We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A hostel that feels like home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeview Backpackers
Nelspruit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hostel that feels like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I left this place feeling like I'd stayed over at a friend's house! The owners are absolutely lovely people, always willing to help or just have a chat. It was a great place to meet other travelers and everyone hung around the bar in the evening. The whole experience was just very chilled and informal. It certainly isn't one of those super-commercialised hostels trying to sell you every tour on the market. However, it does quitely provide the services you may well need-like pick ups and drop offs. The only improvement I can suggest is that the house could do with a little maintanence. Overall, though, a pleasant and homely experience. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tes1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I can't praise this Hostel highly enough. But I can try.. The 'staff' of Rhonel and Cornelius are happy to leave you to your own devices or to help plan, organise and advise on your whole stay. The accom itself is superbly located from the airport (book the pick-up, drop-off the Hostel provides as cabs are way more expensive), has a lovely pool, a relaxed informal vibe, decent kitshcen facilities and what it lacks in water pressure it more than makes up for with charm, laughs and comfy pillows!

In short, it worked for me and next time I visit I will deffinitly be stayiong here. FACT. Enjoy..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Duderino411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed here on my way over to Mozambique as a solo traveller. I met a very welcoming couple who had just taken over the place. They were informative, helpful and friendly. Even ended up enjoying beers and a meal with them and two others who were staying at the hostel in the evening.
It is also possible for them to help you with airport pickups and bus station drop offs.
Finally it is close to the shops if you are self catering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam4444_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The owner, Romel is a character and there is no doubt that she makes you feel extremely welcomed into her home and to SA.

The property itself is average and a little jaded, though I believe they are in the midst of doing works to the property. The amenities however are good; the kitchen has ample space for people staying to cook and all the basic equipment needed for self caterers. The sitting room area has a large TV, plenty of movies, board games and books and feels very relaxed and the pool is set in a lovely back garden.

The wifi wasn't working when I stayed so I was informed I was able to use a laptop, however I wasn't particularly happy that I was charged for this when leaving. I wouldn't have minded so much if I was made aware of this beforehand but to spring it on me via the bill wasn't particularly welcomed. This unfortunately also happened with the pick up from the airport. When arriving I phoned as instructed and was told someone would collect me but no fee was mentioned and when booking it had stated that it was included. I illustrated my frustrations with this and Ronel agreed to only charge a one way fee rather than return but it nonetheless left me with an unpleasant feeling.

All in all a lovely stay, it was just such a shame about the ending as until that point I had thoroughly enjoyed it and had felt extremely well looked after.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deluxetrolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed at many different types of lodging in my world travels and I can say without reservation that this place is the most memorable. I had not planned to stay in Jo'berg but was traveling with a standby ticket for a flight to Atlanta leaving once a day...I ended up staying there 4 nights. Ronel and Cornelius were so helpful and patient, it was truly amazing be the beneficiary of such generosity. I felt like I was visiting old friends in their warm and friendly home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaitraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Close to the airport, friendly and very helpful, and close to shops if you are self catering.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

This place is definitely in my top 5 Hostels in the last 11 month of traveling. Ronel runs that place in such a nice way, that you feel immediatley at home when she starts to show you arround and talk to you! Her place is very close to the airport and when i needed a lift to somewhere, she took me there or found another way to help me. When i´m coming back to Jo´burg, that will be the one and only pick i would make! Clean rooms, nice common area and everything you need!
Furthermore it´s close to a to a casino and a shoppingmall, where you can spend some time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan123HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
3.0 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
14.1 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#1 of 90 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#6 of 90 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#11 of 90 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Terrylin Backpackers Hostel
Terrylin Backpackers Hostel
#2 of 24 in Kempton Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.2 mi away
Emerald Guest House
Emerald Guest House
#10 of 63 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Backpackers

Property: Lakeview Backpackers
Address: 39 Porto Amelia Road | Bonaero Park 1622, Kempton Park, Johannesburg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lakeview Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing