We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Incredible getaway for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible getaway for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I had an incredible stay. The suites are modern and very convenient . The location is excellent. A 10 minute drive to sandton, and eastgate shopping centers. Even Fordsburg is only a 10 minute drive. The suites are well equipped with a full kitchen. The bedrooms have good linen and pillows. The only problem with the main bedroom is that the main bedroom and the bathroom and toilet is all in one ie there is no door inbetween.

The check-in and check-out however did not go so well.

I had made a reservation on travelstarts bargain box. Once you confirm your accommodation the money is taken off your credit card immediately.

I then had to contact the hotel itself to confirm dates and spoke to Hayley. Hayley said she could only confirm the dates after travelstart confirms they have received payment. This took 3 days to confirm and my confirmation was emailed to me.

However on check in the receptionist insisted that payment had not been received according to the system, and then the same argument on check out. I suggest to Gennesis suites to do something about their reservation system and payment system so that guests are not so embarrassed on check in and check out because it can be very embarrassing especially when other guest are around.

Other than this unfortunate situation I had an excellent stay at this fine establishment.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank imraan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome your feedback regarding your experience at check in and check out. I have adressed your concerns and recommendation with my Reservations Manager and Front Office Manager.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    113
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
41
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

this place has great apartments! extremely modern and clean and spacious! a great place to crash for a wknd or so if needed! highly recommended. Very close to jewish attractions such as multiple synagogues (orthodox as well) etc. good place, recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeKay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome your feedback. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had reason to stay in Johannesburg on business and like most people I was looking for something nice, but not too expensive and Genesis Suites ticked all the boxes. This unpretentious apartment style hotel offers the best of both worlds ... all the facilities of a hotel, but with the privacy and convenience of your own fully equipped apartment. The apartments are of a decent size and tastefully furnished and decorated. The staff are all very friendly and eager to please which makes a difference too. Best of all they have a hairdryer plugged in and in front of a mirror :o).. A simple thing, but not always found even in the best hotels. There are some renovations taking place at Genesis suites that will include some top brands joining the small shopping mall below and what I am sure will only add to the convenience already offered at this property. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

I was so excited to read your review on Trip Advisor.I have passed comments on to the Genesis Team. We look forward welcoming you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing and hope that we will exceed your expecations when you next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Genesis Suites last week as part of a business trip. It is perfect for the discerning business traveler as it has space, is well appointed and kitted out with all the needs one may have. The property is centrally situated and easy access to all main highways and roads is a bonus. I also enjoyed the view and the peace and tranquility of the immediate surrounding area. The staff and service was top notch and all I can say is well done to Nico, GM, and his team for running a superb product.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desmond4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your wonderful comments on to the Genesis team. We look forward welcoming you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Hotel is a lovely edifice situated in the perfect place in a refreshing atmosphere...the Staff were really helpful especially the gentleman at the reception called "HLOPHE"..he made me feel at home and has given me a reason to come back to South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your wonderful comments on to Hlophe. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I came from Ghana and I really love this hotel. It is classy and peaceful , besides all the workers there are extremely friendly and make you feel at home. This guy at the reception help me a lot Hlope Ndzalele.

Room Tip: Call on Hlope Ndzalele at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your wonderful comments on to Hlophe. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francistown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Found this place over 1 year ago and have come back about 6 or 7 time amd planning to come in the next few weeks... I think that the quality/price is great! The apartments are nice, spacious and clean. The option to have room service or cook for yourself (nice shop in complex, Spar) is great when with my kids (2 and 4) The staff is Super and patient! Thank Kamo for always helping me, friends and family who stop at Genesis :)
Once again quality/praise you will not find better in jnb.
Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeliqueaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your wonderful comments on to Kamogelo. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
5.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genesis All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Property: Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa (Formerly Genesis Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis All-Suite Hotel S offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa's economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Genesis All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing