We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Heaven just around the corner from Sandton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Ranked #3 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We just want to THANK all of you from the bottom of our hearts for the wonderful stay on Saturday 2 Feb 2013. We stayed around the corner for many years and never knew a place like this existed. Compliments to the Chef all the food we had was mouth watering. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. During our stay we had breakfast, lunch, 4 course dinner, 7 spa treatments, we made use of the private hot tub... and our room was lovely where we slept over. We couldnt ask for anything more. We will be back! Regards Odette and Alexander

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ovdmerwe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review, its our goal to offer as many outlets of relaxation as possible and we are delighted that you got to try so many. Hope to see you again soon,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 305 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Quaint little 'rustic' place in the heart of the city. The service was 5-star and the staff bent backwards to accommodate us, especially Karin. Great massages & treatments! We had a wonderful time and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riëtte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us, we hope to have you back soon. Thank you for this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A huge THANK YOU to Karin and her brilliant team for a special time at 'Hands on Retreat'.The hospitality,care and exceptional Spa experience added the special touch to make my stay unforgettable!
Deseray

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deseray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

It is always our pleasure, come back soon to make some more unforgettable memories. Thanks for this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A Big thank you from us (Omri Cronje & Talita Cronje) for making our stay so memorable and absolutely amazing.

Luxury, pampering, and friendly, are all words which describe the decadent spa. It's a warm hidden sanctuary, perfect for those needing a luxurious escape. The friendly masseuses creating a homey, yet classy atmosphere. Our Romantic couple treatments were great from friday night till sunday.

I'm so glad we had an opportunity to enjoy and experience the service at Hands on Retreat, Sandton. The place is absolutely amazing, love the green trees, and Rose gardens.


A HUGE thanks to Karin and team for making us feel so safe whilst there, and also to our personal Chef- Jean Pierre, your food were DEVINE!!!!

Greetings

Room Tip: Dream Unit -5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for this fantastic review, we are so glad that we could accommodate you. Best of luck with your pregnancy, we hope to see you back here for the full experience when you need to unwind again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Planning my trip at the last minute was rather stressful but once we arrived at Hands on Retreat I immediately felt relaxed and at peace. I could not believe that a place so tranquil would be in the middle of JHB. It felt like we were in another province and a million miles away from the nearest town.

The staff were very accommodating and friendly which was great and also allowed us to ease into our room rather well.

I am also pleased to say a big Thank you to Karin for been so flexible regarding our booking and the spa treatment which we needed the next day and not on arrival. The breakfast was lovely and I am very happy they could wait until after our spa treatment and gave no fuss of this.

All and all a splendid stay at Hands on Retreat. I will definitely be back and perhaps with the same person but not as friends this time. A great place to relax and let go of all the stresses in life and just have some fun and spark some romance back into ones love life.

Thank you to Karin and her staff for a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickHewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our oasis in the city, it is always our pleasure to accommodate you in every way we can. We can't wait to have you back again, and perhaps next time you can book a romantic picnic for two with a love a letter kit. Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The grounds and rooms are very romantic, and totally unexpected for the middle of Sandton. The room had everything that you would need for a one night stay. I booked the room on very short notice, and was very happy they could help me, as I would not have been able to make use of the groupon voucher otherwise.

I was very pregnant, so could not experience the massage, but my husband had only good things to say about he's session. I did make use of the onsite hairdresser, who was wonderful. Breakfast was just enough, and all the staff very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for this fantastic review, we are so glad that we could accommodate you. Best of luck with your pregnancy, we hope to see you back here for the full experience when you need to unwind again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I and our couple friends booked for full body hot stone massages on Saturdays. The set up of the spa as you drive in is a bit shocking when you the gate opens up and you see the wendy houses which are the treatment rooms. Once inside the rooms it isnt so bad. there's a bit of ambiance. the towels looked like they've been used and didnt look fresh. the massage wasnt so great. the therapist couldnt maintain the same pressure and used far too much oil. Also she didnt spend much time on my back which I think its the vital point of a full body massage. The pics on the ad are misleading. Anyway I guess it was worth the money we paid as we bought it on groupon. However we will not be going back in a hurry.

1  Thank mantsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
6.5 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
5.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
4.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 298 in Johannesburg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#18 of 298 in Johannesburg
142 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 298 in Johannesburg
213 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#13 of 298 in Johannesburg
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hands On Retreat Craighall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hands On Retreat Craighall

Address: 4 Argyle Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $66 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hands On Retreat Craighall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT LOCATION and BEST VALUE for money! Hands On Retreat is a 4-Star, boutique retreat and sleep spa in Craighall, Johannesburg. Here we focus on "us time" and offer special packages that combine accommodation with spa treatments. Couples have the opportunity to break away for a night or weekend. In our contemporary rushed lives, it is all the more important to make time for each other. Our most popular package is the Couples Sleepover with a hot stone massage for couples, combined with a romantic picnic. Or you could check in for a Full Day Couples Spa treatment and spend the night! We are close to the Sandton and Rosebank Gautrain station, a hop away from the Hyde Park Shopping Center. The setting is a park-like garden with tall trees, its own brook flowing through it and abundant bird life. The accommodation is ideal for business or leisure travelers, with numerous treatment packages for individuals or couples. RATES DROP FOR WEEKLY AND MONTHLY STAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hands On Retreat Craighall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing