We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible embarrasment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bramley Lodge

Bramley Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bramley Lodge
Ranked #210 of 290 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible embarrasment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

We booked this accommodation for 2 of our clients as the Lodge was conveniently situated. However, when we spoke to our clients after their stay, they informed us that the rooms were dusty and did not look anything like on the website. There was no warm water for them to bath/shower with and they didn't have electricity for one of the nights of their stay. They said that the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful but also mentioned that the owner had not been to the Lodge in months and that there was a lot of dodgy stuff going on here. This has been a deeply embarrasing experience for us and we will not be using this Lodge again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acc0unts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

The entire area is rather dodgy. We got to Sandton City Mall and called for directions to the house - the lady who answered explained that she did not know the area and could not help us. I had to go into the mall, find a bookstore and get a road map. When we finally found the entrance to the house - not on the street as that had been bricked up but on the street around the corner - we were let into a dark and filthy, musty garage by an elderly woman. We arrived at about 1 in the afternoon to find that the small pool/pond was green and the rooms extremely basic. When we walked in, there was a man sitting at the table and another lady who took us to see our rooms. She apologized for taking a long time to walk up the stairs and readily informed us that the reason was that she had kidney failure! The front office had shoddy bits of paper stuck to the wall with hand written notes concerning costs of laundry and internet use. In fact according to the signs the internet was not available from about midday until the evening. The childrens room had one table with a t.v. on it that did not work and a shower that they could not use as it had recently had silicon applied to it. The bedroom had odorous fumes as a result. There were no cupboards to put any clothes in etc. Our room had a table with a small t.v. that did work and a rocking chair. The bedding looked rather worse for wear. In fact the entire house and compound looked very dishevelled. The rooms look nothing like the website. The entrance to our room was through a make-shift kitchen consisting of a cooker and a sink then through a bath room that had a very used and filthy looking old bath and a toilet shoved behind the door. After ten minutes my daughter and son came to me and said that they could not bear to stay in the house so we left. We drove around Johannesburg for about an hour looking for another place to stay and eventually ended up in a hotel at a further expense of 4,000 rand. As I booked this on hotelclub.com it was paid in full in advance and despite numerous emails to the lady owner she has refused to date to refund any part of it. Daylight robbery.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed there last week only red the other reviews when I came back glad I did or I would have cancelled my booking. The guesthouse is nice and quiet lovely garden to relax in we had a double ensuite room it was cheaper than our taxi trip from the airport which I found crazy. The staff were very helpful and the internet worked for me on my laptop it was helpful as the staff did some laundry for me as well as we just came from cape town and they charged us not much which was great did not realise how expensive everything in johannesburg was but we would definitely recommend bramley lodge to our friends its not a 5 star hotel but it has everything that a 3 star would have . Thanks again bramley lodge staff

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank germanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

we stayed over at the bramley lodge for our summer holidays in december 2010, we received first class treatment from th staff lerato and tsidi, the place is neat its not five star and doesnt have lots of extras but its situated close to all amnities, sandton shopping centre at other mall and restuarant, so if you looking for an affordable neat bed and breakfast go for bramley lodge, thenice is thing is that we paid cash and the lerato allowed us to view the place and see if we are happy then paid, they aslo have credit/ debit card fecilities on-house..thanks sindi and siza durban south africa

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SindiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Disinterested surly staff, dirty swimming pool, no internet, if any of these excite you then please do stay at Bramley Lodge. The location is slightly dodgy being in close proximity to less desirable areas. We were told not to park out car at the gate for even 5 min as cars had been stolen previously from outside the lodge. The rooms though are nice and clean but that is about the only redeeming factor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucozade_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

I stayed here during the FIFA World Cup. The staff in completely uninterested and kept me waiting for more than an hour before checking in as they did not have our reservation inspite of me providing my credit card details in advance. The owner stays abroad and the place is run by an immigrant manager who doesnt take any decisions before checking with the lasy first. We had to wait with our backpacks outside his room for an hour while he contacted the owner in Ireland over the phone.

The staff was surly and the breakfast table at least 3 layers of dust. The breakfast was overcooked eggs with a slice of toast.

As a positive the room was huge and fairly well furnished. At normal prices with a friendly staff this would be a good value stay but in the absence of both we were very disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucozade_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was the worst place we stayed on our two week holiday to South Africa! The double room we had was freezing and having the front door open all day did not help!
The bathroom looks NOTHING like it does on the photos on line and neither does the bedroom we stayed in!!!!
On arrival I even spotted a rat!!!
Breakfast was ice cold even though we were advised it was just cooked! We couldn't eat any of it.
Tha manager was really unhelpful and barely spoke english!
Dont waste your money!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
7.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
7.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
6.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
10.4 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bramley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramley Lodge

Property: Bramley Lodge
Address: 328 Bryanston Drive | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bramley Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing