We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location...Nice Amenities...Could Have Better Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Location...Nice Amenities...Could Have Better Service”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 for 3 weeks...First things first...it has one of the BEST locations....Rosebank is a great area in Joburg (Even better than the other Hip places like Melrose and Sandton because of the cooler crowd)...and the hotel is right on Oxford Road with a back access to Zone, Rosebank...so you can walk around in the Zone (for a party or dinner) and go back using the back door....in a place like JoBurg where you will be forewarned abt security (may be wrongly)....this is a GR88 thing for any foreginer....

Apart from this...it is located very close to the Gautrain station.....Add to that the nearby Cab station ...

As for the hotel, it's a new building...and the facilities were quite good...my only point around improvement would be around the attitude or lack of service mentality that I saw in few members...basically there was no "standard quality" of service...someday u would love it and other days it would be pathetic....I expected HIGH and CONSISTENT standards from Holiday Inn...and thats something they could work on further...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconsistent service that you experience. This valuable feedback will be used to correct the areas where we have let you down.
I was pleased to note your comments about our location and proximity to the Gautrain Station and Shopping Centres and that you found these convenient and easy to access from our hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    190
    56
    13
    11
See reviews for
37
74
35
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is new but there was a drainage blockage in the bathroom. Room is quite small but it's comfortable. The hotel is very near with the shopping mall where you can find a lot of restaurants in the shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitchieKurniawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for your review of our hotel and please accept my sincere apologies for the plumbing problem which you encountered. The blockage in the shower of the particular room has already been dealt with so as to avoid any inconvenience in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Today I returned from another enjoyable stay at the Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank. When I’m on business, especially when I’m alone, this is the ideal place to stay. The hotel is excellently positioned on Oxford Road and this makes access by car easy. The Rosebank Gautrain Station is immediately outside the hotel which is linked to ‘The Zone’ where pedestrian areas include hotels, restaurants and shops.

The accommodation is good and well maintained. I enjoy the view from the front rooms and the gym where there is the most magnificent view of sunrise.

The professionalism of the staff is complimented by their ‘human touch’ and this is a direct reflection of the leadership style of the General Manager, Bill Frohlich. He is ‘available’, remembers guests, makes them feel very welcome and is excellent at responding immediately to correspondence. On a previous visit I was fascinated watching how he interacted with the staff on arrival at work in the morning. His manner was professional and yet caring and his approach impacts directly on the excellent service provided by the whole team.

I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendaeckstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for your glowing review of our hotel during your recent stay and it is always a pleasure to be of service to you and many of our regular guests. I was delighted to read of your positive and memorable experience and we always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Our location and ease of access is certainly a unique selling point and many of our guests find this convenient. Our entire team is empowered to provide excellent service and I thank you for your comments relating to our team and the personal positve comments relating to myself and the leadership team of our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you soon in our hotel.

Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis for work purposes. The rooms and facilities are consistently comfortable and clean, as can be expected in keeping with the hotels brand.
It is ideal location-wise for me to attend my meetings in the area. There is also easy access to the shopping mall next door if you want a variety of foods that extend beyond bland hotel food or if you are in search of entertainment (movies).
There is a decent mini-gym which has the necessary equipment that is clean and is well maintained.
The dinner al a carte menu is over-priced so rather order of the room service menu if you must eat from the hotel. The breakfast menu is varied enough and entails freshly prepared food. But it is often difficult to get staff's attention just to order to order coffee or tea.

For the purposes of business travel it is more than adequate and is amongst the best value hotel in this vicinity. but I would certainly not recommend it for leisure purposes since it lacks that something extra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoneThough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to learn that overall you find everything to your satisfaction and thank you for bringing matters of concern to my attention. These will receive our immediate attention and our sincere apologies for the areas where we have let you down. Our location coupled with the ease of reaching most businsses in the Rosebank area are some of our unique selling points. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again for a business trip and upon arrival totally no platinum pc recognition. Not even a word. No upgrade. Hotel was full but strangely enough during a midnight false fire alarm only a couple of guests were outside. (Fully booked ?). Room had a great view but the bathroom showed already signs of lack of maintenance and the floor tiles were not clean anymore. Worst point is that first of all the internet rates and the bad quality. What a shame for a business hotel and not offered for free for platinum level. As in the rest of the world. Breakfast ok and staff is friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. My sincere apologies for the areas where we have let you and cognisance is taken of the items mentioned in your review for immediate correction. Our Internet service is currently under review and we hope to have a positive outcome in this regard shortly. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our breakfast and our team. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thanks
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn,Lancashire,UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My company made the reservation for me I had no idea that the hotel was attached to the Rosebank Mall.
I was extremely impressed with the standards of service from reception room service plus bar and restaurant.
The staff where extremely polite and friendly and the accommodation was of a very high standard.
I will certainly use this hotel again on future trips in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on this having only stayed here on one occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mudengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thanks for your very positive review of our hotel. Our location and proximity to the Gautrain Station, Shoping centres and and many corporate offices in Rosebank make us the preferred choice for many of our guests. Thank you also for your great comments relating to our team and the service that they provided to you.
We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel, which is attached to a mall with many excellent restaurants. The rooms are very clean, quiet and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Also the staff is very friendly, as well as helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ntflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay. Our location and proximity to The Zone Shopping Centre as well as The Mall of Rosebank are some reasons why our clients choose our hotel. We were delighted to be of service to you and look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing