We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Nearby Hotels
$288
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$172
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$199
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$91
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$82
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Residence Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$247
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$175
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
$165
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
207
98
22
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
98
22
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull body massagepicnic baskethand massagehot stone massagehigh teaunderfloor heatingenjoyed our stayrelaxing stayspecial thanksbusy citybeautiful gardenbreakfast was deliciousguest househome away from hometherapistaidaspa
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 343 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We just want to THANK all of you from the bottom of our hearts for the wonderful stay on Saturday 2 Feb 2013. We stayed around the corner for many years and never knew a place like this existed. Compliments to the Chef all the food we had was mouth watering. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. During our stay we had breakfast, lunch, 4 course dinner, 7 spa treatments, we made use of the private hot tub... and our room was lovely where we slept over. We couldnt ask for anything more. We will be back! Regards Odette and Alexander

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ovdmerwe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review, its our goal to offer as many outlets of relaxation as possible and we are delighted that you got to try so many. Hope to see you again soon,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Quaint little 'rustic' place in the heart of the city. The service was 5-star and the staff bent backwards to accommodate us, especially Karin. Great massages & treatments! We had a wonderful time and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riëtte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us, we hope to have you back soon. Thank you for this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A huge THANK YOU to Karin and her brilliant team for a special time at 'Hands on Retreat'.The hospitality,care and exceptional Spa experience added the special touch to make my stay unforgettable!
Deseray

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deseray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

It is always our pleasure, come back soon to make some more unforgettable memories. Thanks for this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A Big thank you from us (Omri Cronje & Talita Cronje) for making our stay so memorable and absolutely amazing.

Luxury, pampering, and friendly, are all words which describe the decadent spa. It's a warm hidden sanctuary, perfect for those needing a luxurious escape. The friendly masseuses creating a homey, yet classy atmosphere. Our Romantic couple treatments were great from friday night till sunday.

I'm so glad we had an opportunity to enjoy and experience the service at Hands on Retreat, Sandton. The place is absolutely amazing, love the green trees, and Rose gardens.


A HUGE thanks to Karin and team for making us feel so safe whilst there, and also to our personal Chef- Jean Pierre, your food were DEVINE!!!!

Greetings

Room Tip: Dream Unit -5
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for this fantastic review, we are so glad that we could accommodate you. Best of luck with your pregnancy, we hope to see you back here for the full experience when you need to unwind again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Planning my trip at the last minute was rather stressful but once we arrived at Hands on Retreat I immediately felt relaxed and at peace. I could not believe that a place so tranquil would be in the middle of JHB. It felt like we were in another province and a million miles away from the nearest town.

The staff were very accommodating and friendly which was great and also allowed us to ease into our room rather well.

I am also pleased to say a big Thank you to Karin for been so flexible regarding our booking and the spa treatment which we needed the next day and not on arrival. The breakfast was lovely and I am very happy they could wait until after our spa treatment and gave no fuss of this.

All and all a splendid stay at Hands on Retreat. I will definitely be back and perhaps with the same person but not as friends this time. A great place to relax and let go of all the stresses in life and just have some fun and spark some romance back into ones love life.

Thank you to Karin and her staff for a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickHewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our oasis in the city, it is always our pleasure to accommodate you in every way we can. We can't wait to have you back again, and perhaps next time you can book a romantic picnic for two with a love a letter kit. Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews