We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable”
Review of Le Chatelat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Chatelat
Ranked #134 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a magnificent Neo Classic mansion set in the middle of Johannesburg's most opulent suburb, Sandhurst. Immediately arrive you feel you are on the set of a Somerset Maugham novel. The decor is wonderfully worn in and the mini versailles like garden finishes of the property beautifully. Our room was large and comfortable, but it did not have an air conditioner which could be problematic at the height of summer, however all the other touches were wonderful and they even catered for our vegan requirements at breakfeast. Of course the price was fantastic at R1450 per night for the two of us including bf. Considering the similar prices of the big brand soulless hotels nearby this is a winner and we will definitely stay here on business and leisure trips

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanvari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
8
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

What an unbelievable place! Have stayed in many many five star hotels in many many parts of the world but never stayed in a place so beautiful and in such a fabulous setting. The rooms are grand, the breakfast sumptious and the hosts divine (Sharon and Frazer), who pull out all the stops). Nothing wrong with the shower pressure, by the way.
If you need a very special venue don't go anywhere else. All in all - just perfect!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed at Le Chat for a couple of nights before heading off on safari. It is a stunning place - beautiful garden, courtyard and decor. We were the only visitors (apart from the owners who were incredibly hospitable - for example they drove us to Sandton for dinner instead of us having to get a taxi). The only slight negative was the shower pressure in our room - could have done with a bit more umph (a bit picky!).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watamu, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Le Chatelat really is in a class of its own. It is a stunning property set in beautifully manicured grounds. The rooms are breathtaking and very romantic. We had a wonderful stay here and Cheryl the Manager was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast each morning was lovely, one of the best in Joburg. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
322 reviews
9.8 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 66 in Johannesburg
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
11.6 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chatelat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chatelat

Property: Le Chatelat
Address: 60 Cleveland Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing