We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and stylish haven in an excellent area of Johannesburg.”
Review of Acorns on 8th

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorns on 8th
Ranked #63 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I stayed with the wonderful Pam and Wiggie several times over a 6 month period, and I couldn't have wished for a better base between my excursions into different African countries. Both the Cottage and the larger Apartment have a sense of luxury about them, but the rate is very reasonable.
The leafy outlook of the Cottage was particularly pleasant, and what a delight to enjoy breakfast on the private terrace. It is compact and well designed so it was easy to relax there for several days at a time when needed. I found it was wonderful to be able to cook for myself between trips where I was eating out for weeks at a time. Having private use of the pool was also fantastic on a warm summer's day.
The Apartment had a more contemporary feel to it. The greater space was appreciated when my daughter stayed with me.
The location of Acorns in Parktown North meant that it was a pleasant walk to Rosebank, but there were also a variety of other shopping strips even closer. I found it easy to be self sufficient on the occasions that I was without a car. The quiet location made relaxation and a great sleep effortless achievements.
Both units were spotlessly clean and serviced daily. I was exceptionally well looked after.
Importantly, and quite uniquely, Pam and Wiggie love Johannesburg and I was delighted to follow their lead and to look at the city with a growing appreciation for its many positive attributes. Thanks to them both I would now happily return to Johannesburg. Their advice also on the neighbouring countries was based on a deep knowledge and I found it to be invaluable. As regular travellers to Botswana, Namibia and Lesotho they have a wealth of pointers for their guests.
I cannot speak too highly of the accommodation and the service provided by Pam and Wiggie, and my sojourns with them are some of my best memories of my African experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertnsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scadoxus, Owner at Acorns on 8th, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

Thanks D
It's always exciting for us when we have someone stay who is so keen to discover and explore what we think is a wonderful continent.
Through our travels we've learnt so much, and were really pleased we could share this with you, to help with your travels.
Great being "part" of your adventure, and those enduring memories of you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed for almost three weeks while looking for a house to rent for the coming two years which we would live in this exciting city. What a great luck we had to stay with Pam and Wiggie! They helped us so fabulously with the many little and larger questions you have in a place you are new. Always helpful, never obtrusive they are the perfect hosts and proudly South African.
Our little family loved their spotless and spacious flat which is decorated with beautiful crafts from all over Africa. You can see, the owners covered quite a lot of places with their famous Land Rover. Finally, the tranquil garden with the unusual large and pristine pool is a great place to relax from the buzz of the city. All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scadoxus, Owner at Acorns on 8th, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

Danke schön S and B!
We really enjoyed have you stay, and being able share with you the Johannesburg we know and love.
Memories of your stay will be with us forever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita33187907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.7 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#37 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
783 reviews
18 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 66 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns on 8th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns on 8th

Address: 12 Eighth Avenue | Parktown North, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $60 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and spend a night with us, in one of our three comfortable and stylishly furnished self-contained units, each with their own private entrance. We're situated in a secure and relaxed environment, in the tree-lined and sought after up-market suburb of Parktown North - one of the "Parks" in the northern suburbs of Johannesburg. The garden cottage opens out onto an attractive and tranquil indigenous garden with a large pool. The apartment opens out onto a spacious first floor balcony. Come and spend a night, or more, with us. We now can also offer a budget unit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing