We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience in Johannesburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
Ranked #41 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Experience in Johannesburg”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Cherry Tree bed and breakfast and recommend it to anyone that is traveling to or through Johannesburg. Highlights of my stay included:
- A warm, clean, comfortable room that was stocked with the amenities that I required as a business traveler (wireless internet access, coffee, a fridge, tv, and ironing supplies).
- Delicious breakfast options; I always left in the morning well-fueled for the rest of my day.
- Wonderful conversation with Marelyn and Ron. They have been in Johannesburg for a long time and are very familiar with the history, and key locations to visit, dine, etc.

Overall the Cherry Tree B&B was a great place to stay and I will definitely be returning when my business brings me back to South Africa! Ron and Marelyn are wonderful hosts that go out of their way to ensure comfort and customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_In_Sudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
14
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swellendam, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

In these days where discerning travelers need an instantly caring home from home, to land in the room after a long flight and the fight through the traffic, was heaven sent.

The lush garden attached to the room afforded an extra luxury in this suburb of Johannesburg and to be wakened by the cries of the Hadeda birds every morning was amazing.

The venue is close to a variety of places to eat, shop and a little further the Cresta shopping Mall.

The bed was comfortable and the only gripe was the noise of the extractor fan in the bathroom - but then I did not spend a huge amount of time there!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Marelyn and Ron are a wonderful couple, who treat their guests like family. They have a great breakfast spread, and lots of stories to tell. This is a bed and breakfast so it is a basic no-frills service, but the rooms have high ceilings, an open patio in the back. There was a water fountain just outside my room, which was really soothing and comforting especially when taking afternoon naps. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a low-cost option for trips to Jo'berg!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gautambastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Thank you very much for your warm and nice hospitality and kindness, Ron and Marelyn!
We returned back here safely, but we really missed you and your country... I would really recommend my friends to visit your lovely cottage. The cottage's security is arranged well as I could feel secure and comfortable. You helped us greatly... I will try to send our pictures to you soon. Hisashi told me he loved your cottage, too. Hope you could come to our country, Japan! Miss you! With hugs, Miho

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miporin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This is in fact my third trip to Johannesburg and stay at the Cherry Tree .Johannesburg not thought off by the foreign visitor as a holiday destination,it more a stepping off place to other destinations in South Africa. Think again Johannesburg is a place that has a lot to offer many places to go. Cherry Tree Cottage Situated in the beatifull Northern Suburb of Linden is an ideal temporary base to tour Johannesburg.. The breakast in the morning is a good standard. Ron and Marelyn also give good touring and travel advice. about the city. Shuttle taxi service to and fro airport for non drivers like myself. In the evening you can order take aways from the order pamplets in your room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy056Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

we spent four nights at Cherry Tree during the World Cup 2010. The location is ok and the place is clean. The owner of the B&B is a miserable person. If you are not awake by 8 am you can expect that she will bang on your door to get you out of bed. The breakfast was awful....dry cereal, packaged muffins and bread. She gives the option of having one "steamed egg". The price of this B&B was more than double others in the area and half as good. Their recommendations to drivers are also not to be trusted as they are more than double the price of most drivers. This place would have ruined our trip had we spent additional nights here. I have never posted anything negative on tripadvisor but thought that some people should be made aware. We also spent time at OneSandra B&B and Sandton Slippers (both in the same vincinity). These two places are nicer, less expensive and much more friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.7 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#95 of 297 in Johannesburg
1 reviews
1.3 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#18 of 297 in Johannesburg
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Moonflower Cottages
Moonflower Cottages
#4 of 115 in Johannesburg
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Life on 3rd
Life on 3rd
#21 of 297 in Johannesburg
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jubilee Lodge Guesthouse
Jubilee Lodge Guesthouse
#1 of 55 in Randburg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Cottage B&B

Property: Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
Address: 57 Ninth Street | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of South African hospitality wherever you go and experience our wide variety of fascinating cultures and local traditions. Let yourself be drawn into the rhythm and soul of Africa, see the country's natural wonders, have a close encounter with our wildlife and make an unforgettable journey through our ancient and recent past. Make the most of your time with us...... Feel welcome, relax and enjoy your stay.This small, personally run, 3 star B&B lies in the serene country setting of Linden that is centrally located to Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and just a short drive from Randburg and the Johannesburg CBD. This hidden gem is surrounded by Delta park, Emmerentia Dam and Botanical Gardens. We offer a tranquil environment & country feel only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the city life which suits both the corporate and leisure traveller. Cherry Tree Cottage offers good value for money. It is comfortable, safe and secure, and centrally situated. The four, twin or king bed suites, can accommodate up to eight guests. The bedrooms are spacious, light & airy, & you can relax in the morning on your own private patio overlooking lush gardens. Enjoy a substantial, wholesome, continental breakfast with that special touch. Feel welcome, make yourself at home, and enjoy your stay. Very close to Melville, Cresta, Randburg, Sandton, Hyde Park and Rosebank, Parktown, Parkhurst, Greenside and Parkview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Tree Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing