We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Faulty Towers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
Ranked #27 of 279 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I found this place through TA and it had 5* reviews and it is excellent but a little hit and miss! The staff especially the chef,come very helpful chap Ashley was very very good and exceedingly helpful. My wife arrived some hours before me to find that they didn't appear to have our booking, but Ashley came to the rescue, sorted things out and even made my wife lunch free of charge. I also booked my wife in to the spa which she tells me is excellent, she was certainly on cloud 9 when I arrived! All in all this is a beautiful guest house right in the middle of Sandton, the staff are FANTASTIC, and whilst it is a little hit and miss it beats any 5* faceless chain hotel. If you are passing through Johannesburg for pleasure or business and want something that is really friendly, good value and very beautiful look no further.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordstay, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our sincere apologies for the booking error: we were changing systems at the time and with our new booking system, this cannot happen again. We hope to welcome you back soon when business brings you back to Joburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    25
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
45
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would recommend this place to any one going to johannesburg .

Very friendly staff and overall an amazing place .

These guys also assisted in getting me an extra that I requested which isnt in their regulars.

Thanks to the whole team!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Opinion_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordstay, Manager at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your recommendation! We hope you will stay with us again soon!

The Sandton Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Johann and I just want to thank you all for the most incredible evening we spent hosted by you on Friday. We were treated like royalty from the first communication I received from Juan to the minute we left. Everything was just perfect. And there were so many unexpected little surprises that started with candles burning in our room and a welcome card and heart shaped sweets container on a heart shaped cushion on a table in our bedroom, to the romantic table setting by the pool. Not to mention the beautiful room we stayed in. So much thought was put into every detail of our stay which made it both enjoyable and memorable. The service was impeccable but not over bearing, allowing us to spend the quite/private time together that we needed. A home away from home. Thank you.

Hugs
Shane and Johann

Room Tip: Because it was a weekend and the hotel was not full, we were upgraded to a lovely, very large suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

had an awesome stay at 28a oxford.
service was great, felt like we were the only people there. My wife and i will surely make a plan to visit again.

close to sandton city and gautrain, where we had access to everything we might come to need that Oxford didn't have, but they had everything any case.

thank you so much

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordstay, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Willem,

Thank you so much for staying at Sandton Boutique Hotel and taking the time to write such a nice review! We hope to welcome you and your lovely wife again soon!

The Sandton Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Sandton Boutique hotel is lush, verdant, friendly, well intentioned and an absolute oasis in JoBurg's harsh concrete landscape.

The rooms are large, well appointed, full of character (high ceilings, thatched roofs, antiques mixed with witty modern pieces) and comfortable.

The owners are personable, interested, interesting and happy to roll up their sleeves and help in any way that they can.

The food is good (save room for cake), the company equally interesting and the whole thing is a stone's throw from places that you'll really want to see.

And all at about $110 a night

It's rare that I rave, but this is that rare occasion. Do yourselves a huge favor, and stay here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordstay, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Have a great time in Singapore and come and visit us again soon!

The Sandton Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a wonderful place! I stayed in this luxury guesthouse for 10 days and was thrilled! A very good business environment ( I had most of my meetings there, including a board meeting) combined with a beautiful environment and very service oriented staff. Praise for Marinus, nothing is ever too much for him and for Juan, who cooked us a delicious dinner for after the board meeting. I already planned to come back when I have to stay in Joburg for a longer period: my suite offered a separate sitting room with desk and coffee corner, so work is as easy as winding down with a glass of wine on the terrace after a hard days work. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: room above the board room has a separate living room with coffee corner and two desks, as well as en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely and peaceful in the heart of Sandton. The room was spacious, and luxurious. I stayed here for about 10 days. The staff was friendly and the garden was very peaceful. The property is very safe and there is plenty of parking if you have a car with you. Within a stone's throw from Sandton City and Hyde Park - it is a perfect location to reach Randburg, JHB City Centre and Rosebank. The internet connection is fast and uninterrupted. It feels like a home away from home! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blld0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordstay, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! We are continuously improving our service and hope you will come back soon to enjoy our new restaurant and the upgraded suites.

The Sandton Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#14 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#16 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dunkeld Manor
Dunkeld Manor
#18 of 279 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 279 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#10 of 279 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford

Property: Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
Address: 28a Oxford Avenue | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandton Boutique Hotel is a small friendly hotel in Sandhurst, Sandton, Johannesburg. Very close to Sandton City, with plenty of shops and restaurants, but in a beautiful tranquil setting. Ideal for business travelers, with spacious suites and rooms, free wifi, a conference room and plenty of place to invite your business contacts. Our service oriented and friendly staff will go out of its way to arrange transport, reservations, introductions etc. The in house restaurant caters for individual guests as well as for larger groups. The venue is very well suited for business meetings,dinner parties, braais and celebrations. Access to OR Tambo or Pretoria is easy with either the Gautrain, taxi or private transportation. We offer 8 beautifully furnished suites, all boasting en-suite bathrooms; under floor heating; telephones; DSTV and DVD players; coffee and tea making facilities; a bar fridge; wall safe and free wifi all over the property. All our suites have private entrances as well as private patios and overlook the luxurious garden. There are two lovely lounges, a dining room and a library. Our patio is ideal for sundowners as you listen to the sound of bubbling water and the beautiful birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing