We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Georges on 4th - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Georges on 4th
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

To start, it was great

Originally, this was not our first pick as my girlfriend had already been to George's and we wanted to try something completely new. However, the completely new place, down the road, had horrible service, and I wasnt too impressed by the food menu either. The wine list was extensive and affordable, but altogether unsatisfactory.

We then decided to go for a place she knew would be good. So we went to George's. Arriving, it was near a full house, but we were quickly given a table, and the service was prompt.

Our waiter, Malusi (not sure the spelling), took the time to try and explain the different S.A. Beers to me, and then made a great dinner suggestion.

Like I said, the service was prompt. Not overly fast, and not lagging, even at full rush. The food was delicious! and the atmosphere was great. I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner here and would recommend George's to any and all.

and a special thanks to our waiter Malusi. If he's still there, request him. you wont be let down.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joechak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Its a great spot..”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I enjoy George's , for the vibe and deck especially on a Saturday afternoon. The food is not the greatest but its good.

Helpful?
Thank Thato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Georges on 4th nestled in the heart of Parkhurst delivers good food, the fillet medallions, although slightly pricy are very well worth it as it is full of flavour and the portioning is satisfactory.

In general Georgoes can be slightly over priced and occassionally the service can be slow but if you are no rush and are happy to enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the surroundings (internally and externally) make it well worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KleeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great vibe but otherwise pretty average”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Come here more for the buzz and flavor of the neighborhood rather than the food. Standard fair and ok service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zaheergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“it is good but not great”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

probably the best food on the street, but not 5 star so maybe a little pricey for what you get

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georges on 4th also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing