We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! It is better than many Intercontinentals in Europe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great hotel! It is better than many Intercontinentals in Europe!”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

It looks really good, this new hotel. look at holiday inns in europe - e.g. in Germany and the UK. Most of them are really old and dirty (sorry). That's why i usually take Holiday Inn expresses.
I stayed here in this beautiful HI in Joburg for a couple nights and had separate bookings.
The first night I received a standard queen room, room 519, and i couldn't believe my eyes. The size is amazing. Huge, brandnew, with a even a sofabed!
The second night i moved to the eighth floor - same rooms so not really an upgrade.
I recommend you to stay on the odd numbered rooms side for WIFI internet coverage. Just the view is better on the even numbered rooms.
Service was great, bathrooms are cool with a rainshower, huge towels, wonderful soap, nice flatscreen, fridge with 2 free bottles of water (in every room).
Rosebank mall is nice, and next door (you can get there though an exit on the first floor of the hotel,
Somewhat negative:
1) No iron in room. When you order one, it's locked to the ironing board and prevents you from ironing well, as the cable will be too short because of the lock. Crazy. Who would want to steal an iron?
2) Panel in the wall for audio video/HDMI is not connected at all to the TVs. So it never worked. Annoying
3) There's a little leaflet with your key that asks you for feedback. You'll have to call some number, but in small print on the bottom, it says you'll be charged for calling that number(!). Why would you give feedback if they charge you???

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding our hotel. We are delighted that you found our hotel and service to your satisfaction and it is always gratifying to receive such positve feedback. We have taken note of your comments regarding the ironing facilities as well as the guest comment forms. In the next few months we will be ttransferring to an alternate Web Based system, which will offer an alternate to the Short Message System on Mobile phones. We have also noted your comment on the IT panel and this will be remedied as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you bck to our hotel in the near future.

Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    184
    53
    12
    11
See reviews for
36
73
33
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This brand-new hotel is absolutely the place to stay in Johannesburg. The Hotel is brand new and modern. The location is great as it is connected to the new Rosebank mall with all its shops and restaurants. It is also across the street from the new train station.

The service was outstanding and the staff went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. The restaurant was delicious. Breakfast was 5 star plus, even better than in a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. The selection was extensive and of the finest quality. The chef and restaurant manager go to market each morning to select fruits, hot and cold items of the finest quality to make this a showcase. A chef prepares egg dishes to order. The breads came from a special artisanal bakery.

The rooms are modern, clean and well appointed. The lobby, bar and dining area are beautifully decorated and lit; inviting areas for sitting, chatting and eating.

This hotel is excellent and would highly recommend staying there. This is a business travelers dream hotel. Don't let the Holiday Inn name fool you, this is no ordinary Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel. Our entire team is very proud of Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank, and our aim is to make every stay for every guest a memorable and enjoyable one. We are especially please to read of the comments regarding our food and our Chef and Food and Beverage Manager ensure excellent food in a great ambience.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thanks
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Holiday Inn Johannesburg- Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Very good hotel before leaving for the airport. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. TV with information on the current departures from the airport in Johannesburg. A lot of thematic channels, it is something to watch. Bathroom well equipped, very modern and clean. Breakfast buffet and a variety of very tasty. Very large selection. Excellent and friendly service. Outside is a pool, but the water is very cold. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poltramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Service, service, service: Excellent and patient staff who were looking for my very needs, e.g I got another room after the first one that was assigned to me had a malfunctioning air condition. My room was quiet and spaciouis and I had an good view over Johannesburg. The food and wine in the restaurant was fine and adequately priced, the breakfast freshly made and served if possible on the terrace.
The fitness room is not big but sufficiently equipped - it is a moderatly priced hotel were you can happily stay alone as a woman for business or private puposes.
They definitely made me feel at home!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine_Asch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your stay at our hotel. My sincere apologies that the air conditioning had malfunctioned in the first room assigned to you. I was especially pleased to learn how comfortable you found our rooms and the wonderful review regarding our food and beverage department. All our staff are very proud of the hotel and positive comments regarding service provided are most welcome. We are so pleased that you felt at home in our hotel.
We hope to see you in our hotel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aichach, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I stayed 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Rosebank for business travel. The recently renovated Rosebank hotel is well designed, the rooms are proper, the bathroom comfortable. Nice outlook on both sides of the building over Rosebank. The hotel is directly connected to The Zone and Rosebank Mall, two shopping centers. There are really good restaurants in this area. So no need to take a taxi. All in all I recommend a stay at the hotel even the service could be better. The room maid hide my power adapter for the notebook in a drawer and in the restaurant the waiters liked to be asked for a cup of coffee instead of serving one.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MStegmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments relating to your stay in our hotel. I was pleased to note that your experience was positive and we will certainly endeavour to improve on the areas like coffee service and the placement of your laptop charger in the room drawer for future stays. It is always our aim to ensure a seamless and pleasurable stay and we hope to be of service to you in the future.
I was also pleased to note your positve comments on our location and the choice of restaurants in our area.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Holiday Inn at Rosebank in wonderful. New hotel (build for World Cup) attached to Rosebank Mall so you don't have to take a taxi for shopping or night out. Staff very helpfull, they even arranged a late checkout which was a god send whilst wainting for flights. Breakfast and room service very good. Clean and decore is excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angei72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank. I was pleased to hear that we were able to assist with the late departure allowing you some rest time prior to your flight.
I wwas also pleased to read your comments regarding our Food and Beverage offering at Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank.

We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed six days. Room perfect. But it was quality of service in all areas - reception, restaurant, bar,
porters - that was exceptionally good and above all friendly. The staff were always prfessional and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirdrockfromthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments about Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank. It is particularly gratifying to note your comments regarding our team and the service that you recieved during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank in the near future.

Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
398 reviews
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
316 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing