We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dark Grotto”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Not impressed by the absolute black and white theme throughout property
good location
felt unsafe in sub-ground car park
Room - space ok;
Shower in room with poor screening wrt water spill-over
Will raher stay elsewhere
Expensive

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarriANarismulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear HarriANarismulu

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You have provided us with some helpful comments and have afforded us an opportunity to highlight and work on the various concerns raised.

It is really disappointing to hear how we spoilt what was supposed to be a great stay and we sincerely apologise for this.

I am proud to say that the hotel is situated in a secure environment and that the Melrose Arch Precinct is patrolled 24 hours by a trusted security TEAM who make all GUESTS feel safe and welcome. It is concerning that you had felt unsafe in the undercover parking. We will be informing the precinct management of your concern.

The design of our black & white ‘Old Hollywood Glam’ theme might not be to everyone’s taste; however the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and public facilities always receive top priority.

Although we cannot change what transpired, I really hope that you can give us the opportunity to make it up to you.

We look forward to showing you our commitment to getting it right, so that you enjoy a fantastic stay and leave with wonderful and positive memories.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    399
    114
    49
    42
See reviews for
83
238
55
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Room a bit small , not for vacation stay , maybe the weather was to cold.
decor is beautifull, noise fromm other rooms is bad, when using lavatory and shower. you hear all the water running .
resturant not good at customer service , went to dinner and was told all seating was booked.
funny even after we sat in a corner and finished dinner the seats were still empty.
milkshakes are divine
breakfast was slow , to get scramble eggs was a mission . why is it knowing that eggs are so important for breakfast , you dont offer ready warmed up eggs.
even when the chef makes them , they still get cold easily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Ashley D

We would love to change your perception of us from ‘OK’ to ‘Fabulous’!

We are sorry to hear that you found the room space to be limited as they were designed to be funky and urban. Perhaps on your next stay, one of our gorgeous corner suites can be reserved as this would certainly provide the additional space you require. The corner suite will not only provide you with a comfortable stay, but a more peaceful one too.

I am incredibly embarrassed to hear about your restaurant experience. I have provided additional training and mentoring to my TEAM to ensure that they handle such situations with far more sensitivity while ensuring that GUEST comfort is always placed as a priority. I will endeavour for my TEAM to consistently deliver positive and professional output at all times.

As for our milkshakes, they are legendary and there is nothing more gratifying than receiving your positive comments. Upon your next visit, feel free to try one of our ‘naughty’ alcoholic milkshakes!

The breakfast chef tries his utmost to prepare the best eggs in Jozi, we have received many compliments as our chef is stickler for perfection. We prefer to make eggs on order to provide our GUEST with the freshest of dishes. Please be sure that we will share your suggestion with the breakfast TEAM.

As a Prokard member, we truly value your loyalty to our brand and look forward to showing you our commitment to ensuring that you enjoy a fantastic stay and to leave with wonderful and positive memories.

It would be great to be welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trou aux Biches
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice cosy hotel with a fire place at the reception very friendly and helpfull staff they are always at your attention! Liked the high back chair veery much as well as the black and white concept! Lavish breakfast. Room very spacious but the shower is very open and we get a complitary bottled water!

Room Tip: Looking for a safe joint then this is the place very secured!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Nazim M

It is so rewarding to receive feedback such as yours, especially since we pride ourselves in providing our GUESTS with an amazing experience of our property.

We strive to serve the best breakfast in Jozi and your compliments regarding the lavish spread that we offer, certainly makes all the hard work worth it!

The concept behind the urban design of the open-plan bathroom is all about creating more space for your enjoyment. However, we do have suites available with a traditional en-suite bathroom, should you prefer that on your next stay with us.

Our STAFF are dedicated to providing the best GUEST service; please be assured that we will be extending your kind words to the TEAM.

It was great having you with us and we do hope to have the opportunity of ensuring that you enjoy another wonderful experience with us!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This modern, chic hotel is located in a very safe area of Jo'burg. Excellent restaurants within a 5 minute walk, and a good shopping mall. Easy access to the other parts of the city via a taxi. Rooms were big enough and very modern with 50's movie decor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Sijavy

You have certainly given us an amazing review that ‘juices’ us to do even better in future!

Being situated in the safe and highly cosmopolitan precinct environment is definitely an added bonus; especially since we have all the superb retail shops and fantastic restaurants right on our doorstep.

We are very proud of the ‘Old Hollywood’ glamour theme and as it is a unique concept, it gives us great pleasure in knowing that you appreciated these extra touches.

It would be wonderful to have you with us again and we look forward to ‘wowing’ you on your next visit!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a 2 day 1 night meeting there. The conference rooms were very noisy - you could hear the staff outside and the people in the room next to you to the point that you often could not hear yourselves. If you stepped out if the venue to take a call for example there was is no where quiet to go - you are in the middle of the tea serving for all venues and above reception with no sound proofing. The volumes at lunch were so high - that we were seated outside - no heaters and today was freezing. Perhaps they booked more than they could deal with. The venue doors lock when closed - so if you go to the loo you have to bang on the door till someone in your session lets you back in again.
the hotel rooms were ok - nothing special - nothing awful - parking is charged for even for guests, and breakfast pricey for what you get. Tea in the room - which I like - but was all rooibos - a mix is usually provided in a hotel like this and other Protea's. Room sound proofing was also not good - doors around me were opening and closing till way past midnight and started again at 4am - and could easily be heard slamming themselves shut.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear CathrynSouthAfrica

Receiving reviews such as yours really does sadden us.

There is no excuse for what had transpired on the day, and we are embarrassed for not making your time with us a memorable one.

As for the STAFF that made a noise, we have addressed the concern with the TEAM and stressed the importance of making as little noise as possible when on the banqueting floors as it is absolutely essential for our valued GUESTS to enjoy peace and quiet, irrespective of what time of day it is.

The hotel parking is facilitated by a third party supplier. Being part of a precinct environment, the parking for our hotel GUESTS is owned by Melrose Arch and unfortunately the pricing is a pre-determined rate which is for your own account.

Once again, our most sincere apologies must be conveyed for the inconvenience that this has caused you and your colleagues. This is not how we do business, and we will endeavour to use your criticism as a learning curve going forward.

It would be great to welcome you back soon and to hopefully restore your faith in our services.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

As a Protea Hotel Gold Procard holder (+- 10 years) we decided to use one of our buy one get one free vouchers. We had a really awesome weekend. We were celebrating my 54th birthday (9th May) and our 31st wedding anniversary (26th June). I made comment of this on our booking and was a bit saddened that there was no comment on this by anyone. (Does anyone read the comments when you book) Besides that you cannot fault any of the service, food, room service.

WELL DONE GUYS, we now understand why Emirates airlines use Protea Hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Kevin S

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory way in which such significant detail pertaining to your reservation was handled.

It would seem that there was a communicative error regarding passing this information on to the right people. It is such a simple task which we do every day and we are embarrassed for dropping the ball on this. The fact that you were so poorly met by my TEAM was utterly inexcusable.

I am committed to turning this situation around and will endeavour to provide consistent service levels filled with attention to detail, efficiency and passion. My TEAM have accepted the errors made and will make it their priority to ensure that every one of our GUESTS enjoy an amazing experience on every visit.

Out vibrant STAFF members are often complimented on their positive energy, and it is really good to know that despite the aforementioned disappointments, you still took pleasure in our other services and facilities!

As a valued Prokard member, we would like to ensure that your next stay with us exceeds expectations, so that you and your wife can experience our hospitality to its best. Please do give us a shout when you will be returning, we look forward to giving you the personal welcome that you deserve!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Wondderfully quirky hotel in fashionable area of JoBurg - Melrose Arch area with good restaurants and shopping. This area felt a little safer than other areas of JoBurg. The hotel has medium sized rooms which are decorated to a very fine standard but quirky and fun. Each room has a movie star theme. I was in Jimmy Stuart. The room itself was odd with the step in shower and wash basin integral to the bedroom space. The toilet was in a private room. Once I covered the shower drain plug with a towel the strange smell disappeared. this was the only minor complaint I would have. No problem really. The bar/ restaurant area was very pleasant with an outside balcony overlooking the district. Checkin and out went smoothly with very friendly helpful staff. Bar prices very very reasonable. Watch out for the slightly inflated cab fares to the airport though which was organised through the reception. Better to be safe than sorry though.

Room Tip: 407 worked fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briankirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear briankirk

Many thanks indeed for such an insightful review!

‘Quirky’ and ‘individualistic’ are words that we strive to be synonymous with the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. We want each of our GUESTS to leave our property with distinctly unique and atypical memories.

This is evident in our classic Hollywood-inspired décor and attention-grabbing design, hence the open-plan set up of our bedrooms.

Our maintenance TEAM have been made aware of your concerns regarding the shower drain, and you can rest assured that swift action is being taken to ensure that this is corrected.

We are firm believers in keeping to the highest of standards to not only meet, but to also exceed, all of our GUESTS expectations. With this in mind, please do give us a shout the next time you plan on visiting, so that we may anticipate your needs and tailor-fit these to your requirements. Till then, safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
696 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing