We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Ranked #35 of 289 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very gracious and helpful hosts. Courteous staff members. I was there for 2 weeks. Wonderful and nutritionally balanced breakfasts full of varieties. Big bowl of fruit for guests throughout the day. In room treats: home-made rusks and little squares of dark chocolate!! I was in a regular room for the 1st week and in an executive room for the 2nd week. Both are nice rooms! Anne was extremely helpful and provided a lot of local and regional info! I'd like to thank her and her entire staff for making the B&B home away from home for me. I strongly recommend this B&B. It will be my #1 choice should I go back to Johannesburg for a personal visit or a business trip!

Room Tip: Book as early as possible to get executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeporneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
35
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here for three nights following a Kruger safari. We were two women from the US travelling together, and this location was recommended to us by local acquaintances as being safe by Jo'burg standards. It's a lovely place and the owner, Anne, is very hands-on and could not be more accommodating. She looked out for us and went out of her way to be kind and helpful. The location is great -- an upscale residential area near a nice mega-shopping complex with lots of restaurants. Still fairly conveient to airport and sightseeing. We felt comfortable walking to shops and restaurants during the day and it was easy to find a taxi at night. The lodge itself is very secure and the rooms and common areas are attractive and comfortable. Our room was spacious, quiet and well-appointed. Lovely breakfasts prepared to order. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susang73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I stayed at Rosebank Lodge to recuperate for 2 weeks following an operation at the local Rosebank Clinic. I was absolutely delighted with the accommodation and the kindness of the proprietor, Anne. I had the large double room which was superb - tastefully decorated with a large double bed (extremely comfortable) and a beautiful bathroom with a magnificent roll top bath and large glass minimalist shower. The room was well equipped with a large wide screen TV, DVD player and IPod dock. I was very comfortable during my entire stay. However, the best thing about my time at Rosebank Lodge was Anne. She was absolutely amazing, checking in on me each day, offering me food when she thought I might want it - nothing was too much trouble for her. Anne showed me so many kindnesses that I cannot thank her enough but the best was when she turned up to collect me from the clinic after my op, having rung them to see when I was to be discharged. I was so relieved to see a familiar face – even though I had only just met her a few days before.

Later on during my stay I was shown the other rooms in the guest house and whilst my room was clearly the best (and slightly more expensive than the others) all were extremely comfortable and offered a variety of accommodation to meet different needs. Anne is very happy to discuss what you require and it is great to have a range of options at different prices to suit your budget. The breakfasts were absolutely superb – the best mushrooms and scrambled eggs I have ever had. Rosebank Lodge is a real gem and I cannot imagine that anyone would be disappointed.
I had speedy WiFi broadband in my room which was a real bonus for a two week stay. It is also in walking distance of the Rosebank shopping mall.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

My friend and i had the pleasure of staying in the Rosebank Lodge Guest House in Johannesburg. The property is supurb - beautiful leafy gardens, pool, and lovely room (we had the king suite - HIGHLY recommended!). Our king suite room was modern and well equipted - the bathroom design is magazine worthy with an open, modern floorplan with separate glass shower and oversized tub. A complimentary tea/coffee service is in-room along with hot chocolate, gourmet chocolates, and delicious tea buscuits and rusks. The property owner, Anne, took care of our every need and was more than helpful. A hot breakfast is made to order in addition to a lovely buffet of fresh fruits, muffins, cereals, and more. Wireless internet use was free of charge. There's a nice sitting room with TV, and bookshelves full of books that you can borrow, and magazines galore. The property itself is located on a beautiful tree-lined street, just a few blocks away from the Rosebank Mall with it's fabulous Craft Market and the sunday flea market on the roof. This is the place to buy all your souveniers. In sum, loved the property, loved the service, and loved Anne. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at Rosebank Lodge B&B for the last leg of our honeymoon. It is located in a beautiful tree-lined, peaceful and very safe neighborhood. Proprietress Anne was very accommodating with a smile, making sure we have what we need. Premises were very clean and cozy, same feeling you have when staying over a relative's home when out of town. Dining and shopping is close by at the mall. We had rented out a car to get to trendier restaurants and bars, just a short drive away. Coming "home" to Rosebank Lodge is perfect to end a tiring day touring Johannesburg. Thanks Anne!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teambucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed here to get away from the hustle of downtown. It was perfect. Within walking distance to the Rosebank mall with great shopping and eating. The hosts are very nice and want you to have a great stay. We have loved it!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlendaTGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This was my second stay in this superb guest house and I highly recommend this establishment! It is spotlessly clean with every convenience and attention to detail, on hand. The rooms and beds and linen are excellent, as are the breakfasts, fit for a King! It is a home away from home, amidst bird song and lush green shrubbery. The owner, Anne, is knowledgeable and extremely hands on and helpful and it was an absolute pleasure to deal with her. The proximity to the Rosebank Mall and Rooftop Market and the easy and safe walking distance, was an added bonus to the proximity to the Rosebank Clinic, which I needed to visit. Thank you Rosebank Lodge, I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranRandburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#32 of 68 in Johannesburg
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#28 of 68 in Johannesburg
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Worcester Cottage and Suite
Worcester Cottage and Suite
#14 of 98 in Johannesburg
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#8 of 289 in Johannesburg
126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#28 of 289 in Johannesburg
80 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
#23 of 289 in Johannesburg
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebank Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Property: Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Address: 75 Rutland Road | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank Lodge Guest House is well situated just three blocks from the Rosebank Mall, and two and a half blocks from the new Rosebank Gautrain station. It is an ideal location for the corporate as well as the leisure traveller. Several rooms overlook a landscaped garden, most with private entrances or garden entrances and were upgraded recently to include LCD TVs with DSTV decoders, complimentary wifi, crisp percale linen, 5* legacy mattresses - ensuring your comfort whilst you are away from home, amidst the hustle and bustle of the central Rosebank business district. Some rooms feature full bathrooms and luxurious king sized beds as well as a business area for checking on those important email responses etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rosebank Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing