We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Needed a place to stay roughly 36 hours before leaving for Cape Town. I wanted a place that was safe, a reasonable costs, and easy to access different parts of Jobrug. The rooms were very jazzy and clean, and staff were pleasant. The only issue was a mix up at check out...I had paid for my room through Orbitz, and although I insisted I had paid, they wanted me to pay again. As I needed to catch a flight, I paid for the room, but was sorely disappointed. Called back upon arrival in Cape Town, and sent e-mails with proof of payment, and they cleared it up. If not for that, the stay would have been great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank THarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I was pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our service overall. My sincere apologies for the confusion surrounding payment on departure, however I am pleased that the confusion was cleared up as soon as possible. Your comments regarding our bedrooms and cleanliness are most gratifying to note.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 420 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

I was very impressed with this Holiday Inn! The property is approximately 20-30 minutes from the Johannesburg Airport. We booked transfers with the hotel (R400) and didn't have any issues with the transfer itself, but the driver could use some customer service training sessions. He wasn't very talkative or friendly, but he did what he was suppose to do...get us to the hotel safe and sound.

The lobby is located on the 2nd floor and the lobby is small, but it is clean and the front desk staff are welcoming and accomodating. Check-in and check-out was seamless.

The rooms are smaller than I expected, but there was enough for two people. My room came with two twin beds that were surprisingly comfortable with firm pillows (you can choose the pillow firmness). The room and bathroom are modern, clean clean clean, and there are plenty of outlets to charge your electronics. There is a complimentary tea and coffee bar set-up in the room and two complimentary bottles of water.

Unfortunately, internet isn't free, but there are computers on the 2nd floor (next to the lounge) in the business center. The hotel charges R30 for 30 minutes and the connection is fast.

The hotel is connected to the Rosebank mall, which has lots of restaurants and a movie theater. There is a separate secure entrance to the hotel from the hotel. You will need your room key to access that door.

The front office staff can arrange for tours of Johannesburg or car service (taxis really are rare in Joburg!). We wanted a transfer to/from the Apartheid Museum and HI Rosebank wanted to charge R230 each way; however, the Hyatt (next door) only charged R135 each way and they use new Audi SUVs. The spa at the Hyatt also provides excellent treatments for a reasonable price if you want a spa day (much needed after 4 nights at Kruger).

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review and endorsement of our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read of our guests who have had an enjoyable and memorable time at our hotel. Access to our hotel fro OR Tambo International airport will soon be much easier and quicker with the introduction of The Gautrain. The Gautrain station will be less than 30 metres from our front door and will cost a fraction of a transfer from the Airport. Total time from airport to Rosebank will be less than 20 minutes and cost approximately R120.00. I am also pleased to advise you that there will be a new internet service providor from 1 July 2011 and the service will be faster and cheaper with some internet offered as a free service. The convenience of our location is a factor being commented on by more and more people and it was great to read that this was convenient for you. We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel shortly and look forward to being of service to you.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel was great - very modern and clean and everything you need: secure underground parking (R40 per day), a small gym, helpful front desk staff, a delicious (I had an awesome steak there) and directly linked to the Zone shopping centre. The room was spacious, impeccably clean and with lots of little details that made it even better: pillows of differing firmness, complimentary bottled drinking water (one still, one sparkling) and not just tea and coffee but also hot chocolate.
It was easy to drive to the hotel from Kruger and easy to get to the airport so I don't know how the public transport to Rosebank is. The only negative points were no free wifi in the lobby and being told the wrong price for a township tour the hotel helped us to organise. We were told it would be 450-500 rand per person, and we turned up the following morning and were told it was R550 per person. The tour was definitely worth it but it was nonetheless somewhat unprofessional.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upandatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you for the wonderful review of Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank.I was pleased to learn that you found the hotel to suit your needs. Public transport to and from Rosebank will soon be improved by the introduction of The Gautrain, an inexpensive and quick service from OR Tambo International Airport to Sandton, Rosebank and Downtown Johannesburg. The service will also be provided to Pretoria. Cost from the Airport to Rosebank will be approximately R120.00 and duration of the journey will be 20 minutes (Usual Transfer can take up to an hour at R400.00). Tickets for the train can be purchased at the airport and on all stations. There is no need to pre book and trains operate every 20 to 30 minutes between 5.30 am and 8.30 pm. Train station to Rosebank opens end June 2011. I am also please to tell you that our internet service is being upgraded from 1 July 2011 with a faster and cheaper service and some internet bandwith will be complimentary. The comfort of our beds and pillows is of paramount importance to our guests and thus we have provided comfortable bedding and linen. We hope to see you staying with us again shortly and we look forward to providing you with the very service and comfort.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We booked this hotel through trip advisor, based on its rating. This was a great play to stay given its location of being in a mall, so it is pretty self sufficient.

The rooms were good and had a friendly staff to ensure we settled in. However we had a lot of problem finding the hotel as it was not listed in GPS for most of the rental cars.

The hotel needs to immediately list themselves so that travelers can get to the location without any trouble

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesikadalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I was pleased to note that you found our location convenient and our service and staff friendly and helpful. My sincere apologies for the problem you encountered by not finding us on GPS. We will take immediate steps to rectify this problem you encountered. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This hotel is a real "find". I have stayed in the Rosebank area of Johannesburg in other hotels on a number of occasions in the past and like the area. The difference this time was the ease with which I could leave the hotel and have access to so many shops, cafes and restaurants, in safety and without having to organise a car to drive me the short distance to the shopping malls/restaurants at night. The service at the hotel was absolutely first class; every single member of staff with whom I came into contact was terrific. Pleasant, attentive, efficient and very helpful, they are a credit to the Holiday Inn brand. The rooms are large, comfortable and functional, and the beds are excellent. Like another reviewer, I did find that using the shower meant that a lot of water splashed outside the shower area and soaked the bathmat, but that was a minor inconvenience. I will certainly stay here again and can thoroughly recommend it to other travellers as a great place to stay in Johannesburg. When the Gautrain finally opens it will also mean that other parts of the city - and the airport - will be accessible from the hotel with ease.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. It is always gratifying to receive such positive feedback from our loyal customers. It is the aim of every team member at Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank to make each person's stay enjoyable and memorable. I was especially pleased to learn that you found the access to facilities in the area easy to reach, especially with the private direct access from our hotel to The Zone shopping Centre and many other facilities in Rosebank. I am also please to advise you that by end June 2011 the Gautrain will be operational and within an easy 50 metre walk to Holiday Inn Johannesburg- Rosebank.
We look forward to welcoming you back to uor hotel in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Great spot for business and very elegant in a fresh and new way. Close proximity to the Zone Rosebank Mall, always an exciting place to visit and shop!! The ambiance extremely welcoming and front desk staff very helpful. The breakfast is wonderful with a lot of variety.

The dining hall staff though do require and could benefit from a bit of guidance, they leave you alone for long stretches of time, they were a bit slow in responding to requests and the food takes a while, some colleagues even abandoned their dinner!

The conference facilities are unparallelled, the food is out of the box and is always worth the wait.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Thank you very much for your favourable review of our hotel. We are delighted that you found the hotel convenient and that the conference facilites and food were to your liking. I thank you for bringing the matter of more attention at meal times to uor attention , which has altready been addressed so that your next stay with us will be memorable and enjoyable.
W look forward to being of service to you in thwe near future.

Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Very near to Sandon, one of the luxurious palces in JoBurg. Safe to stay. One big mall nearby. Can enter the Mall directly from the hotel. But all the shops including restaurants in the mall will close by 6PM. Hotel is very good. Good breakfast. But internet in hotel is very costly - USD10 per hour.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vargis26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. Our location in Rosebank is certainly a factor which our guests favour. There are many restaurants in the area to choose from and the direct private access to facilities from the hotel is an added advantage. I am pleased to advise that our internet service provider is changing effective 1 July 2011 and this will provide a faster and cheaper service with a large portion of the internet service being free to our guests. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thanks
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 67 in Johannesburg
460 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $123 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing