We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
Nearby Hotels
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$214
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$92
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$186
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$188
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$266
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$87
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
143
38
10
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
38
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barthatch roofantique furnituremandela squarelovely homebreakfast each morningquiet at nighthome away from homerooms are largestay there againnice poolnice breakfastmain buildingfelt safebeautiful gardenbeautiful hotelunderfloor heating
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 200 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This Boutique Hotel is lovely to stay in on holiday as well as on business. Due to the warm and welcoming atmosphere I really felt at home. It has a large beautiful green and flowery garden where you can really relax. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is great and the rooms are nicely decorated. It is centrally located to the Gautrain and Sandton City which makes it a perfect place to stay for going around in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had booked a conference room for a client function and paid a deposit about 2 weeks prior to the event to confirm and secure the booking. Three days before the start of the function the hotel called to say that they were giving the conference room to one of the hotel's regular clients - who needed the room on short notice. They didn't care that
1. I had a confirmed booking and paid a 50% deposit
2. invitations had already gone out to my function guests and they had RSVP'd
3. The Hotel's last minute cancellation could harm the reputation of my events company.

The Hotel wanted to move my function to a small, dingy, thatched loft without air conditioning, no projector or screen. Prior to making the booking, I visited the hotel and discussed my conferencing requirements with the hotel's management - I was shocked that they even tried to offer me the tiny loft as an alternative.

If you host events or client functions, be warned that this hotel is inclined to cancel your confirmed booking days before your event. The service is poor, unreliable and unprofessional.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Puso F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Ms P,

Sorry to see your review. Our manager called you to triy to discuss with you if she could offer you an alternative venue or even an upgrade, but unfortunatly, you did not deem it necessary to have a normal discussion with her. I also tried to call you twice, but you refused to take my calls, so we could not discuss the best solution. If you would have insisted on using that space, we would have asked our long term customer to use an other conference room. We refunded your money immediately when you cancelled the event by email, an hour after our phone call. Again, we are sorry to hear how you feel about the situation, but we believe that, in case of a rare situation like this, talking to the clients to come to a solution is the way to go: there is always a solution.

Again, our apologies and please note that we go for 100 % accommodating our guests. We hope you still had a nice event elsewhere.

Best wishes,

Sandton Boutique Hotel Team and

Emmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Fabulous guesthouse that made us feel welcome and safe every minute! Our room was amazing and the breakfast was out of this world. The staff went out of their way for everything and offered great advice on what to do in just 2 days in the city. Would love to come back and spend more time here, thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CH_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Ladies,

Thank you so much for your very nice review of our hotel. We are very happyt that you enjoyed your stay with us! Too bad you only had a few days to enjoy our hotel and our beautiful city. We hope you had a wonderful trip in Africa and would love to welcome you back again!

Best wishes from the Sandton Boutique Hotel Team and

Emmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sandton Boutique Hotel for several weeks, making trips in between. The staff was so kind as to give us the same room every time we came back from our travels and remembered our preferences. We felt indulged.
The hotel is warmly decorated with a mix of South African furniture and modern luxury. The hotel is very well situated in the centre of Johannesburg, only two minutes away from the Sandton City Mall. We recommend this hotel with pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review of our hotel. We are happy we have been able to make you feel at home and that you enjoyed our beautiful city!

It was very nice to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to South Africa.

Best wishes,

Emmie and the Sandton Boutique Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying here for our first trip to South Africa. The trip was predominantly business. Emmie and her staff were most accommodating with all of our requests. The room was so lovely and the grounds were most pleasant. We have now found the place we will stay for all future trips to Sandton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Roxanne,

Thanks so much for your review: that is very kind of you! We thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests and we hope you will be visiting us again soon! All the best from beautiful Joburg: we miss you!

Emmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews