We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House
Ranked #78 of 305 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have been staying over at Gooseberry on my business trip during the past 18 months. I have the benefit of choosing wherever I want to stay but since my first stay over here, I have not sought accommodation anywhere else. Management and staff are just wonderful- welcoming, courteous and very professional. The rooms are great-comfortable and well maintained. The little touches just adds to more homely feel. Breakfast is a must-and staff are willing to accommodate your little quirky requests. The surroundings are splendid- the lushness adds considerable to de-stress after a hard day at work.
Evert trip to Goosebery is a pleasure-and the only time that I have been disappointed is when I couldn't stay there when it was taken over by the SA Idols 2013 contestants for over two months! And by the accolades written both by celebrity guests and ordinary folk like me on the breakfast venue walls bears testimony that Gooseberry caters for every taste and need.
Thank you Susan and the wonderful staff for making every stay very special!!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms- one can appreciate the beauty of the surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junaid333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Our dear guest, we know you by now so well and appreciate the loyalty and the time you took to write a review even in your busy schedule. For us, the compliment of ' Home away from home' is one of the best compliments we could get. That is our aim with the guest house: to be the second home for our guests. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Staff and management very curtious and the facility was very clean.The management welcomed us by acknowledging our presents on the notice board.Our business venue was nearby because we had planned it accordingly,I liked the security feature in place..

Room Tip: Higher floors are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AIC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Our dear guest, we know you by now so well and appreciate the loyalty and the time you took to write a review even in your busy schedule. For us, the compliment of ' Home away from home' is one of the best compliments we could get. That is our aim with the guest house: to be the second home for our guests. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

What a wonderfully relaxing stay. Warm, friendly staff who greet you by name, serene surroundings and comfortable rooms.

Warm breakfast was a new delight each morning with vanilla coffee!

It's often the attention to the little details which can make a place really great!

Thank you Susan and Team xx

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you so much Leigh for your review. Yes, little things are so important to us. Big things consists out of little things. As Mother Teresa said: 'We cannot do great things, but we can do small things with great love.' .Thanks for making us your place to stay . Regards, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not the best stay I have had. The rooms are clean and OK but very dark and basic to say the least. Did not see a soul after check in. The address is totally ambiguous and initially I went to the wrong suburb 30mins away. Joburg has some great guest houses but this is just not one of them. TV is ancient and it is just not up to the mark.
I don't like leaving anything other than positive, but this is not my bag,May be jus me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecatGauteng, Manager at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Lisa, I appreciate your frank review as we are very open for any feedback.
It comes to me as quite a surprise as most of the other reviews received were none but positive.

Our guest house has an old world charm and the decor also reflects this and cannot be compared to the modern approach as one would typically get in hotels. I am not sure in which room you were but in my opinion all of them are not dark.

Regarding the tv set, which are in perfect working order as we test them every day, which did not meet your standards: We are in the process of upgrading all the tv’s – you stayed then in a room where it has not been yet upgraded.

The complete address , is 44 5th Ave , Linden, Johannesburg and as far as I know is listed as that on all the websites:
It is important to type Linden in as city , when using the GPS, and not Johannesburg- there are so many 5th Avenues in Johannesburg in different suburbs.

You mentioned that you never saw anyone since you booked in. Many visitors prefer to be left alone especially after a grueling day of meetings and socials at the office and we therefore respect this need for privacy. That is why we provide you with your own remote control so that you can come and go as you wish.

I realize that we have not met with your expectations and if you would like to, you can email me some suggestions as to how you would have preferred things to be. We are always willing to learn and improve. Kind regards, Susan Berry - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent friendly staff, superb accomodation and a most accomodating hostess/manager! Food is excellent, (but warm breakfast is not what you expect although it is lovely, so check first). Find local restaurants as no meals available during the day. Superb beauty salon for the ladies on site!

Room Tip: double rooms wiith balcony the best! Get Sat Nav / GPS BEFORE arrival and take down Manager mobile n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a little gem, tucked away in the heart of Johannesburg. Old world charm, very friendly staff & beautiful surroundings. After a good night's rest the breakfast was scrumptious, and every request was met, even coffee in the garden whilst conducting business.

Room Tip: For the fit ones, choose an upstairs room - great view of lush garden & pool, active birdlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

warm and friendly welcome; efficient reception, beautiful setting and decor; great room with excellent bed; delicious breakfast and understanding owner when we explained that we didn't know the free wi fi technicalities. All and all a great place to stay. Sarah has been pivotal in operations

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tachka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. On arrival, guests normally receive a free voucher for the Wi-Fi with the login code. But with you, somehow it slipped through and our apologies for that. We made all the staff attent once again to make sure that our guests receive their wi-fi voucher on arrival. For us it is important that the guests should not have to ask for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
18.5 mi away
Malandela Guest Manor
Malandela Guest Manor
#21 of 305 in Johannesburg
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Purple View B&B
The Purple View B&B
#82 of 305 in Johannesburg
9 reviews
8.6 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 305 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
6.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House

Address: 44 - 5th Avenue | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $41 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, 4-star Guest House, with an artistic touch, in a quiet, charming neighbourhood of Johannesburg. The 11 en-suite rooms each have their own character. Within walking distance of the upcoming, trendy centre of Linden with its restaurants, coffee shops and grocery shop. Within a radius of 2km: many restaurants, shops and big shopping mall , Cresta. Linden is centrally situated in Johannesburg.Easy accessible from the highways. Close to many restaurants and shopping centres and many attractions. 10 km from Sandton, 5km from Rosebank . Unforgettable day tours can be arranged to Apartheids Museum, Soweto, Rhino and Lion Park and many more. Free Wi-Fi access and secure parking on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing