We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, comfortable and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I needed somewhere to stay on a Sunday before a flight on Monday afternoon and the Holiday Inn proved to something of a real find. My pick up from Joburg station let me down but the hotel ably arranged for a car to pick me up (at R170 it was a bit pricey but the safe option).

Location is great for the airport (the Gautrain station is literally outside the hotel entrance, although I had a pre-arranged car)

The hotel is part of the new Rosebank Zone shopping mall, with plenty of upmarket shops and places to eat.

As the hotel is quite new it is in first class condition and the decor and furnishings are modern and comfortable. My bedroom was a decent size and also very comfortable. Breakfast was a good spread and I thought it good value at less than R100.

Reception staff were efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: A room on the front would have good views across the Joburg skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to note that you found our hotel convenient and comfortable and that all services were to your satisfaction. I was also pleased to see your comment relating to our staff response to your needs in arranging transport. The convenience of our location to the Gautrain Station is of paramount importance to many of our guests and is well used by many of our corporate clients.
We do hoe that we can be of service to you in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotwel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 407 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great location - adjoining to the Rosebank Mall and THE ZONE. lots of eating and shopping options at both of these malls. the hotel is new so the decor/interiors,etc were all in great

condition. very well done interiors that u wud expect from a typical 4* hotel. large breakfast spread. free internet termionals and on wifi if u hv a laptop. The one negative is that the

housekeeping service is really very slow - it took 3 reminders and 30 mins for me to get some shaving cream which they claimed in their brochure was readily available wut them.

Room Tip: do not choose a road facing rooms - can hear the traffic all the way on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhishekG_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. Our location is superb for the international traveller who does not require their own transport as the access to Malls and many offices witihin Rosebank are easy to access and close to the hotel. The Gautrain with an high speed link to Sandton and OR Tambo International Airport provides a reliable and speedy service. Please accept my apologies for the waiting period for delivery of shaving cream, we have taken the necesssary steps to prevent a recurrence of this lapse in service. Being in a major international city, there is regretably some minor traffic noise at peak times, however rooms on the opposite side of the hotel, do afford a quieter experience. We look forward to being of service to you, when next in Rosebank.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is situated in an ideal, prime location. Access to Rosebank Mall is direct and secure. The Gautrain (even though I did not take it) is also close by. The hotel itself is an excellent value for the $. The room is spacious, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom clean and roomy. Staff is polite and extremely helpful-we were buying a mobile phone at Clicks and since we were tourist they required, aside from a passport, credit card a DNA sample (just kidding!) they asked for a letter from the hotel stating we were indeed guests. The front desk staff provided us with one within minutes that we took to the store right before closing time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altered_ego28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel during your recent stay. Our location is one of our strongest assets with ease of access to the Gautrain (30 metres from our front door) and shopping centres within the Rosebank Node. The private, direct access is a great plus fo all of our guests and I was pleased to learn that you were able to make use of this facility. Our team at the hotel are really motivated to provide excellent service and I was especially gratified to learn of the seamless assistance you received as regards to the cell phone purchase. We do hope that we can be of service to you in the future and we look forwatrd to welcoming you back to our city in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager



Th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I spent 6 nights here last week on a work trip and came away with a big smile on my face - breakfast buffet is great and lots to choose from, staff are very friendly and helpful, my room was slick, modern, spotless and large, and I really appreciated the power boards with various adaptors built-into them next to both the desk and the bed. The room service menu is a bit limited, especially if you're staying more than a day or two, but you can ask for the inhouse restaurant's menu and they will happily send anything up to your room on that. I rang down for Sunday breakfast in bed and they made me a nice breakfast to order, with what I felt like as opposed to something off a menu.

This Holiday Inn is connected to the Rosebank Mall so you can walk straight in and out into a big mall/shopping area. Went to Koi restaurant one night, 2mins walk, modern Asian/Japanese and had some of the best sushi I've ever eaten outside Australia.

This hotel was very good value for money compared to other hotels I've stayed at in the area, and I'll be back here again.

Room Tip: Bit of AC noise, I had a large room overlooking the mall side, but as it was a large room with a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DameDuFerAustralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Many thanks for your glowing review of our hotel, especially since it was a longer than usual stay and I was pleased to note that everything was to your satisfaction. It is the aim of our team to provide excellent service to each and every guest and I am so pleased that we fulfilled and exceeded your expectations. The convenience of having electrical outlets with many international configurations is something that many of ur guests comment on and appreciate. The access to the Zone shopping Centre and the Mall of Rosebank is really convenient and I was pleased you were able to use the direct private access for this purpose. Also, great thanks for your comment on our breakfast and especially your room service breakfast during your stay.
We do hope we can be of service to you in future.
Thanks
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel is situated in a good location with the Rosebank Mall right next door. There are several eateries, shops catering to all tastes and budgets. The Hotel itself was a good experience. We stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was decent with clean comforting beds. Internet usage was free and therefore very convenient.Almost all tourist buses stop here. However given another chance I would like to stay near the Sandton area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GLobetrotterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel. Our location is excellent in terms of proximity to businesses in the area as well as shopping centres, entertainment, cinemas and the hifgh speed Gautrain to OR Tambo International airport. Our internet service has recently changed to a new service providor and has been enhanced in terms of speed with a large portion of the service being offered complimentary.
I do hope that we can be of service to you in the future, especially sine the Gautrain is 3 minutes from The Sandton Area.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We utilized this hotel twice in late July and early August 2011 when traveling through Johannesburg with a church mission team to from Dallas to Namibia. Having lived in Johannesburg for 4 years, I wanted the group to stay in Rosebank and experience a bit of the vibe. The Holiday Inn is brand new and represented good value for money. Our first trip was a week before the Gautrain station opened, which made it a bit less convenient. But coming back we were able to utlize this terrific service. The rooms were comfortable and for families with a small child they had a junior suite with a pull-out sofa bed that was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. The front desk service was first rate. This would definitely be our first choice for an overnight in Johannesburg again. Love that we can walk to great restaurants and shopping at the Zone and Rosebank Mall.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, request a junior suite. The pull out sofa is much better than normal hotel c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frisco_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Your very positive review of our hotel is most gratifying to read and especially in terms of location in the upgraded Rosebank Node, which really is a pleasure to be surrounded by. The convenience of the shopping mall and the proximity to the Gautrain Station in Rosebank have confirmed that we are the ideal location in Rosebank. I was pleased to note that you found our service, staff and facilites to be of an excellent standard. We do hope that we can be of service to you in the not to distant future.
Thank You
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Great location because the hotel is in Rosebank Mall which we only walk down the street. It's only 20 metre from Train station. Many restaurant around here and supermarket too.

Free internet 30 MB in each day which enought to search or chat to some friends.

But if you want any taxi,don't choose hotel service cause it's more expensive. You could find a lot of taxi which park at the end of walking street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. One of our strongest assets is our location, which is close to The Zone Shopping Centre as well as the high speed commuter train "The Gautrain, which operates from Rosebank to Sandton, Pretoria and O R Tambo International Airport. There are many options for transport by vehicle in our area and I was pleased to note that you found a service which suited your needs.
We do look forward to being of service to you in the future and appreciate the positive comments about security and location.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $107 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing