We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of heaven in the heart of Johannesburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaba Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thaba Eco Hotel
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven in the heart of Johannesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have had the honor & pleasure to stay at Thaba Ya Batswana a few times & I have had the best service every time. The staff is the best, they are so friendly & helpful & nothing is ever too much or even impossible for them. They go above & beyond the call of duty to keep the guests happy. The restaurant is 5 star. The food is out of this world delicious, always made to perfection. & there's something on the menu to tantalize every ones taste buds. The rooms are so comfy & really 5 star quality & caters to every possible need. The whole setting of TYB is breathtaking. From the moment you drive up, you are filled with peace & all worries disappear. Within the first 5 minutes you feel like you never want to leave again. I'll recommend TYB to any one & every one.

Ilse

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilsej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear llsej1

We would like to thank you for appreciating the peaceful nature of Thaba Eco Hotel, and are glad to see that all the standards that Thaba Eco Hotel set exceeded your expectations

Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    54
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
84
7
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Staying at TYB for just a night feels as if one had a weeks holiday! Why? It's simple - the warm smiles and care from the staff makes one feel at home. The luxury and very spacious rooms have all the modern amenities. The gastronamic experience at the restaurant is out of this world whether you sit inside or outside. The feeling of being far away from Johannesburg whilst literally a 10 minute drive away is one of pure relaxation. The hospitable management going out of their way to exceed expectations - a big WOW! Overall, this is a peace of heaven in the heart of a little bushveld. A must and highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennojnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Hennojnb

What a brilliant review - we are extremely pleased that you are wowed by all that Thaba Eco Hotel has to offer. We are happy that our staff’s warm smiles and attentive nature has made your experience worthwhile and that the restaurant made you feel as though you were out of this world. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laos
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed one night at this very pleasant ego hotel just South of Johannesburg. The weather was not too great but this didn't reduce the very pleasant experience we had. There were a few items where the Restaurant could improve on but overall a very great experience. The decor and finish of the rooms supports the whole experience. The bathrooms are enourmous! Very pleasant fire in the restaurant. Grounds beautiful and relaxing just to strole around. Definetely to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christiaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Christiaang

We are glad to hear that your experience was not affected by the weather conditions of the day and extremely happy that you enjoyed our beautiful big bathrooms, our delicious food served at the Kraal Kombuis Restaurant.

We are glad to see that you explored the beautiful and tranquil surroundings of Thaba Eco Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

I got married and just wanted to have dinner at the restaurant with my family and made a booking to ensure table availability.
By the time we got to the restaurant, we could not believe the care and consideration management and all the staff had done to make our table so special. I have traveled around many countries but this venue left us impressed not only for the way we were treated, but for everything they stand for including the environment, the quality of food, staff training, and the facilities, we all could just not find anything to fault after being so close to a metropolis like Johannesburg and feeling like in the “bush” far away from any civilization. What a wonderful experience that no “thank you” can ever do justice

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RuiFragoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Resevations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear wwwruifragosocom

It was our pleasure to have made your special day unforgettable.

We’re impressed that after all the countries that you have travelled to, we have left you with such a memorable impression.

Thank you, we agree that we are blessed to be in such a wonderful environment as Thaba Eco Hotel

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I especially the restaurant. loved the food. will definitely recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zamajunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Zamajunda

We look forward to you returning with your friends and family and are thrilled that you loved the food at our Kraal Kombuis Restaurant.

Kind Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Thaba ya botswana's food is just as good as its service if not better and now with a new cocktail menu to the mix it is just a awsome recipe for an unforgetteble experience, tha u will have to return to, to enjoy again and again cause I think each time presents and oppertunnety to descover something new! Job well done guys!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike10000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Mike1000000000

We are thrilled that our new cocktail menu is as you mentioned awesome and we look forward to you returning again and in the hope that you next return will be an even greater experience than received before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

I have stayed at Thaba Ya Batswana several times before and my expectations are constantly exceeded. It is so close to the centre of Johannesburg for cultural events, Soccer City for sport events and had fantastic facilities. Located in a nature reserve; feels like you are completely away from the city. Also up the road from a Virgin Active gym.
The rooms are amazing (I beleieve they hosted the Mexican team in the FIFA World Cup) and reasonably prices. The rooms are also very private and prefect for a couple!

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vterziev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our venue. We are truly blessed to have such beautiful natural surroundings.

We are extremely overwhelmed by the positive feedback you have written about Thaba Eco Hotel from the rooms, staff and even the restaurant and the surroundings. We are totally pleased that you have rated us as an all round lovely experience.

We are truly honoured that you have written such a wonderful review about the hotel.

We believe in creating lifelong friendships and this is what we hope to establish with you, your friends and family over time. It is a review from a guest like you that inspires us to grow each and every day in every possible way.

Our aim at Thaba Ya Batswana is to offer our clients an unforgettable experience and look forward to having them back for all special occasions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance.

Kind regards
STOEP CATERING CC

Taryn Heggie
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
9.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
11.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
11.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
10.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
8.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Eco Hotel

Property: Thaba Eco Hotel
Address: Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2091, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaba Eco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the tranquil and picturesque Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, one finds a piece of Highveld Heaven in the form of the impressive Thaba Eco Hotel. A decade of passion has resulted in brand renowned for world class customer service. Thaba Eco Hotel has recently been voted as the BEST 4 Star hotel in Gauteng at the Lilizela Tourism Awards, and is now also a registered FAIR TRADE tourism certified business. The design of Thaba Eco hotel was inspired by the historical and environmental elements of the Tswana Mountains. With the luxury, executive and Bushveld suites, guests have a variety of room types to choose from. As part of their Green Policy, Thaba Eco Hotel has incorporated several creative and positive measures to contribute to the sustainability of both the area and the planet as a whole. All hotel rooms have been designed with the environment in mind. Colours of the exterior of the buildings represents the stone and tree bark to reduce visual impact, and only 50% of the Bushveld suites floor plan touches the ground to ensure the maximum protection of the fauna and flora. Thaba Eco Hotel also has a variety of stunning venues for weddings, conferences and other functions, such as the Marquee, Lobola and Tswana Banquet Halls. Leisure activities include the Sinzinani Day Spa, Meditation Trail, Guided Hiking Trails and the popular Thaba Lions Educational Centre. For the future generation our Eco Kids Club provides educational nature walks and various other leisure activities.We have also realised that hospitality and tantalising food goes hand in hand, and have therefore put together a team of world renowned chefs to attend to everybody's culinary requirements. At our Olive Tree Coffee Shop one can indulge in a slice of freshly baked bar-one chocolate cake next to a 500 year old Wild Olive Tree, while enjoying an aromatic coffee or sipping on one of our herbal teas.The impeccable facilities and breath taking natural surroundings ensure that Thaba Eco Hotel is the venue of choice for both the corporate and leisure markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Thaba Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaba Ya Batswana Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing