We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Smart and Efficient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Smart and Efficient.”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We booked this hotel last minute, and they fantastically gave us a two bedroom apartment, for the price of a one bedroom one!

The pickup was perfect, and checkin was smooth. The rooms are beautiful, I've only uploaded pictures of the main room, but the twin room was just as good. Comfy beds, great views, all you need. Wifi in Reception was free and rather reliable. 2 computers were also provided there if you didn't have a phone/laptop, though one seemed to be continually used by a manager/resident (not sure) for games which I found to be quite rude.

The food from the restaurant nearby was of a good standard for the price, we used it almost exclusively. Reception were also able to sort out an excursion, complete with taxi for us at a reasonable price, which impressed me.

Overall, I'd stay here again if back in Joburg.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    124
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
133
49
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I can't praise this place too much. I got a spacious, nicely furnished, two bedroom suite for less than $100 per night. The hotel sits on top of a small shopping center which includes a supermarket with a kosher section where you can buy ready to eat food (meaty) as well as supplies. A kosher (dairy) restaurant is also in the complex.

It is in the suburbs and, in a city where safety can be an issue, it is well provided with security. If you want access to downtown it's a drive away. If, like me, you want access to the Jewish suburbs, it's ideally placed.

Very friendly and professional staff.

I was there on business but would love the chance to go back with my wife for a vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_kosher_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Well priced relative to the other places we stayed at. Good location. Good staff. Clean and safe.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gsquaredb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We rented a three room suit for 5 people. It had two bathrooms and a large sitting room and a kitchen.
The layout of the main bedroom is a little wierd with the bathroom and bedroom not seperated. The second and third rooms were small but had lots of closet space and were suitable for our stay. Everything is new and the room and premises were spotless.
This place is located in a mall. There is a supermarket in the mall that sells kosher food. The suburb (Glenhazel) is a very Jewish area and so there are many kosher stores in the area.
The hotel is very near the N3 highway and is very well loated if your activities are inthe eastern side of Johannesburg. It is a little far if you are doing stuff west of Rosebank.
The security was excellent and present at all times. It took 20 minutes to the airport at peak time.
The reception were helpful but not like being in a hotel with a concierge. The internet is expensive and will only allow one computer at a time. There is free internet n the lobby.We werre in room 21 and it had access to the pool deck that was great. The pool was not full as it was winter. There is a women only gym in the mall.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a 3 bedroom suite on the first floor. Great view of the suburb. there was building going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed in the two bed exec suite. Enough space for 4/5people. we had a study which could double as a third bedroom if necessary. Much nicer than a hotel room.
Very private, felt safe and secure, good central location, not too far from town or the airport. It is in a Jewish neighbourhood so the supermarket offers Kosher food etc.
Daily Cleaners - very friendly, underground secure parking. Supermarket, bank, restaurants,hairdressers, laundry etc all within the complex.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a Kosher B and B in a heavily Orthodox Jewish neighborhood. It was clean and nice, but there isn't much of anything to do in the neighborhood so please rent a car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cilocybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

The hotel was hard to find at first (for a firstimer in Joburg), but the location itself was in the center of the planned activities that we had.
Nice rooms and clean sheets and toilets.
Very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabsGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
5.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
4.4 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#26 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genesis All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Property: Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa (Formerly Genesis Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis All-Suite Hotel S offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa's economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Genesis All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing