We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a hotel, a destination”
Review of Thaba Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thaba Eco Hotel
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Not just a hotel, a destination”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at Thaba more than once and have always been welcomed as family. Staff were always friendly and made me feel at home. The amazing views from the hotel room made me feel like I was on a game farm away from the city when in fact the major free-way in Johannesburg is very close by. The spa was great and playing with lion cubs was definitely the highlight if my year so far. If you are ever there, I highly recommend the chocolate cake. Simply delicious!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanetKilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sanetkillian

We always aim to ensure that our valued guests feel part of our Thaba family.

The breath-taking views from your hotel room and great spa and lion cub experience is what we aim to achieve at Thaba Eco Hotel. We agree with you -our chocolate cake is out of this world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    56
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
87
7
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently attended a wedding at the Thaba Ya Batswana Hotel and because we traveled from far to attend the wedding, decided to stay at this Hotel. We checked in after the wedding and once inside our room noticed that half of the room (including the bathroom) had no electricity. It took more than an hour for the hotel staff to respond to our dilemma and to book us into a new room. The new room had electricity but was not prepared for guests and thus had no towels, toiletries, bathrobes, coffee and tea making facilities etc. We waited again for more than half an hour for this to be rectified. By this time it was 3 am. We only slept for 4 hours as we had to leave early to make our journey back home. When we woke, we phoned reception to provide us with the necessary golf-cart to return us and our luggage to our car. We were told that someone will be there in 5 min. After 15 min we phoned again and were told someone is on their way. After another 15 min we phoned again and were then told that they lied concerning the golf-cart, no one was in fact on their way as they could not get hold of the relevant individual. We thus walked with our luggage to our car. This delayed us to such an extent we could not make us of the breakfast included service.
Despite all my complaints, the Hotel has not provided me with a refund, an apology or even an explanation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My friend recently had her wedding here. Coming from a hotel background, I would notice the small things that people usually wouldn't. Needless to say I was terribly disappointed at how their guest relations are in terms of "the guest is always right". We had asked the co-ordinator to remove all the extra chairs so that the other aisles will be spaced out well. She said she will place a request with the GM but it never happens that they move it. I didn't understand this as its very simple to remove chairs no matter how much of a mission for the staff. On the day of the wedding, the co-ordinator didn't even check up on the bride. I found this strange as she needs to be in contact with the guests to monitor timing. This was very unproffessional as she did not seem interested at all. We didn't even see her after the wedding ceremony. The hotel would also do well to invest in some signage for guests to know in which direction to go when looking for a specific group of guests. One would think that for the price you pay you would be getting sterling service! Prepare for disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCSJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

To start with the hotel is decent 4 stars business hotel.
Potivies are:
Rooms are quite big and the bathroom are huge.
The hotel team are very friendly and supportive, especially "Maxine" at the reception.

Negatives:
Rooms re far away from the reception, so you will need golfcart to take you to your room every time you want to go back and forth.

I beleive in general it is good hotel for business or lare group confrences.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Abolghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you Abolghar for pointing out both our positives and our negatives. We are extremely pleased that Maxine and the hotel team was friendly and supportive and that you enjoyed our big and comfortable rooms. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future

Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have had the honor & pleasure to stay at Thaba Ya Batswana a few times & I have had the best service every time. The staff is the best, they are so friendly & helpful & nothing is ever too much or even impossible for them. They go above & beyond the call of duty to keep the guests happy. The restaurant is 5 star. The food is out of this world delicious, always made to perfection. & there's something on the menu to tantalize every ones taste buds. The rooms are so comfy & really 5 star quality & caters to every possible need. The whole setting of TYB is breathtaking. From the moment you drive up, you are filled with peace & all worries disappear. Within the first 5 minutes you feel like you never want to leave again. I'll recommend TYB to any one & every one.

Ilse

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilsej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear llsej1

We would like to thank you for appreciating the peaceful nature of Thaba Eco Hotel, and are glad to see that all the standards that Thaba Eco Hotel set exceeded your expectations

Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Staying at TYB for just a night feels as if one had a weeks holiday! Why? It's simple - the warm smiles and care from the staff makes one feel at home. The luxury and very spacious rooms have all the modern amenities. The gastronamic experience at the restaurant is out of this world whether you sit inside or outside. The feeling of being far away from Johannesburg whilst literally a 10 minute drive away is one of pure relaxation. The hospitable management going out of their way to exceed expectations - a big WOW! Overall, this is a peace of heaven in the heart of a little bushveld. A must and highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennojnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Hennojnb

What a brilliant review - we are extremely pleased that you are wowed by all that Thaba Eco Hotel has to offer. We are happy that our staff’s warm smiles and attentive nature has made your experience worthwhile and that the restaurant made you feel as though you were out of this world. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laos
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed one night at this very pleasant ego hotel just South of Johannesburg. The weather was not too great but this didn't reduce the very pleasant experience we had. There were a few items where the Restaurant could improve on but overall a very great experience. The decor and finish of the rooms supports the whole experience. The bathrooms are enourmous! Very pleasant fire in the restaurant. Grounds beautiful and relaxing just to strole around. Definetely to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Christiaang

We are glad to hear that your experience was not affected by the weather conditions of the day and extremely happy that you enjoyed our beautiful big bathrooms, our delicious food served at the Kraal Kombuis Restaurant.

We are glad to see that you explored the beautiful and tranquil surroundings of Thaba Eco Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
10.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
9.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
716 reviews
11.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
10.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 68 in Johannesburg
190 reviews
8.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Eco Hotel

Property: Thaba Eco Hotel
Address: Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2091, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaba Eco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaba Eco Hotel is a rare and valuable jewel surrounded by the Southern Johannesburg metropolis. It is situated in the Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve just 10 km from the city centre and has an abundance of indigenous trees, plants, birds and wildlife. Thaba is passionate about professional, service-oriented hospitality. This, along with the beautiful world class facilities and breathtaking natural surroundings, makes it the venue of choice for weddings and all special occasions. Thaba offers an idyllic setting in contemporary African style that will make your special day unique and unforgettable. Our delightful on-site church is the perfect place for your sacred wedding vows to be concluded in a romantic atmosphere with panoramic views. Our team of professional wedding coordinators will take care of everything in the finest detail to ensure that you can fully enjoy every moment of your dream wedding. Relax in the luxury hotel rooms amidst the tranquil setting with breathtaking sunsets and unwind at the spa, refreshing pool and meditation trail. The Kraal Restaurant and Olive Tree Coffee Shop offer cuisine to satisfy the most discerning of palates with superb food and wine, delightful treats and rich aromatic coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Thaba Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaba Ya Batswana Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing