We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hakunamatata Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hakunamatata Lodge
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

All I can say is what a disappointment. The standards of Hakunamatata has deteriorated and I can assure you we will not be booking with your organisation going forward also make friends aware of the standard and advise them to rather pay a little more and go to Woodlands.

Staff is not the problem it is the standard that has deteriorated when I say that I will give you a couple of examples:

We arrived early and asked if we can have some coffee before our “Romantic spa” treatment would start. Well here is the first problem – we used your ladies facilities at the “restaurant” which was more like a conference room environment and none of the ladies toilets had any toilet paper and to top it off from the three basins only one basin work sort off – for a four star facility this is very, very unprofessional.

We had our coffee and went for the “romantic spa” not sure what was so romantic nothing special no chocolates, rose pebbles, etc. did our foot and hand treatment first on the outside veranda area – loud music was playing from your neighbours side I was told they had a party from the previous evening and we could even hear garden staff working when we were sitting what is so romantic about it and to top it off the staff started our treatments with plastic bowls filled with water – what a joke plastic bowls that looks like it comes from ones kitchen – where is the 4 star in this.

For our lunch our daughter did not feel too well and we requested that they place our foods for take away well this was the cherry on top of the cake as our take away was handed to us in paper plates (the ones one use for a braai) this is unacceptable taking into account the amount of money we had to pay for less than 1 ½ treatments and we can assure you that we will not use your services again and will load our experience on hellopeter to make people aware and caution them to ensure that they would not be as disappointed as what we were there was also nothing “romantic” about the treatments.

I am highlighting the above to make you aware of the very disappointed standards your organisation has shown especially taking into account that your organisation is rated as a four star organisation.

Room Tip: Do not book at this resort if you do not want to be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaetitiaJardim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benoni
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The dinner was great.......other than that the whole experience was very disappointing. The chalet had broken dustbin, toilet roll holder, blocked shower drain, no sweeteners or tea in the rooms and hair left in the bath from the previous resident. At breakfast you try to find a cleared table to no avail. No tables are set or cleared in anticipation of the next guest. You have to collect salt, pepper, serviettes etc yourself and ask for cutlery when your meal arrives. I truly do not know how they achieved their 4 star rating.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jdselect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The whole experience (from checking in, to paying the bill) was extremely unprofessional.
The spa was also unsatisfactory. The whole experience was very rushed. (We completed what was supposed to be a 3 and a half hour spa treatment in less than 2 hours) and the rooms are uncomfortably small where treatments are done.
The breakfast was horrible, the shower was clogged and the rooms cold.
This is not a 4 star hotel by a long shot and for sure not worth the money you pay to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge13131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Relaxing location, decent spa treatments, enjoyed the al fresco lunch.
The not so nice's : Unfriendly receptionist who had no knowledge on the spa packages, no tissues in bathroom ( despite asking them to replenish), unflushed toilet(yuk), shower near sauna not working, and maybe at the risk of sounding a little petty no soothing music during the treatments.

Overall, worth a visit :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank IsmailLambat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent a lovely day at the resort. Enjoyed a wonderful spa package but agree with the cost cutting comments. Maybe if more people visited this could be addressed. Rooms comfortable but horrible pillows (I'm very fussy about this and usually take my own) and hot water lacks pressure. Good food in restaurant. Overall an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The gardens are lovely and picturesque. The menu very limited also presented and cooked well enough. The Health centre is staffed with enthusiastic but unskilled therapists. The rooms are fine but evidence of cost cutting in things like soap and shampoo. Restaurant staff also pleasant - looks like a management issue.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göppingen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I just loved our chalet and didn't want to leave the next day!

CHALET: beautiful and clean with the most comfortable bed, a fire place with wood where we had this romantic fire (plus a heater which we really needed because it was winter and quite cold outside), a TV that actually worked (it is often advertised but doesn't work), the bathroom was just amazing! A huge shower with 2 shower heads, a little whirlpool, everything very clean and looked quite new.
FOOD: delicious! We didn't want to go to the restaurant so we had room service for a little extra cost. The food was there in time, hot and delicous
STAFF: Very friendly and helpful. We just arrived without a booking and didn't know about their winter special. So we would have paid the normal rate but the receptionist was so friendly to let us know about the discounted rate.

The perfect place for a romantic get away that seems like you are out of the city even if you are actually in Johannesburg :-)

Room Tip: Aks for the chalet with whirlpool, I'm not sure if every chalet has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S-Nicole-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
3.4 mi away
Thaba Eco Hotel
Thaba Eco Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
238 reviews
10.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
8.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
#2 of 11 in Muldersdrift
630 reviews
7.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
10.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakunamatata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakunamatata Lodge

Property: Hakunamatata Lodge
Address: No. 171 Lake view Avenue | P.O.Box 3623, Johannesburg 2040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing