We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of The Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Hotel
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed October 14, 2011

You can't go wrong with this hotel. It's 1 year old and it shows. Very modern rooms and nice bathroom, huge HDTV. In case you are not black and feel a bit edgy about being in a 99%-black neighbourhood, you might opt for a hotel in the Sandton area. However, as a white guy I didn'experience any problems on the street whatsoever, not during daytime nor at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarOhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for The Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 410 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

The food is good, the rooms modern, the baths smartly attired, and even my standard room had six nice pillows. The free internet is OK, but the facility must certainly improve the bandwidth during peak times. A desk with three varieties of plug (UK, EU and SoAfrica). Breakfast buffet is as good as anyplace I've eaten: Custom eggs, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, tomatos, potatos, cereal, yogurt, fruit and fresh juices (not bottled or canned). And you can rely upon them for efficient airport transfers at a fair price, or even a ride anywhere else you might need. Location is urban OK, neither dangerous nor especially impressive, but on the edge of the city center.

Room Tip: I would not know.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePlainsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Nice modern chic hotel
Well located to do business in he city. Warm and efficient service; fast Internet service, good food

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Refmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

joburg inner city is vibey and regenerating fast and this hotel is excitingly located in the middle of it all. the rooms are comfortable and stylish, the staff are very helpful and the location, contrary to popular belief, is great. i stayed fo a weekend during which i walked around the city, shopped and partied. had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muddyminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The conferencing rooms are spacious, the food platters amazing. The rooms are a bit different and not really my style. I do like a door between my sleeping space and the bathroom. The electricity conservation methods used in the hallways and corridors are really interesting. Its a really interesting hotel if you are visiting Jo'burg city on business, worth experimenting with. The parking garage is really tricky and not for your special car, its difficult to get in as it is difficult to get out of the parking space.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Location: Downtown Johannesburg; the neighborhood doesn't seem to be as dangerous as one may initially think. No matter what their website would lead you to think, it is NOT within walking distance of the Apartheid Museum. Transportation: They have their own transportation service, which charges ~ $45 for pick up from the airport; not sure how reliable they are since they were 40 minutes late to pick me up from the Apartheid Museum (they agreed to a partial refund). Decor: Stylish and contemporary. Rooms: Spacious, decent lighting, very comfortable bed, standard room amenities (including safe, fridge, coffee maker). Street noise could be heard even from 15th floor. Bathroom has no door and shower is small. Internet: 20MB/day included after which you have to purchase a voucher. There are two computers in the lobby area which frequently didn't work. Service: Very inconsistent, some staff are very helpful while others have a "could care less" attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed at the Reef Hotel for one night last week together with a friend. The hotel is primarily suitable for business travellers. The CBD is not an advisable location for Johannesburg tourists for various reasons. The building is an old office building that was converted to a hotel recently. It is quite stylish. The downsides of the rooms are the inferior insulation of the windows. The kept the old ones with single glazing, meaning that we could hear each car passing by below even though we were on the 12th floor. Also, the bathroom (including toilet) is only seperated from the room by a 2/3 wall. The shower is facing the bed. No privacy whatsoever. The buffet breakfast is quite comprehensive and tasty. The service was quite good overall.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
5.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 66 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
7.6 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Hotel

Address: 58 Anderson Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $61 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Reef Hotel is a 5-minute drive from Johannesburg's City Hall. It has an on-site restaurant and modern guest rooms with satellite TV and individual decor. Rooms at Reef Hotel feature floor-to-ceiling black and white photos. Each has a sitting area with a large satellite TV. The private bathroom offers a separate bathtub and shower in a deluxe room and a shower only in a standard room. Reef Hotel's restaurant uses fresh, seasonal ingredients to prepare both South African and international cuisine. The hotel's in-house bar offers South African wine, international champagne and has panoramic views of Johannesburg. The Apartheid Museum is a 5 minute drive from Reef Hotel. Many of Johannesburg's art galleries are also nearby. Complimentary shuttle is available within a 5KM radius subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing