We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Issues As A Mixed-Race Couple!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Ranked #29 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We booked a one week stay at the Rosebank Lodge in spite of the fact that we read the review posted on January 9, 2012. The author of the review had rated the lodge very highly, as had all other guests who had taken the time to write a review. I do remember experiencing some lingering doubts, but that was mainly due to the fact that my husband and I are a mixed race couple and this is our first visit to South Africa.

At first we thought we would take the Gautrain to Rosebank and then hire a local taxi to take us the short distance to the Lodge, but when we were quoted a very reasonable rate for a taxi to meet us at the airport, we opted to have the staff at Rosebank Lodge book a taxi for us. Everything went according to plan and all went smoothly when we arrived at the guesthouse. There was no issue with our driver entering the premises, because he is well-known to all the staff.

During the course of our stay, we were delighted to meet several other guests from around South Africa and from places far and wide. Everyone was treated with respect and kindness - as indeed they should be. To our surprise and delight, we found that two travellers from our hometown in Canada - one of South Indian descent and the other of Chinese heritage - were visiting at the same time as the two of us. It's a small world indeed.

I took the time to discuss the negative review with the owner of the Rosebank Lodge and came to understand that her strict rules are designed to ensure that her guests as accommodated as safely as possible, in a city known for its high crime rate. Only registered guests, staff and people with whom she is familiar are invited onto the premises.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SadhusWithiPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Rosebank Lodge Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

fantastic location, stones throw from rosebank mall, very safe, the bed, heaven, the only negative was the way the owners treat the black south africans, our taxi driver was made to feel very inferior when he was only doing his job, he was asked to stay outside the gate, we needed to change some money to pay him, coming from australia where we treat everybody equally, it was very very embarrasing, talk of human rights violations.

Room Tip: rooms with their own entrances, give you privacy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trimjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdEyeView, Owner at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Thank you J for the review and commenting on your stay. Whilst we appreciate your feedback, we would like to draw attention to the latter part of your comment and try to understand how you could have drawn such an obviously wrong conclusion from the sequence of events.

As a guest house focused on the wellbeing, privacy as well as safety and security of our clientele, we have signs up outside the entrance explaining that entry is prohibited to all but "registered guests". As the gentleman who came to pick you up for the taxi service did not announce himself, the assistant on duty (not the owner as you previously stated) insisted for the man to wait outside. This is a policy for all unannounced and unregistered persons wishing to enter our lovely guest house and it has served to protect us well, as our clientele.

Thus, that you decide to issue what is clearly a racial slur is slanderous and we wish that you had rather shown more sensitivity and spoken with us to understand the reasoning behind our safety and security policies. South Africans are proud of how far the country has come in the last 20 years and it’s a pity that you make light of our journey as a country. We hope you won’t make this mistake again during your future travels. This certainly doesn’t assist other travellers by giving incorrect off the cuff observations. We would encourage you to be far more observant before jumping to conclusions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We chose this based on trip advisor and were not disappointed. The owner, Anne was there but her husband had some surgery so Margie took over the running. She was so helpful, new to the job, but what she couldn't answer she made a point to find out. I got help with the internet acesss, she made dinner reservations and car arrangements. When my husband was ill one day, they were very helpful. The room was lovely, only the bathroom without a door to close was a bit strange. Overall a very pleasant experience and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenLosGatos_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed here for 3 non-consecutive nights in December and it was the perfect stay to help me start my travels in South Africa.

I was apprehensive about traveling solo and walking around the neighborhood but I was pleasantly surprised with how safe it was, especially walking through the patrolled streets to Rosebank Mall.

Location, room size, breakfast and cleanliness are all fantastic but Anne, Margie, Rosie & Cynthia are the true gems of the guesthouse - I felt they went above and beyond, including letting me check in early, make dinner reservations at local restaurants and preparing a packed breakfast when I had to depart before the scheduled breakfast time.
Would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Jo'burg, from families to business travelers to solo travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Our two day stay could not have been better and will book again on our next visit to Johannesburg. We could not have hoped for a better host who went out of her way to be helpful even though we arrived at 9am when our book in time was midday. The breakfast was so good and large we did not need lunch.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

One of the best experiences I've had while travelling. Very friendly staff and great service, and in a very nice and pretty location where you can feel safe. The room I had was spacious and well furnished, with a very comfy bed. Instead of a minibar there's a big fridge in the central living room, with a small ledger to keep track of your purchases. There's also a small library here with books, travel information and magazines to read.
The Rosebank Lodge is about a block-and-a-half away from a large mall for all your shopping and dinner needs.
You can also book transport to/from O.R. Tambo airport while booking your room, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peanut-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at this Guest House. Everything worked out well, arrival and check in was easy and straight forward. The Guest Lodge is very well laid out with a smart welcome area with TV. The rooms are very nice and very well made up - always clean and tidy and bright. The location when we first got there we thought was a little outside from the centre but you soon realise that Johannesburg doesnt have a real centre - well not one you want to stay in anyway.
Very friendly people were always on hand to help and support with anything you need and if you dont need help you are left to get on with whatever you want to do - just how I like it :-)
Highly recommended for anyone paying a short or long stay in J'Burg!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.3 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#10 of 299 in Johannesburg
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Worcester Cottage and Suite
Worcester Cottage and Suite
#12 of 117 in Johannesburg
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Englewold Manor Guest House
Englewold Manor Guest House
#68 of 299 in Johannesburg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebank Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Address: 75 Rutland Road | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $81 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank Lodge Guest House is well situated just three blocks from the Rosebank Mall, and two and a half blocks from the new Rosebank Gautrain station. It is an ideal location for the corporate as well as the leisure traveller. Several rooms overlook a landscaped garden, most with private entrances or garden entrances and were upgraded recently to include LCD TVs with DSTV decoders, complimentary wifi, crisp percale linen, 5* legacy mattresses - ensuring your comfort whilst you are away from home, amidst the hustle and bustle of the central Rosebank business district. Some rooms feature full bathrooms and luxurious king sized beds as well as a business area for checking on those important email responses etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rosebank Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing