We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Shopping central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shopping central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A trip to the Sunday Rosebank markets was recommended by my South African friends as I wanted to buy some masks. The hotel is in the centre of the shopping malls and was a surprise. A little hidden away compared to the Hyatt next door but perfectly adequate, modern and well maintained. Great value for money and very secure. The parking is a little quirky as you have to validate the ticket every time you use the (shared) carpark.

Room Tip: An upper floor on the front of the hotel gives a good view of Rosebank - great during Jacaranda seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Rosebank, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mlt00,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank.

We are thrilled to have been able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us and I hope that you enjoyed the market at the Rosebank Mall. Our location to the mall offers our guests the safety and convenience which most travellers require when visiting Johannesburg.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to invite you back on your next trip to Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Andrew Merrill
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    157
    43
    9
    8
See reviews for
33
63
26
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This jotel is right next door to the Rosebank Shopping Centre and the Hyatt Regency. Service is excellent ad friendly. I arrived in the morning after a ten and a half hour flight. Rooms were not yet ready but the staff were very helpful and organised a room within about 40 mins. This allowed me to shower and relax before heading to the office.

There are also plenty of different eateries nearby, so no need to go too far to find some quality food. I can thoroughly recommend the Grill House Steak restaurant

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Rosebank, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear BrianN,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank.

We are glad that we were able to accomodate your early arrival at the hotel after a long flight and also meet your expectations.

Being joined to the Zone Shopping centre offers our guests the convience of shopping, dinning and also the Gautrain at your finger tips.

Thank you for your positive review and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Johannesburg.

Kind regards

Andrew Merrill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Absolutely love this hotel! I stayed here with my family and I felt very welcome. The hotel is very clean and modern. The pool is surrounded by well looked after gardens on a terrace. I loved the way it was one door away from the mall. The restaurant was very quiet and it seemed there was never anybody there. When our food arrived, It was one of the best meals I have ever had.The staff were very nice and were always willing to help and give directions. Quiet throughout day and night. I really liked the hotel and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Rosebank, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank.

Our location ajoining the Zone Shopping Mall and with the Rosebank Gautrain Station located on your doorstep, make our guests stay just that more pleasant.

Thank you for your compliments on our Velvet Restaurant. We are constantly looking to exceed our guests expectations and create a memorable dinning experience away from the hustle and bustle.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Andrew Merrill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I came here with my family for a holiday, it was clean, quiet and overall worth the money. I liked how the mall was just next door with lots of restaurants to choose from including the Hotels own which was very quiet but fairly slow service. I felt very safe there as the children were allowed to visit the pool and bar (to fetch some lemonades and soft drinks). The pool wasn't heated, but that was not that bad as it was very hot. Very comfy beds, and lovely service. There was also a wide range of breakfast, including pancakes, cereal, full English and toast. Would suggest going to the African market; it was full of handmade African goods. Great hotel and modern with internet cafe. :)

Room Tip: Front rooms are noisy as they back onto road. All rooms are lovely but master suites are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Rosebank, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank.

It is heart warming to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us, and that the children felt safe and secure within the hotel. I am sure that the pool was a welcome joy to the children during our warm summer days here in South Africa.

Once again thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Andrew Merrill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It is another great hotel in the Holiday Inn bouquet of hotels. Clean rooms, great breakfast and a very nice lobby! What differentiates them is the great customer service. They arranged a car for us and got a hotel staff to drive it for a good 8 hours to drop us off at Kruger National Park.
They had very good breakfast spread. It is also close to the main shopping area! What else would one need?

Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PiaShome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Rosebank, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your complimentary review on Trip Advisor. It is reasuring to know that we have provided a positive and valuable guest service. Our constant goal is to exceede our guests expectations and provide them with a memorable stay.

Kind regards
Andrew Merrill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night layover on way back to the US. After a holiday in quite primitive conditions in the bush, we appreciated the very clean room, comfortable beds, and modern decor. Breakfast buffet was quite nice, with eggs cooked to order. Chose this hotel for location with easy access back to OR Tambo. Also close walking distance to the SA military museum which was our planned activity during the layover.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank km9165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you kindly for writing a review on our hotel and that your stay was most satisfactory and that you found the hotels location convenient near the Gautrain station and easy access into The Zone Shopping Centre for some last minute shopping before leaving South Africa. Your comments on the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms are exremely pleasing and I do hope that when you are visiting Johannesburg in the future that we can be of service.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for one week in November 2012. This is a 4* hotel with excellent facilities. Typical high standard Holiday Inn. Spotless bedroom and bathroom. Excellent buffet breakfast with eggs cooked how you like. Right next to the Rosebank shopping mall with loads of choice of 1st class restaurants. Felt very safe here compared with other hotels in the city. the hotel arranged taxis to and from my place of work, and to the airport. I did not use the swimming pool or spa so cannot comment on these. Internet was paid for for 1 week and this included 4GB useage. Less data packages are also available. High speed connection. All in all, great value for money

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are not noisy. The windows are double glazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dvd_henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the Holiday Inn. It was extremely pleasing to find your stay most enjoyable especially the access into into the The Zone Shopping Centre, restaurants and most importantly the comfort of our rooms and enjoyable breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#27 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing