We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Nearby Hotels
$288
$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$96
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$210
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$184
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$84
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
$213
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
135
210
65
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
210
65
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgautrain stationshopping mallpriced hoteloxford roadegg stationbusiness tripdesk staffper dayan ironsmall gymdirect accessafrican craft marketkruger national parkshops and restaurantslocation is greatdecent sizetambo airport
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 436 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is a very modern design with spacious, comfortable rooms, great breakfast buffet, good customer service, and the added bonus of being attached to the Rosebank Mall, which is a large meandering two-level shopping, dining, and entertainment complex covering several city blocks. The hotel also features free Wi-fi for its guests and has a Gautrain metro stop located just across the street from the hotel's entrance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyfeets2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. The Holiday Inn is situated in the perfect area for our guests to shop, dine and uterlise the Gautrain services. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Johannesburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We retargeted our weekend booking. to the Holiday Inn Rosebank. Thursday 15 to Sunday 18 Nov.2012 after reading the long review of the UK visitor.

In short. The best Hotel to stay at.

We arrived late with Avis rental from Joh'burg International Airport. Use Google maps. Holiday Inn Johannesburg. Oxford Road. Suggest TripAdvisor switch from Microsoft maps to Google.

The large street entrance rollergates were closed.Friendly guard advised we park outside.book in and then drive into underground parking.

Best is to enter underground parking. FIRST. Turn sharp left and drive towards small Holiday Inn lift door.Take parking ticket with. for validation at receiption to be able to leave parking area.

Suggest that the Hotel puts up more signs at entrance boom...DO NOT use underground lifts..they go to the Zone Mall ! Look for small, entrance door.Green Holiday Inn sign..Left Oxford road side.
We got lost late night..taking lifts to Mall.
Firstly..congratulations to Holiday Inn. The fragrant StarWalker plants at their elevator room..was a welcome special touch.

The parking lift goes to the 2nd floor receiption.Book in.get room card and the use the lifts to the rooms. They only work with valid room card.great security.

We had a superb late night dinner at the pool. Cudo's to the Chef and friendly.efficient waiters. Lamb ; Line Fish ; dessert. wine list were out of this world.

We had asked for a quiet room away from the aircon building. as per review from the UK. Only room 312 was available..directly above Aircon Building.

Turned out to be no problem.It was so hot and humid we slept with our aircon on.
The room Queen size bed and bedding. New. fresh. clean. bright.wonderful rest.

Best of all.Room was cleaned and restocked. daily..without us ever seeing the most efficient cleaning staff . Well Done.
The green under washbasin night light..quite pleasing to the eye and ambiance. Would have liked a second chair for the table?

Breakfast is a must- have treat. The daily fresh fruit buffet..never had a yesterday left over.Waiters and staff. Clean, friendly.attentive. unobtrusive.
At the buffet serving area.See through glass wall to clean kitchen, speaks volumes of the Highest quality Holiday Inn is sure of reproducing.

Our appointments were delayed on Sunday.We asked whether we could extend the checkout time
to 12:30..'Jack amd the Beanstalk'
No problem. Our room cards were re activa
t..a. delighted on our return.Freshened up.booked out..All with a no. problem. can do . no stress. relax..attitude .
My wife has already suggested a return visit..Using the Gautrain from the Airport to the Holiday. Inn Doorstep

By the way:
..Do see the Pantomime 'Jack and the Beanstalk' a delightful fun production .Civic Theater .

All in all.. Best Hotel to relax and rest at.





  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umtatadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your detailed review about your resent stay at the Holiday Inn. It was extremely pleasing to find that your stay with us was most enjoyable and that you found our services and standards satisfying in your bedroom as well as dining in the restaurant. We will ensure that extra signage is erected in the garage parking so that many other guests do not have the problem of find the entrance as you did on your first visit. We do hope that you return to the Holiday Inn in the near future and look forward to being of futher service and thank you once again for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel in a safe area with shops and restaurants literally a few steps away from the hotel - then this is where you should stay!
The hotel sits adjacent to 2 shopping malls, and there are several good restaurant of all budgets to choose from. If you would like to relax at the hotel they have a small outdoor pool at the back, good for spending a few hours.
The hotel itself was spotless and rooms were fresh, I think it must be newly built as it felt very "new" all over (in a good way!).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Rosebank, The Holiday Inn is situated in the perfect position to the Gautrain and the direct access to the Zone at Rosebank and this offers a safer alternative than having to travel around Johannesburg. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next vistit to South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I wanted to redeem my Points and decided to stay my last day in Joburg at the Holiday Inn Rosebank
Well located , on top of the Zone shopping mall and few steps away from the Rosebank mall
No club floor and no suits but the rooms are nice and well decorated
Nice breakfast
overall experiences - very good

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shlbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing the rewiew on our hotel and that your stay with us was satisfactory. We do hope that when you are visiting Johannesburg again that we can be of service to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for the first time in a while, since I usually stay at the HI in Sandown. Expecting a similar if not better experience, I was let down. Very little recognition of Priority status upon check in and during stay, so don't expect much. The hotel is attached to the Zone shopping centre, which is good for bars and amenities, however the room I had was overlooking the main street of the Zone and was very noisy, especially as it was Heritage Day. Rooms are quite small and this was supposed to have been one of the better rooms. I had to reset TV and search for channels every day, which was quite annoying as the TV would stick on one channel.

Amenities: Don't think you are going to have a swim in the pool - it is more decorative than functional. Service at poolside was non existing and I had to constantly walk in to the bar. Breakfast was ok, but quite limited. Nice Omelette making station and personnel friendly. Hotel bar very small and the hotel can seem quite claustrophobic after a couple of days. Wifi - quite good that it is free to all, but only 30MB per day and only other option is to buy, no conventions or benefits for priority members........... unlike all other HI hotels in SA and generally worldwide.

All in all, ok, but for a 7 day stay, it just didn't meet my expectations. Which is a pity as I travel often to SA and I like the Rosebank area. My suggestion would be to check out the Sandton HI, which for similar pricing is much more modern, better equipped, with much better breakfast and pool/services well in advance of this HI.

I did speak with the duty manager on a couple of occasions to try and resolve some of my disappointments, answer - I will inform the manager, who never contacted me or was any feedback provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the Zone street if you dont want noise. Also lower level rooms better as limited lifts.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwideTravellerRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Many thanks for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations and would like to offer my sincere aplogies for the areas that we have let you down. All the points that you have mentioned will be actioned immediately and where possible rectified.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews