We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful suites in a bit rough environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful suites in a bit rough environment”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

First time that we took another hotel than the Balalaika when we stayed in Joburg. Suites are spacious and more than well equiped but, as close to Alexandra, in a bit rough area. Below the suites are some shops ( a pick & pay and a Woolworth food). Nice gym and swimmingpool. Building a bit anonymous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerrieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback.

We hope that we can welcome you back to Genesis Suites in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    124
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
133
49
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I'm a very regular guest. Stayed here in excess of 20 times. Best quality and service. Well done Nico and Team. Bedrooms in excellent condition. Gym plus pool and free wifi. Close to all amenities. PnP and Woollies in same building.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeannevj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for the positive feedback and on-going patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brissy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

By and large the hotel is very good other than we did not have water at all the next morning. To management's credit they did throw in free breakfast after we asked them and also granted late check out which was handy considering our flight was at 6:30pm. I guess it was not the hotels fault not to have water but municipal issue, but at this day and age it did take me bu surprise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyJean07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your recent stay.

My sincere apologies for not exceeding all your expectations due to water pipe burst in the area on the day of your departure.

I am glad that you did enjoy your stay and conferencing at Genesis Conference Centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My partner and I arrived at the hotel couple of hours before check-in time to see if we could do early check-in to leave our luggage's safe in the room as we had traveled from far. When we got there, there were two people behind the reception desk. The lady was very friendly, we explained our situation. The man standing next to her whispered "I have just checked the rooms are not ready" we never heard or saw him actually find out if the rooms were ready or not, he just assumed and refused to check us in. The lady suggested to take our numbers to contact us once the rooms were ready but we never received the call until we decided to check in at 4 pm. I would have thought they would at least ask if they could look after our luggage but they were not helpful at all. When we got there at 4 pm, we were welcomed by two different staff and they were polite and helpful. We got to the room and we found blood stain on one of the beds, hair inside the covers of the bed, hair in the bathroom and toilet and a long strand of hair curled around the hair dryer. We found this extremely unhygienic and if you are going to stay there, please check your room thoroughly before getting comfortable. Its shocking that they gave us a rooms which was "ready".

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor questionare following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

I was dismayed to read that you were disappointed with your stay overall, and that you experienced various issues during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard, I can assure you that this is certainly not indictive of our usual high standard of service and I have adddressed your comments to the relevant Department Heads for further investigation.

Yours sincerely,
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Enjoyed my stay wish I was there for longer they have everything you need. Grocery stores, ATM, restaurant, and bar. Next time ill be there longer. My favorite thing the have a full kitchen with dishes and all. My husband's favorite thing was the DVD player. Enjoyed waking up felt like a home not a hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetheart87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Excellent for family quality time. The rooms are big and you have 2 beds for the kids which was great. I have not received this even in New york Hilton hotel and other bigger places. And its pretty quiet area of Sandton!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We hope that we can welcome you and your family back to Genesis Suites in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hectorspruit, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Always choose Genesis Suites as first option when looking for accommodation in Johannesburg.
Staff friendly and helpful and rooms always clean. Was only a 1 night stay this time and wish it could be longer but I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigbester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
5.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
4.4 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#26 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genesis All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Property: Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa (Formerly Genesis Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis All-Suite Hotel S offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa's economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Genesis All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing