We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Trip”
Review of The Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Contacting the hotel to get a shuttle to pick us up from the airport was a breeze. The staff was incredibly friendly and assisted us with a driver to get us to Ellis Park as well as taking us to the local garage for some nightly necessities. The wifi was pretty good and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mesharae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very happy that you had a great experience at The Reef Hotel.

We believe that our staff are awesome and helpful, and it is heartening to hear that our guests actually experience this first hand.

We look forward to hosting you again - soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 444 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

I recently traveled to Johannesburg to attend Meetings Africa. My boss booked us rooms at the Reef Hotel and at first I was a bit unsure as this was truly in the Heart of Jo'burg. From arriving to departing, I could not have predicted such a nice stay! When we came in on the 1st Floor we were warmly greeted by the staff and directed to the 3rd floor where Beauty ( the nicest receptionist) greeted us. Thanks to the Rooms Division Manager Mr. Peter Saiff we were allowed a early check in, this was appreciated as he knew we were travelling from quite far. Both Mr. Saiff and his personnel treated us like royalty. Breakfast was a PLEASURE!!!! I truly did not want to leave the lovely Goldmine restaurant with its friendly waiters and Lovely Chefs! I would also like to mention that it was so nice being visited by the General Manager Mr. Ian Turner. He made our stay extra special! Thanks to everyone there for a nice stay in the City!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marthsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you very much for the kind words, it is always great to get a positive response from our guests.

I am glad our staff looked after you so well and will convey your thanks to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

having to stay in the Johannesburg cbd for business is already tough... so this was the best suprise find!

DO NOT let the building's outside/exterior appearance fool you - you will understand why this hotel has 4 stars from the moment you walk into the reception area on the 3rd floor.

Exceptionally friendly and efficient staff at the front desk just added to this winning formula of a perfect location when required to attend meetings in the cbd, very stylish bar area and well decorated rooms (art decor and old school concrete features). the bathroom was just as well fitted, spacious and spotless!

Room Tip: - extremely narrow parking garage so take care
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad_capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and loved the design so much. We are really well positioned near Central Jhb, and agree with your comment that we are a hidden treasure.

Our parking is tight, so please call ahead, in future, and one of our drivers would be happy to park your vehicle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

From the moment we walked in the staff all friendly and awesome five coarse dinner for valentines the special turn down was a great touch. Will definitely be back want to try the Elevate roof top club on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica_bohm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive responses, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We had good feedback for our Valentines Special so keep your eyes peeled for future specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, would say the best value for money among Johannesburg cbd hotels. Ultra clean rooms, friendly staff, nice restaurant. The negatives - for the four star rating they dont have an in house spa and there is no 24hours coffee shop. If you arrive late night have sleep hungry.
.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Globe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and excellent review we welcome any feedback and it it always nice to hear good things about the Reef Hotel

As an inner city hotel, space is at a premium, so as you pointed out we do not have an in-house spa. We do however have an arrangement with a fantastic spa within a few minutes drive - by complimentary shuttle - who can offer you a great experience in wonderful surroundings.

We also do not have a 24 hour cofee shop, because there is not really much of a demand for such a facility - we would however be happy to arrange for food to be prepared and kept for you, on your next visit, if you were arriving late.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We found the hotel extremely comfortable with very warm modern decor. The staff were friendly informed and efficient. The breakfast offer was excellent - tasty fresh fruit and lashings of everything else, at a price you'd be more than willing to pay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZahTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to rate us, as a Hotel on the Tripadvisor website.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find us to offer Value for Money.

We also pride ourselves on our breakfast offering. so it is satisfying to get such positive feedback

The Reef Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a nice surprise to find a great size contemporary styled room in a clean and safe part of Johannesburg, the staff wre helpfyul and friend the drinks at the bar were also well priced with good locals wines.Views of the city just breath taking.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebogang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain T, General Manager at The Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on being a hotel that combines a hip design with good old fashioned service, and we are happy that this is what you encountered.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
5.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 66 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
5.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
7.6 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Hotel

Address: 58 Anderson Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $52 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Reef Hotel is a 5-minute drive from Johannesburg's City Hall. It has an on-site restaurant and modern guest rooms with satellite TV and individual decor. Rooms at Reef Hotel feature floor-to-ceiling black and white photos. Each has a sitting area with a large satellite TV. The private bathroom offers a separate bathtub and shower in a deluxe room and a shower only in a standard room. Reef Hotel's restaurant uses fresh, seasonal ingredients to prepare both South African and international cuisine. The hotel's in-house bar offers South African wine, international champagne and has panoramic views of Johannesburg. The Apartheid Museum is a 5 minute drive from Reef Hotel. Many of Johannesburg's art galleries are also nearby. Complimentary shuttle is available within a 5KM radius subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing