We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! Luxury at a budget price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I can't praise this place too much. I got a spacious, nicely furnished, two bedroom suite for less than $100 per night. The hotel sits on top of a small shopping center which includes a supermarket with a kosher section where you can buy ready to eat food (meaty) as well as supplies. A kosher (dairy) restaurant is also in the complex.

It is in the suburbs and, in a city where safety can be an issue, it is well provided with security. If you want access to downtown it's a drive away. If, like me, you want access to the Jewish suburbs, it's ideally placed.

Very friendly and professional staff.

I was there on business but would love the chance to go back with my wife for a vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_kosher_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

Well priced relative to the other places we stayed at. Good location. Good staff. Clean and safe.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank gsquaredb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We rented a three room suit for 5 people. It had two bathrooms and a large sitting room and a kitchen.
The layout of the main bedroom is a little wierd with the bathroom and bedroom not seperated. The second and third rooms were small but had lots of closet space and were suitable for our stay. Everything is new and the room and premises were spotless.
This place is located in a mall. There is a supermarket in the mall that sells kosher food. The suburb (Glenhazel) is a very Jewish area and so there are many kosher stores in the area.
The hotel is very near the N3 highway and is very well loated if your activities are inthe eastern side of Johannesburg. It is a little far if you are doing stuff west of Rosebank.
The security was excellent and present at all times. It took 20 minutes to the airport at peak time.
The reception were helpful but not like being in a hotel with a concierge. The internet is expensive and will only allow one computer at a time. There is free internet n the lobby.We werre in room 21 and it had access to the pool deck that was great. The pool was not full as it was winter. There is a women only gym in the mall.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a 3 bedroom suite on the first floor. Great view of the suburb. there was building going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed in the two bed exec suite. Enough space for 4/5people. we had a study which could double as a third bedroom if necessary. Much nicer than a hotel room.
Very private, felt safe and secure, good central location, not too far from town or the airport. It is in a Jewish neighbourhood so the supermarket offers Kosher food etc.
Daily Cleaners - very friendly, underground secure parking. Supermarket, bank, restaurants,hairdressers, laundry etc all within the complex.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a Kosher B and B in a heavily Orthodox Jewish neighborhood. It was clean and nice, but there isn't much of anything to do in the neighborhood so please rent a car.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cilocybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

The hotel was hard to find at first (for a firstimer in Joburg), but the location itself was in the center of the planned activities that we had.
Nice rooms and clean sheets and toilets.
Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabsGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Stayed for one night as it was suppose to be near Joburg Airport-reality was it was 1/2 hour away. Neighborhood was dicey. No security anywhere as we arrived, did see some upon leaving. Very noisy outside room between vehicles and fights at gas station next door. Room very worn out and strange layout. Also had a funky smell to it. Also NO AIR CONDITIONING-not sure how it was considered 4 star for that fact alone. We did not return for 3 day stay later in week even with them not refunding money. Stayed at much nicer hotel for not much more money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disneyadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.4 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
192 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genesis All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa (Formerly Genesis Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $84 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis All-Suite Hotel S offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa's economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Genesis All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing