We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$327
$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thaba Eco Hotel(Johannesburg)
$171
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Peech Hotel(Johannesburg)
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
$187
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$207
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
$72
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$92
$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
57
29
10
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
29
10
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homesafe place to staywi firestaurants and barswould definitely stay here againrooms are nicebreakfast was excellentsouth africaa great staymelvillenightlifetubspetsamarulabathtubsuburbsafety
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 112 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We were fortunate to have landed at the Sleepy Gecko for an extended stay...Nigel, the owner, was gracious enough to accommodate our travel needs. This place has character! You will never get bored here...between the pool, the patio and the many little "niches" to hang out in, you can always find the perfect place to read a book or meet new peeps! The rooms are amazing-each decorated w/ class, taste and zest. And the staff could not be nicer! Cristo & JC made our stay even better as did all the little critters (big love to Boris the watchdog and Fluff the cat, our personal watchcat!). If you're heading to Melville and want a laid back place that has a great vibe, head to Sleepy Gecko. We MISS it!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniJo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

As other reviewers have enthusiastically noted, this is a superb, not-so-little guest house conveniently located on 3rd Avenue just steps away from the trendy bars, restaurants and bookstores of vibrant Melville. For many years, I stayed at the nearby Thulani Lodge, but sadly, it has declined so much in comfort and amenities that I needed a change. This guest house offers everything a traveller requires. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable, very well furnished and as clean as a whistle. Everything works! Each room features DSTV, a modern flat screen TV, a DVD player (the extensive library of discs {and books} is in the lounge) and Internet accessibility. In my particular room, the connection did not provide sufficient strength to surf the Web, so I simply moved to the nearby lounge to use my laptop. Additionally, each room offers a huge, comfortable bed, lots of hot water from a strong shower and quiet in-wall air conditioning for those hot, muggy Johannesburg nights. The kitchen in the main house is available for use by the guests should they should wish to cook a meal at noon or at night. There are fridges available for storage of cold beer, juices or food. The breakfast is superb. Cooked to order, it was more than enough to keep me going until the evening. There is a small swimming pool in the front of the building located beneath a wide, shaded veranda featuring a huge, comfortable couch, just the ticket to relax on after a filling breakfast or on a hot afternoon. The Sleepy Gecko is a great place to stay. I can honestly not think of any negative comments at all. A really splendid find in Johannesburg. Allan H. Adams.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Overall had a really great stay at the Sleepy Gecko. The rooms are very well made up and comfortable. The service is friendly and personal. You also can't say enough about the location. Right off the main drag in Melville which allows you to walk to bars and restaurants (a rare treat in car-focused JoBurg) while not being so close as to be loud from the happening nightlife on weekends. Overall, the Gecko is a really great value. Will definitely be staying there next time I'm passing through Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Sleepy Gecko is the perfect guesthouse and is in the perfect location. I stayed there long-term (2.5 months) but recommended it for all my short-term visitors, and we had a blast. The staff is amazing, the facilities are great, and all of the local bars on 7th Street are fun. I miss the Sleepy Gecko as much as I miss anything else in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Sleepy Gecko is a great guesthouse in a great location in the trendy Melville neighborhood. The room was fantastic and it is in a safe area. It was a great place to
spend the day relaxing in the amazing rooms, on the front porch, or around a really great courtyard.

All of the restaurants, shops, and pubs are within easy walking distance and the neighborhood is beautiful. The owners are wonderful and impressed us by their continued kindness and willingness to help us.

Our stay at this guesthouse and walking around Melville was simply incredible and mad us fall in love with Johannesburg, despite its fearsome reputation. Staying at this guesthouse is a must. I am already planning when I can return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielHolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews