungle as we only had one night, I discovered THABA YA BATSWANA . A mere 30 min drive from Boksburg and we were in Heven. It is not just a destination it is home away from home.I dont know where to start,from the welcoming at security to the staff at reception,the drive to our rooms, the massive clean rooms with rose pettles and gift basket, amazing views,the welcome refreshments and treats at our dinner venue,the decor on our tables,the great staff compliment per customer /table,the excellent taste and presentation of the food (their went the diet).And of course the smile on the beautiful wifes face as this was all a surprise for her.The next morning we went for breakfast,all the goodies a fantastic breakfast should consist of. After filling our bellys we went to the Lion Cubs Park,two mins walk away.That is where my wife fell in love again (not with me but the cubs).We spend some time playing with them and then had to leave to get back to the hustle and bustle.What a great experience from start to end. I would again like to thank all at THABA YA BATSWANA .Pictures are on face book.

Room Tip: All look great,amazing sun sets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservaions Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear ClintB

We are thrilled that your wife left Thaba Eco Hotel with a smile on her face.

We always aim to under promise and over deliver as you have seen in all the little details during your stay.

Since you are just around the corner we look forward to hosting you soon when you return for your next breakaway from the concrete jungle.

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thaba Ya Batswana is truly Heaven on Earth. Breathtaking views, 5 star facilities, amazing staff and excellent cuisine is only a few of the characteristics of this great venue.

I recently hosted a corporate event at TYB and it was a great success.

First and foremost I would like to thank each staff member for their great hospitality, professional service and attention to detail. Hats off to the chefs and kitchen staff for the excellent cuisine.

The breathtaking rooms are comfortable and spacious with its elegant design.

Over all this was a fantastic experience and I would recommend all travelers staying in JHB to visit this GEM.

Room Tip: The Bushveld rooms are truly the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolandi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear YolandiV

Thaba Eco Hotel’s number one core value is professionalism. We are delighted that it was noted and met your expectations. As a four star hotel we strive to achieve the five star experience and look forward to hosting your next event.

Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
10.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
9.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
715 reviews
11.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
10.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#22 of 68 in Johannesburg
190 reviews
10.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Eco Hotel

Property: Thaba Eco Hotel
Address: Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2091, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaba Eco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaba Eco Hotel is a rare and valuable jewel surrounded by the Southern Johannesburg metropolis. It is situated in the Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve just 10 km from the city centre and has an abundance of indigenous trees, plants, birds and wildlife. Thaba is passionate about professional, service-oriented hospitality. This, along with the beautiful world class facilities and breathtaking natural surroundings, makes it the venue of choice for weddings and all special occasions. Thaba offers an idyllic setting in contemporary African style that will make your special day unique and unforgettable. Our delightful on-site church is the perfect place for your sacred wedding vows to be concluded in a romantic atmosphere with panoramic views. Our team of professional wedding coordinators will take care of everything in the finest detail to ensure that you can fully enjoy every moment of your dream wedding. Relax in the luxury hotel rooms amidst the tranquil setting with breathtaking sunsets and unwind at the spa, refreshing pool and meditation trail. The Kraal Restaurant and Olive Tree Coffee Shop offer cuisine to satisfy the most discerning of palates with superb food and wine, delightful treats and rich aromatic coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Thaba Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaba Ya Batswana Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing