We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Nearby Hotels
$282
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$172
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residence Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$244
$234
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$196
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$89
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$82
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
$196
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$175
$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveler rating
350
461
149
60
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
461
149
60
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilkshake barmelrose archhollywood thememovie starstrendy hotelgated areafirst floorsafe locationshops and restaurantshotel is situatedfelt very safebusiness hotelcape townshopping mallsouth africamilkshakesshower
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is my first time in South Africa, and this Protea Hotel (this hotel is a chain) located in Melrose Arch (rather fake, fabricated although a nice place). A lot of cafes and shopping place there.

The hotel itself got nice decoration, and all the staff were amazing, except the receptionist, who's the least accommodating.

The Pool Bar is nice, and so is the bar.

But I prefer my Bed&Breakfast in Melville compare to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuyaimut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear kuyaimut

Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay with us.

It is a pity that you had found the Melrose Arch Precinct to be fake and fabricated. The whole look and feel is that of a city within a city with up to date retail, amazing spaces and restaurants; this certainly appeals to travellers as the place to be seen.

It is wonderful to hear that you had found the STAFF in general to be amazing. We will certainly be addressing the front office TEAM and reiterate the importance of making positive impressions upon every GUEST interaction.

We do hope to have the chance of accommodating you again. Please let us know when you’re back for a visit; it would be great to meet you. Until then, safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well Done to the STAFF and management of protea Hotel Fire & Ice - Johannesburg.

Had an absalutely wonderful stay with you !!! The front Desk was welcoming , Menu has a lot to choose from and a tranquil environment to sleep in .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Neo T

It is always so enjoyable reading such wonderful reviews and sharing it with our TEAM!

To hear that you were well received from the moment of your arrival to departure is certainly what gave your experience with us life. The STAFF and Management TEAM appreciate your kind words; it will motivate everyone to consistently deliver great service and ensure that our GUESTS leave with good memories.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We look forward to many more visits to come!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We flew back to Johannesburg and stayed at the Fire and Ice after traveling through Southern Africa. The hotel is amazing. It has a very modern flare and is very sleek and clean. The staff were so friendly. The pool area was great for the kids and the deck and lounge area very nice to relax at after a long 2 weeks of travel. The Melrose Arch area of Joberg is gate entry and very safe for foreign travelers and the shopping in the area is pretty good. It is a bit away from the airport but the hotel has staff that can drive you at very short notice anywhere for less than a taxi. I was very pleased with the management allowing us a late check out because our flight was late out of Joberg the next day. Try the milkshakes, awesome!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Rob C

Reading reviews such as yours really does make all of the hard work worth it; thank you very much for giving us such an excellent overview of your recent stay with us!

To hear that we are amazing, sleek and clean are just a few words that we love to hear and certainly describe what we are about! My TEAM constantly strives to make each visit a special one by consistently meeting and exceeding our GUESTS expectations. Offering a late checkout, when we have the availability, is just another one of the perks we offer as we know the importance of freshening up before a long flight home.

The pool deck is absolutely glorious when the African sun is shining and this element has undoubtedly added to your enjoyment and relaxation. We are genuinely thrilled to have been part of your two week safari and ending it off with a high note.

From myself and the entire Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch TEAM, thank you for your gratifying review. We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had the most amazing evening last next at this hotel. Love the vibe, decor, food, amazing rooms and most of all the very famous milkshake bar. Thank you to Tanya, the F and B Manager and Joe (rooms division manager) for personalized service. Still one of the best breakfast served at any Johannesburg hotels.
We have stayed there many times and will certainly return.
Congratulations to Gabriella and Desire for a job well done!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear elisbie k

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and it is evident that you had an amazing time with us; many thanks for such a wonderful review!

I am extremely lucky to have such a wonderful TEAM around me that ensure that all of our GUESTS receive the best attention and personalised service at all times. Tanya, Matthew (our Food & Beverage Manager), Joe and Desire have been praised for their relentless efforts. Their energy and passion for the industry sets a great example for the TEAM!

The breakfast TEAM will be thrilled to hear that you loved our spread. We have been told many times that we serve the best breakfast in Jozi and will continue to search for excellence.

It was such a treat having you with us and we thoroughly look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Nice hotel which is fine for business stay. I really like the modern silver-black and white design and unconventional set up of rooms (e.g. shower next to the bed, without any door).But I really like it the way it is. Service is nice, nice choice of breakfast, good milkshake and wine bar. Hotel is in a nice and safe location, close to a shopping area, very clean.
The only thing I missed in the room was a bar fridge and a bathroom robe and slippers.
Otherwise I would love to return anytime. I had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishii_mis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear mishii_mis

Thank you for giving us such an excellent review!

We’re glad to hear that we were your hotel of choice while you were in Johannesburg and that your business needs were met. Being located within The Melrose Arch Precinct certainly complements ones travels by providing safety and a wide variety of shopping!

The thought process behind the design of our rooms was to make clever use of available space thus contributing to the urban style setting of the hotel. If you would really like to spoil yourself, I would suggest reserving one of our gorgeous corner suites. Having said that, only our suites have the exclusive offering of bathrobes and slippers; guaranteed to make the stay a very luxurious one.

As there is always room for improvement, your comments will be used as a tool to better our offering. Even though we do not have fridges in our rooms, we can certainly provide you with one on your next stay. Please do highlight this request upon making your next reservation!

Our TEAM is as committed as ever to provide each GUEST with a most memorable and magnificent Protea Hotel’s service experience. Many thanks for your compliments regarding the breakfast choices and milkshakes that we offer; it will definitely be passed on to our food & beverage TEAM.

We’ll be looking out for your next reservation!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews