We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management PATHETIC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This very cool funky hotel has a new manager and he is very fast undoing all the good work of the previous manager. I have been frequenting this hotel since its opening and it has always welcomed guests to the bar lounge/bar/pool area and have a DJ Thursday- Saturday night.

The service in the bar/ lounge area has become HORRENDOUS and despite us having a table with a few bottles we had to ask 5 waiters and it took 45 mins to get a few extra glasses. The new mgt do not seem to want their regular clients nor repeat business. At 11pm they turn on VERY bight lights inside, the music is turned off and they stop serving you unless you produce a room card!! We had been celebrating a bday at the hotel from 8h30 and spent a large amount on drinks but after 11pm we were suddenly no longer wanted. The drinks ordered 30 mins prior to 11pm we not served to us either and we were treated like second class citizens and basically told to leave.

We did however notice that the "ladies of the night" at the bar were being served and if that is the type of clientele you guys are now trying to attract then i am shocked and amazed! The door staff are also very rude and some of the guests were interrogated as to why they were late to the party and didnt want to allow them in..

So for all those "öld clients" that frequented the bar/lounge we are no longer welcome it seems. Do not bother putting your self through the poor service and rude attitude of the staff. Rather head to the other hotel in the arch that will gladly serve you in their bar/library area all night with a smile!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank leighdermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear leighdermick

We are most disappointed to hear of the very poor experience encountered by both you and your GUESTS, at what should have been an enjoyable and memorable birthday celebration. We cannot apologise enough that the evening unfolded in such a manner and left a horribly poor impression and sadly, a bitter taste.

Every GUEST is important to us, especially those whom have supported us from the onset and we are deeply sorry that we have let you, our valued GUEST down in such a poor way.

We have recently introduced a ‘last rounds’ policy, however it was never intended to make GUESTS feel uncomfortable or chased away. I would like to assure you that I have personally addressed the issues raised concerning the STAFF at the door and in the bar area. As an immediate action we have revisited this area and ensured that this process is carried out gradually and that no patrons feel uncomfortable or are inconvenienced.

The concerns which you have highlighted have allowed us the opportunity to identify certain concerning areas and we are very grateful that you have brought them to our attention. We have put additional energy into corrective measures and are continuously monitoring them to ensure that every GUEST leaves with a positive experience. My TEAM will make every effort to ensure that all our GUESTS will receive truly amazing service and unique and memorable experience.

We are grateful for your on-going support and hope to be given the opportunity to prove ourselves to you once again.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rooms are fine, new and decor is a little tasteless but ok, only issue is no fridge, which for a 4 star is a bit strange.

The staff in this hotel are the real issue, in general bone idle and slow at best. I will give a number of examples, the reception takes an age to check u in, and even though check in is at 2pm they were unable to accomodate us until 3pm. The travel desk lady is useless, doesn't care and generally not interested. We got a taxi from the hotel, then phoned for a return. Unfortunetly she could not be bothered to pass on the correct instructions to the driver so instead we waited for 40 minutes waititng. After 10 calls to her she decided we should phone the driver ourselves, what a joke. Only in south africa would she have not been sacked!

So beyond the bad check in experience and bad travel desk experience u would have assumed I would have learnt my lesson and stayed away from their other services. Unfortunately I decided to dine with them. 35 minutes for a chicken burger, the burger was good don't get me wrong, but it wasn't like they were sending a man to kill a chicken specifically for me!!!

My advice is to not stay here, unless u can handle the bad service.

Melrose arch is lovely otherwise, ocean basket and meat company are great restaurans, but avoid the fire and ice at all costs, and if you stay don't book a taxi, eat or expect good service in any way!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear nickpil

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with a detailed overview as to what transpired during your recent stay with us. It really does sound like we have dropped the ball and it certainly does not seem as if you encountered the true Fire & Ice! experience.

We pride ourselves in offering spectacular GUEST service and we will be ensuring that the appropriate and additional focus is spent on our front line TEAM. We are confident that this would be beneficial and only lead to great results.

We would also like to extend an apology for the food delivery taking so long. It is not the usual standard of service delivery that we pride ourselves in offering and although we cannot determine why your meal took so long to prepare, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a delicious burger.

As an international traveller, we value your feedback and we will endeavour to get all the aspects right pertaining to service delivery as we are very proud of our product and the service that we provide.

We would love the opportunity to ‘wow’ you and give you a dose of true Protea hospitality.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A hotel with unique modern decor that is located in the very nice tony neighborhood of melrose arch. Nice restaurants in the area:
Moyo - traditional african with jazz music in the evening
Orient - excellent asian
Shad - good indian

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Wictor

Thank you very much for your providing us with some great comments about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch on TripAdvisor.

It really is amazing to receive such great feedback especially since we pride ourselves in being ‘hip’ and ‘trendy’. Please be assured that we will, without a doubt, pass your feedback on to the restaurants within the precinct. We hope that during your next visit we can welcome you to our in-house restaurant or to the bar to try some of our famous gourmet milkshakes.

We look forward to welcoming you back so that we can continue delivering best GUEST service.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have not stayed at the hotel, but the conference facilities is really great - We always have been small groups, the service and food is good. I enjoy the interior especially. The staff understand your needs instictively and are alway available - Well done and keep it up

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmmmmnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Mmmmmnice

Thank you for such wonderful praise regarding our conference facilities after your recent visit to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

It is so refreshing to receive your compliments the banqueting department. Your comments will most certainly be extended to our TEAM and I am sure it will inspire them to keep doing a fantastic job. Our TEAM is here to meet and exceed our GUEST expectations and your experience is an affirmation that we are doing it right!

It was great having you and we do hope that you have the chance to stay over one night so that you will be able to experience true Protea hospitality at its best.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in in South Africa. It is located next to a large shopping center with numbers stores which reminded you of the shopping centers at home. The shopping center also has a grocery store. There are numberous restaurants also within walking distance, however, you could not go wrong eating in the restaurant located in the hotel. We found that the staff could not be better. Most of the time a lady knocked on our door to make sure our room was made up to our satisfation. The staff is very helpful and curtious. They take pride in their work!! I would highly recommend this hotel and if we ever go back to Johannesburg, we would consider staying at Protea Hotel Fire Ice, Melrose Arch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean7863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Jean7863

Your genuine feedback is welcomed with open arms and we thank you for providing us with such a stunning review after your visit to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We are proud to know The Melrose Arch precinct reminded you of a similar standard to what you find back home, in America. It offers a plethora of great retail options and superb restaurants for every international traveller’s needs!

Our STAFF have a desire to look after our valued GUESTS and we will be certain to congratulate them based on your comments.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back for many future visits to come.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The whole Melrose Arch precinct is very first world. This hotel is beautifully appointed and has a stylish and eclectic look to it. Bedrooms well appointed. Suitable for single guests or couples i.e. not to share with a colleague as the bathrooms are open plan and in full view of the bedroom. The restaurant is well appointed and a la carte menu is good. The bar area is uber trendy and attracts a trendy crowd after work. Conference facilities are great and upmarket. Snacks served at tea breaks are different and tasty. Great gym at the Virgin Active and lots to do and shopping in the area/in the precinct.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMoss101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear SMoss101

What an amazing review! We cannot thank you enough for providing us with such great feedback.

We are so grateful to be located in the Melrose Arch precinct, where the ‘city within a city’ atmosphere is vibey and infectious. Furthermore, it certainly pleases us to hear that our restaurant and bedroom furnishings were well received and the unique and quirky design elements are certainly great conversation starters.

Your feedback has provided us with an excellent GUEST experience and it is always rewarding to hear a travellers story.

It was great hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back, whether at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel or any of the Protea Hotels.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is just awsome, went with a group of friends, man oh man what a memorable night, the party vibe is definately noticeable as soon as you reach Fire and Ice.

Visit the Protea hotel fire and ice, the atmosphere and the quality of the food (we ordered burgers, one of the best i've tasted in a while) you won't be dissapointed, a 5 start experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Nancy M

Thank you very much for providing us with such an awesome TripAdvisor review.

My TEAM and I are determined to get it right and your fantastic feedback is evident of a job well done! We will most certainly be praising our Food & Beverage TEAM for ensuring that your evening with us was a magical one.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back many future visits to come. Hopefully next time it’s for the night!

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
777 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $76 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing