We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Was only booked in for one night before flying out of Jo'burg on the morning of 6 January 2013 and wasn't expecting anything special. However was delighted by the spacious corner King room with a large well appointed bathroom with excellent shower pressure.
The bed was excellent, the storage space/closet was ample and the room was well lit and had ample plug points for appliance charging etc. Also the tv set was large and of excellent quality though the number of channels was limited.
We had breakfast at the hotel; the spread was ample and of superb quality; the variety of cheeses was breathtaking and there were several hot options available...made to order. The scones and croissants were the best we ate over nine days in RSA.
My only complaint was the exhorbitant price for a glass of Merlot at the bar...at 45 rand it was ridiculous!
This hotel was one of the better Holiday Inns I have stayed at...and I have lived at quite a few!

Room Tip: Get a corner room , the size is larger and the windows are huge with a pretty nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Holiday Inn in Rosebank. I was delighted to hear that you were suprised by our spacious rooms and that you enjoyed the pastries at breakfast. We have taken note of your point regarding the price of wine as you have mentioned and look forward to being of further service to you in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    166
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
67
26
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loomis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Absolutely the worst Hotel for Customer Service that I have ever stayed in. Asked the concierge to help me and he instructed me to spend 30R and go upstairs and use the Computers myself. Horrible service.

Room Tip: It is not the rooms - it is the total lack of customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for so much for your review of our hotel recently. I was disappointed to learn of your experience and I can assure you that the necessary action will be taken to rectify the problems that you encountered. It is our aim to ensure a memorable and seamless stay for all our guests and my sincere apologies for the areas where we have let you down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We need a place to stay to see jberg for a day an maybe some shopping. This was perfect as there was a nice size mall/shopping centre forum attached. Hyatt wa nice to eat at. The hotel it's self rooms are small and pokey. The service non existent. We arrive at 5am from Australia and wanted a cuppa. "No sorry breakfast isn't till 7am" end of story. But that like a high percentage of African serivce. Defiantly no service with a smile. Or go out of there unless a tip is involved. Don't tip until the end of ur stay because it doesn't encourage them to be any more help full. The buffet breakfast was good and worth the money. However I purposely choose not the eat there after that as the staff put more energy in trying to avoid u insteabof serving u. So yeah for a nice place to sleep in jberg this is fine.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shann0nMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your experience at our hotel. It was extremely upsetting to hear about your experience when you checked in at the hotel. The necessary actions have been taken to rectify the problems that you encountered and i can assure you that this is not our level of service in our hotel. We do hope that when you are in Johannesburg again that you would be a guest of ours at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Rosebank for 4 nights. The rooms were great with all the features you might expect froma 4 star hotel. My room, Room 519 was extra large while my friend's room , room 525 was normal size. The location is fantastic; just a 30 metre walk from the Gautrain station. The Gautrain is unbelieveably easy to use and just a 25 minute trip from OR Tambo International Airport. Added to this is the fact that Rosebank Shopping Mall is right next door with great shopping, supermakets and excellent cafes and restaurants.

The area is very safe and walking around the nearby neighbourhood is lovely - tree lined streets and beautiful homes. There is a wonderful African Market at Rosebank with great arts and crafts.

The problem was with some of the restaurant staff. Breakfast is usually uncluded in the room rate and the breakfast is very good but the service is poor. The only exception is the kitchen staff who are friendly and will cook eggs and omlettes the way you wish. But the waiter staff were less than helpful every morning. Both of us found their service lacking. You had to ask for coffee and that seemed a real imposition.

The front desk staff were helpful at all times. I jst think they need to train their restaurant staff better. This seems to be more of a business hotel rather than a holiday hotel even though the location is excellent. The other suburb worth considering is Sandton which has some great hotels as well.

Room Tip: Room 519 is especially spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and we appreciate your feedback regarding the service in the restaurant and we have taken steps to rectify your concerns. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the covenience of the shopping centre and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn when you return to Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is a very modern design with spacious, comfortable rooms, great breakfast buffet, good customer service, and the added bonus of being attached to the Rosebank Mall, which is a large meandering two-level shopping, dining, and entertainment complex covering several city blocks. The hotel also features free Wi-fi for its guests and has a Gautrain metro stop located just across the street from the hotel's entrance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyfeets2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. The Holiday Inn is situated in the perfect area for our guests to shop, dine and uterlise the Gautrain services. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We retargeted our weekend booking. to the Holiday Inn Rosebank. Thursday 15 to Sunday 18 Nov.2012 after reading the long review of the UK visitor.

In short. The best Hotel to stay at.

We arrived late with Avis rental from Joh'burg International Airport. Use Google maps. Holiday Inn Johannesburg. Oxford Road. Suggest TripAdvisor switch from Microsoft maps to Google.

The large street entrance rollergates were closed.Friendly guard advised we park outside.book in and then drive into underground parking.

Best is to enter underground parking. FIRST. Turn sharp left and drive towards small Holiday Inn lift door.Take parking ticket with. for validation at receiption to be able to leave parking area.

Suggest that the Hotel puts up more signs at entrance boom...DO NOT use underground lifts..they go to the Zone Mall ! Look for small, entrance door.Green Holiday Inn sign..Left Oxford road side.
We got lost late night..taking lifts to Mall.
Firstly..congratulations to Holiday Inn. The fragrant StarWalker plants at their elevator room..was a welcome special touch.

The parking lift goes to the 2nd floor receiption.Book in.get room card and the use the lifts to the rooms. They only work with valid room card.great security.

We had a superb late night dinner at the pool. Cudo's to the Chef and friendly.efficient waiters. Lamb ; Line Fish ; dessert. wine list were out of this world.

We had asked for a quiet room away from the aircon building. as per review from the UK. Only room 312 was available..directly above Aircon Building.

Turned out to be no problem.It was so hot and humid we slept with our aircon on.
The room Queen size bed and bedding. New. fresh. clean. bright.wonderful rest.

Best of all.Room was cleaned and restocked. daily..without us ever seeing the most efficient cleaning staff . Well Done.
The green under washbasin night light..quite pleasing to the eye and ambiance. Would have liked a second chair for the table?

Breakfast is a must- have treat. The daily fresh fruit buffet..never had a yesterday left over.Waiters and staff. Clean, friendly.attentive. unobtrusive.
At the buffet serving area.See through glass wall to clean kitchen, speaks volumes of the Highest quality Holiday Inn is sure of reproducing.

Our appointments were delayed on Sunday.We asked whether we could extend the checkout time
to 12:30..'Jack amd the Beanstalk'
No problem. Our room cards were re activa
t..a. delighted on our return.Freshened up.booked out..All with a no. problem. can do . no stress. relax..attitude .
My wife has already suggested a return visit..Using the Gautrain from the Airport to the Holiday. Inn Doorstep

By the way:
..Do see the Pantomime 'Jack and the Beanstalk' a delightful fun production .Civic Theater .

All in all.. Best Hotel to relax and rest at.





  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umtatadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed review about your resent stay at the Holiday Inn. It was extremely pleasing to find that your stay with us was most enjoyable and that you found our services and standards satisfying in your bedroom as well as dining in the restaurant. We will ensure that extra signage is erected in the garage parking so that many other guests do not have the problem of find the entrance as you did on your first visit. We do hope that you return to the Holiday Inn in the near future and look forward to being of futher service and thank you once again for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel in a safe area with shops and restaurants literally a few steps away from the hotel - then this is where you should stay!
The hotel sits adjacent to 2 shopping malls, and there are several good restaurant of all budgets to choose from. If you would like to relax at the hotel they have a small outdoor pool at the back, good for spending a few hours.
The hotel itself was spotless and rooms were fresh, I think it must be newly built as it felt very "new" all over (in a good way!).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Rosebank, The Holiday Inn is situated in the perfect position to the Gautrain and the direct access to the Zone at Rosebank and this offers a safer alternative than having to travel around Johannesburg. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next vistit to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#8 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#30 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing