We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marion on Nicol(Greater Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Ten Bompas(Dunkeld West)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Sandton I(Sandton)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    Reviews (334)
    Filter reviews
    334 results
    Traveler rating
    203
    95
    21
    7
    8
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    203
    95
    21
    7
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsfull body massagepicnic baskethand massagehot stone massagehigh teamillion milesrelaxing environmentrelaxing weekendunderfloor heatingenjoyed our stayspecial thanksbusy citybeautiful gardenguest househome away from hometherapistspa
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    242 - 247 of 334 reviews
    Reviewed February 28, 2014

    Our over all impression was very good. The staff are extremely friendly and warm, the food excellent, the accommodation comfortable and clean, very stylishly furnished. The setting feels like you're miles out of the city, when in fact you're in the middle of it.....it's just lovely

    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank DebbieOrchard
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at Hands on Retreat we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 26, 2014

    What a delightful find in the very middle of Johannesburg's concrete and tar. Cannot believe that this lush green oasis of calm is just off a major road - you feel like you're far away from the mad bustle of the city. Tinkling windchimes, bubbling stream running through the property, bobbing ducks, plenty of nooks in the shady garden to tuck yourself away with a book - just heavenly. Lovely staff and really comfy accommodation, and the foot pamper blissed me out completely. Thank you, Hands On, for a wonderful treat.

    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank HaleyAbrahams
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
    From all of us here at Hands on Retreat we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 19, 2014

    no words can express the great time we spent at Hands on. the staff, service, garden area, food, in fact everything is perfect. its affordable, rooms are spacious and the new restaurant, great set with great food Thank you Hands on Team, i will definately see you later this year

    Room Tip: Ask for a premium suite on your next visit, that is if one one avialable :)
    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Juliette P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
    From all of us here at Hands on Retreat we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 16, 2014

    Our family spent three hours at the Spa on Sunday the 16th Feb 2014. It would have been the correct thing to have some tea/coffee or lemon water served prior to treatments. We asked for three teas and a coffee and got three coffees and one tea. The deck for the hand, feet and head and neck massage was way to noisy. It felt like a production line. The fact that we were sitting on plastic chairs that had all sorts of hand pen marks on them was terrible. The benches the therapists were sitting on was something out of plastic warehouse....very cheap looking that entire deck. The hand and feet massage could have been done with the salts but no just oils.
    We then went to the Wendy houses for our full body massages. Firstly it states the glazing is one way glass. My daughter was in another Wendy house and i could see right through her getting dressed. Definitely not on!! The sinks in the Wendy house are made of steel - this creates so much noise when the therapists are using them and Sunday was quite crisp with regards to the weather...the Wendy houses do not create an ambient temperature...just too cold. We visit many Spa's and this one has much to be desired. And finally it is important to your clients that they get robes and slippers and somewhere to leave our personal belongings...in all the spas we have been too whether you are there for 1hr or all day you are given robes and slippers. We will definitely not be returning.

    1  Thank Silvia T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 17, 2014

    Hands on Retreat is perfect for those seeking some alone time or for couples wanting to spend quality time together. The garden is dotted with sitting areas, perfect for reading a magazine and enjoying something to drink, or just listening to the trickle of the creek. The rooms are cosy, with all the amenities one would need. Although the food was lovely, it was a little disappointing that the head chef had not yet started, therefore leaving the menu quite restricted. The spa treatments that I had were fantastic, and I would definitely go back to enjoy them again.
    Alesha M

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Alesha M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive criticism, it is always good to know that we can improve in certain areas.
    From all of us here at Hands on Retreat we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews