We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raj Rocks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raj Indian Cuisine

The Raj Indian Cuisine
Ranked #767 of 1,172 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Johannesburg , South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Raj Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great food , excellent service . Whole experience is a big positive - wonderful selection and very tasty food. Well prepared and good serving sizes

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bathawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“mass made food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

it really felt like i was eating mass made food- food was too hot yet tasteless, and way to expensive for food that wasnt great--disappointing

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't expect bland food here, its SPICY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Raj is located at Mandela Square in Sandton City. It has very nice ambience and the wait staff and the greeters are friendly and knowlegable. The prices are in line with what you'd expect to pay at a (very) good Indian restaurant. The first meal I had there was the Lamb Vindaloo. Although warned about the heat, I had eaten vindaloo before and was fine with it. This preparation blew the lid off. If I had not ordered a side of the cucumber-based Raita, I would have been in deep trouble. The next time I ate there I ordered a Rogan Josh, medium hot, please. Excellent. Even if you order your dish mild, it is still very spicy anyway, without the heat. All this means that The Raj doesn't cut corners with their recipes and give you bland food. I believe that in all of the art of cuisine, there is truly nothing worse than bland Indian food. Certainly not here. I had been given a suggestion to order the "Butter Chicken". I had never heard of that dish before or seen it on any menu, so I had it. If you are on a diet, this dish is not for you. It is probably the "heaviest" meal I've ever eaten. The chicken is literally cooked in pure butter (mouth watering tender result), and covered with a heavy red tomato sauce. A gazillion calories. Took (at least) half of it back to my hotel room. Had a cold Stella on draught to go with each meal. Last thing to say about The Raj (and a pleasant surprise), is that the portions are larger than any other Indian restaurant I've eaten at. Not exactly twice as big, but nearly. So the value is excellent. If you have a "delicate" palate, or have trouble with spicy foods, go somewhere else. About the only thing bland on this menu is a side order of basmati rice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Raj in Midrand”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went with my work mates , the waitresses were great but management seem to have an attitude not sure if it's racisim .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Portia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Indioan Restaurant in Sandton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great food and ambience, a little pricey but still good value. A good choice for Indian food in the Sandton area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Garth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj Indian Cuisine also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Raj Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing