We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay downtown”
Review of The Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reef Hotel
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect place to stay downtown”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The staff at the Reef was excellent. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The hotel and my room were clean. It was easy to walk everywhere downtown. And transport was quickly arranged when I needed it. The food at the cafe and at the restaurant was good. As a single woman I went everywhere during the day but at night I stayed at the hotel as I'm not sure it would be safe. Transport to and from restaurants, however, could easily be arranged.

Room Tip: Higher up is a better view, but there's a bar on the rooftop and sometimes you can hear the musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roberto914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your observations and kind words.

We are striving to be the number 1 hotel in or near the Johannesburg CBD, and comments like yours show us that we are on the right track.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    149
    66
    20
    24
See reviews for
22
112
48
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were taken from the airport with a shuttlebus. We asked, when placing our booking, for an confirmation about the shuttlebus, we didn't get one, so we had to call the hotel. So we did and they told us we would be picked up, we had to spell out our names five times and they still wrote them wrong on the piece of paper (well, it happens, never mind).
After a while the cabdriver asked us to pay. We were suprised, the hotel was not really cheap and we had to pay 2/3 of the price of one room for one night for the cab. It would have been cheaper when we flew to Tambo (the main airport of Joh.burg) but we got from Lanseria, so we had to pay more. Not really suprising so far, but we were not informed about paying (cash) for the cab. We would have liked to hear that at the booking somewhere.

The hotel looks quite chiq from the outside, but when you get in your room you'll find out they did not really care about a really warm and cozy styling. We could see they've put a lot of effort in the rooms, it just didn't come together. They obviously tried to achieve an industrial look, which we love by the way, but it was just to much concrete, to much grey colours...

The room was quite clean, but there was chewing gum stuck to the toilet paper holder. And they didn't get the paper with the interview 'how did you enjoy your stay' from the previous guest. There were personal details about this guy on that piece of paper.

The bed was nice and we've slept wel. Sadly we were not really able to get out and walk around, they're not really located in a friendly area, but we could not really do great stuff in the hotel, for there was no pool, just some televisions in an common room (and an television in our room). My husband is over 2 meters in length, he was not really able to shower properly.

But the people who work at the hotel are really friendly and were trying to make our stay comfortable. So that's a thumbs up! Just work on the styling and the information you give your guests!

I think it's a hotel which will be ideal for a buissinesstrip.

Room Tip: We had no view at all (fifth floor, on the left side of the hallway), but I do not really think they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesje89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Possibly the best place to stay right down town... Attentive service and a team that goes the extra mile! It is a downer when you get to your room and the smell of a previous smoker hits you.... Make sure you get a room away from noise and insist on non smoking!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GertdeBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the effort to post a review about The Reef Hotel.

We are very happy that you like our hotel, and that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive.
We do however apologise for the state of your room , which did not meet with your expectations. As a hotel we made a decision to have all of our rooms non-smoking as we believe that is the way for the future. The unfortunate side affect is that certain of our guests will smoke in the rooms regardless. This is something that we will and must monitor going forward, to ensure that this does not get repeated.
When booking your next stay, please contact myself or one of my team and we will personally ensure that your room is checked and double checked.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Contacting the hotel to get a shuttle to pick us up from the airport was a breeze. The staff was incredibly friendly and assisted us with a driver to get us to Ellis Park as well as taking us to the local garage for some nightly necessities. The wifi was pretty good and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mesharae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very happy that you had a great experience at The Reef Hotel.

We believe that our staff are awesome and helpful, and it is heartening to hear that our guests actually experience this first hand.

We look forward to hosting you again - soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mookgophong, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I recently traveled to Johannesburg to attend Meetings Africa. My boss booked us rooms at the Reef Hotel and at first I was a bit unsure as this was truly in the Heart of Jo'burg. From arriving to departing, I could not have predicted such a nice stay! When we came in on the 1st Floor we were warmly greeted by the staff and directed to the 3rd floor where Beauty ( the nicest receptionist) greeted us. Thanks to the Rooms Division Manager Mr. Peter Saiff we were allowed a early check in, this was appreciated as he knew we were travelling from quite far. Both Mr. Saiff and his personnel treated us like royalty. Breakfast was a PLEASURE!!!! I truly did not want to leave the lovely Goldmine restaurant with its friendly waiters and Lovely Chefs! I would also like to mention that it was so nice being visited by the General Manager Mr. Ian Turner. He made our stay extra special! Thanks to everyone there for a nice stay in the City!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words, it is always great to get a positive response from our guests.

I am glad our staff looked after you so well and will convey your thanks to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

having to stay in the Johannesburg cbd for business is already tough... so this was the best suprise find!

DO NOT let the building's outside/exterior appearance fool you - you will understand why this hotel has 4 stars from the moment you walk into the reception area on the 3rd floor.

Exceptionally friendly and efficient staff at the front desk just added to this winning formula of a perfect location when required to attend meetings in the cbd, very stylish bar area and well decorated rooms (art decor and old school concrete features). the bathroom was just as well fitted, spacious and spotless!

Room Tip: - extremely narrow parking garage so take care
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad_capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and loved the design so much. We are really well positioned near Central Jhb, and agree with your comment that we are a hidden treasure.

Our parking is tight, so please call ahead, in future, and one of our drivers would be happy to park your vehicle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

From the moment we walked in the staff all friendly and awesome five coarse dinner for valentines the special turn down was a great touch. Will definitely be back want to try the Elevate roof top club on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica_bohm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive responses, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We had good feedback for our Valentines Special so keep your eyes peeled for future specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#34 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Hotel

Property: The Reef Hotel
Address: 58 Anderson Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Reef Hotel is a 5-minute drive from Johannesburg's City Hall. It has an on-site restaurant and modern guest rooms with satellite TV and individual decor. Rooms at Reef Hotel feature floor-to-ceiling black and white photos. Each has a sitting area with a large satellite TV. The private bathroom offers a separate bathtub and shower in a deluxe room and a shower only in a standard room. Reef Hotel's restaurant uses fresh, seasonal ingredients to prepare both South African and international cuisine. The hotel's in-house bar offers South African wine, international champagne and has panoramic views of Johannesburg. The Apartheid Museum is a 5 minute drive from Reef Hotel. Many of Johannesburg's art galleries are also nearby. Complimentary shuttle is available within a 5KM radius subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing