We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Room is lively surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nicely appointed moodern rooms with a nice bar! High level of service and security! The hotel as a positive vibe and hosts thr Emirates Airlines crew! Shower is in the room and good for honey moon couples...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vijay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Iashivij,

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

We pledge to provide the finest personal service for our GUESTS who will always enjoy a warm and relaxed setting even in such a lively surrounding.

Our rooms are sophisticatedly designed living up to the modern chic of the old Hollywood glamour essence & the vibes which is drawn from our décor and super cool GUESTS resonates throughout the establishment. We are delighted that we host such a fabulous crew, it certainly adds to the ambience which we are so well known for.

The shower is a unique attribute to our rooms and it involves a technique of creating open space; it is unquestionably suited to GUESTS that are comfortable sharing a room together and definitely ideal for a honeymoon couple. I would suggest securing one of our beautiful corner suites on your next visit should you wish for a more private bathroom facility with an added bath facility.

We trust that your previous stay with us is one that will encourage future visits and with that said we hope to not only meet but exceed your future expectations upon your next stay.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Protea Hotel Melrose Arch comes second to Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge. All at these hotels is excellent. I truly enjoyed myself. If you want out with your family or significant others, trust me, these are the best. Melrose Arch is at the heart of JHB, thus you need a buying power. Style and fashion is all around the Hotel. Come and see!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motsumi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Motsumi M,

It is an absolute pleasure to read your fantastic review of our establishment.

We are pleased to know that you have rated us amongst the very best of hotels which you have stayed at, second to best in fact. Our TEAM take great pride in the work standards they deliver thus providing exceptional service for all of our GUESTS.

Melrose Arch is indeed a façade of style, fashion and all things glam, as a hotel of our stature we blend in quite significantly and in turn our GUESTS benefit from being situated within the precinct as there is much to see and experience with an assortment of stores of dining options.

We would certainly love to welcome you back in the near future to experience more of what our hotel as to offer; being your destination of choice is what we would ultimately strive to achieve!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a night that started out poorly and Matsobhane, the Manager of the restaurant, made a fantastic effort to turn it around. He is an asset to the Hotel. We will return because of his impressive customer service and the way he redeemed the situation.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Blissful_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Blissful_Voyager,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; it certainly is pleasing to hear that we had changed a moment of misery to a moment of magic!

Despite having started the evening off on a bad note, I am thrilled to hear that Matsobane had salvaged the situation and created positive memories. You have definitely experienced true Fire & Ice! Hospitality and I will certainly be making a prime example of Matsobane’s efforts – thank you for recognizing this brilliance.

We look forward to hosting you again and ensuring that your next experience with us is better than the last.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for nine nights recently. The hotel certainly has a "buzzy vibe" with trendy decor. My room was perfectly fine with all necessary facilities. I agree with other reviewers that if you don't like noise an upper floor room would be essential as the first floor generates a lot of noise especially on a Friday and Saturday night. The wifi connection was excellent with a generous data allowance. There is no bath rather an open shower with a curtain that can be used as a divider. I did have an issue with the air con. It was either too cold with it on or too warm with it off. Overall I enjoyed the stay. In terms of location it felt a much safer location than other areas I have stayed in. There were plenty of restaurants and shops within a five minute walk. The hotel has a good small gym. The buffet breakfast was very good with cappuccinos specially made. There is also a milkshake bar with really good shakes made to order.

Room Tip: At least 3rd floor if you don't want to be disturbed by noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinoSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear dinoSwindon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us; we appreciate your insight.

Being part of the Fire & Ice! Brand, we strive to embrace our GUESTS with a vibey and energetic setting from the moment of arrival; the essence of our brand!

I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by our DJ evenings as keeping young and upbeat is one of elements that set us apart from the rest! Please feel free to request a higher floor on your next stay and we will see to it that you are well looked after.

We are fortunate enough to be situated within the Melrose Arch Precinct, we realize just how lucky we are to have an array of stores and eateries on our doorstep; this just adds to the convenience while being in a safe and secure environment which is perfect for the discerning business traveler.

The complimentary Wi-Fi is just one of our many values that our GUESTS can enjoy on their stays especially since we understand the importance of being connected at all times. As our individual climate control system was in the process of being upgraded during the time of your stay I would like to apologize most sincerely that this was not communicated effectively.

Our food & beverage TEAM takes tremendous pride in providing the very best breakfast selection for our GUESTS and it is wonderful to hear that you had indulged in our offering. We offer 37 delicious milkshake variants; please do let us know which one you had enjoyed most!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your business stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for many visits to come.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for a week on business, this was my 2nd visit. The hotel has a good vibe with a nice outdoor seating area. Staff are very friendly although the service can sometimes be a little on the slow side.
The hotel has a Milkshake Bar, with an extensive menu and I became addicted to their Aero milkshakes.
At the weekend a DJ is in the bar.
I am a female travelling alone and felt very safe i8n the hotel and surronding area of Melrose Arch where there are lots of nice shops and restaurants.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micheleuxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Micheleuxbridge,

Wow! It brings us great pleasure to be receiving such an awesome review from you!

Being ‘vibey’ and ‘energetic’ is what we are about and I am so glad that this was evident during your stay with us. We certainly strive on meeting every expectation and whilst our STAFF are very friendly and eager to please, we will reiterate the importance of delivering efficient service.

We have without a doubt the perfect location that provides our GUESTS who travel to Johannesburg with fantastic accommodation and an abundance of exclusive shopping and restaurants; all this in a safe and secure environment which is of utmost importance.

It was wonderful hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your 3rd stay!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel itself was nice - the decor was fun and stylish and the hotel had a great atmosphere, but the customer service was among the worst I have experienced in a hotel. Everyone at the front desk acted like I was bothering them when I needed assistance with something. They were very unhelpful and even rude. Their website says they are happy to arrange transportation to/from the airport for you, so I relied on this and ended up paying almost double what the cost should have been. Awful stay. I would not recommend this place to anyone and would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fangelairy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear fangelairy6,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback after your recent stay with us.
It brings us great displeasure to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations.

We always aim to provide every one of our GUESTS with excellent service from the moment of arrival to departure and I am sincerely sorry that we had failed to deliver the basics.

As for the Travel desk concern raised, we cannot apologise enough for the inconvenience caused. We will re-evaluate the procedures that we currently have in place to ensure that all requests from our GUESTS are correctly and efficiently dealt with.

Once again, thank you for highlighting this matter. I can assure you that the necessary steps will be put in place to ensure that each encounter with GUESTS is a positive and wonderful one.

It would be nothing less than a pleasure to show you exactly what we are about and to change your opinion of us on your next visit. Please contact me directly gm@fireandice-ma.com so that we can anticipate and meet your every request. Until then, safe travels.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I travel for new experiences, and this hotel was unique. Many people in our group really disliked the funky decor, the shower and sink being in the bedroom, and the uncomfortable "Alice in Wonderland" Chairs. I found it fun to be in a different type of hotel for the two nights we stayed there. The important things were: The hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast buffet was excellent, and the hotel was in walking distance of shopping and restaurants. The front desk was more than helpful when I was having difficulties connecting to the Wi Fi. What more could one ask?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Ocysu,

This is such an amazing review and I cannot thank you enough for such stellar feedback!

We believe that we are a destination in its own right and strive on offering the best of experiences for our GUESTS whilst offering superb accommodation and pristine facilities.

I am thrilled to hear that you have formed your own opinion of us and we love everything about it. I will certainly share your experience & good praises with my TEAM. It certainly goes a long way in boosting STAFF morale and the desire to serve.

As the sign on my door says ‘Please disturb’, feel free to pop in and say hi on your next visit. It would be great to meet you. Until then!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
783 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $78 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing