We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm & peaceful place to stay close to main business areas”
Review of Ashdown House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashdown House
Ranked #43 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed in AshDown House for almost 2 weeks during a rescent business trip to Johannesburg and it was like a home far from home. The first thing which I liked about the place was its silence - much needed after a long and tiring day. The rooms were plush, large and comfortable with ample amenities to spoil you with luxury. I would strongly recommend experiencing this beautiful place, be it a official or family trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nalin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Nalin

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House! It was lovely having you and Krishnendu stay with us, and your long stay enabled you to really experience AshDown House and all it has to offer. The peace and tranquility definitely helps you relax after a long day at work! We are pleased that you enjoyed the Luxury Suites. Thank you for recommending us –hopefully we will see you again when you are back in Johannesburg!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 123 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ashdown house is a fantastic establishment! The service is excellent, the location great and the bedrooms incredibly well appointed. The breakfasts were expansive and every taste is catered for in both food and drink. There are also a variety of value adds which enhance the whole experience including the "honesty" bar, outside entertainment area and lovely garden. I was particularly struck by the attention to detail in all aspects of the construction and operation of Ashdown house from channelling electrical cables IN the wall for wall mounted heaters (to completely hide cabling) to the surreptitious provision of bloody mary constituents at breakfast to assist the business traveller in recovering from that late night business meeting :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Lazyant

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at AshDown House –thank you for the stunning review! Thank you for mentioning our breakfasts and the wide variety of choice, as well as the Bloody Mary, which you never know when you might need! Ensuring that all cabling was chased into the wall is just one of the examples of our attention to detail. Thank you once again for your wonderful review –we look forward to welcoming you back to AshDown House in the future!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Loved our time at the Ashdown House! The rooms were not only spotless but well appointed and blessed with a lovely view. The breakfast every morning was well stocked and tastefully presented with a combination of a cold buffet and hot plates. Our stay coincided with the flowering of a tree that permeated the air with a delightful, if not intoxicating smell, that made the time sitting out on the patio even more lovely. The overall value of our stay was great and there is no question that Ashdown House will be revisited on future trips to the Johannesburg area. No doubt the highlight of the stay was the attention to detail and service that was shared by everyone of the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InsoucianceAbroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Gillian and Peter

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of AshDown House –and what a wonderful Review! The wisteria only flowers for about two weeks of the year so you were very fortunate to experience it. Thank you for uploading the wonderful photographs. You really did capture the detail and quality of AshDown House. We look forward to welcoming you and your lovely wife back to AshDown House!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We only have fond memories of our stay at Ashdown House...We would love to visit again!!The room was luxurious and comfortable.We had a wonderful view of the immaculate garden and appreciated being spoiled..The attention to detail is second to none.We would recommend this guesthouse to anyone who appreciates elegance and opulence...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Sandra

Thank you so much for giving us a 10 out of 10 score! We really appreciate the feedback. We are really pleased that you appreciated the upgrade and felt spoilt! Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We found Ashdown House to be very comfortable and the attention to detail was second to none! Staff were friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was wonderful! All in all a luxurious place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear 49Mal

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of AshDown House. Thank you for noting the attention paid to detail, as a lot of thought has gone into all the aspects of the guesthouse. We hope to see you back again for your next stay in South Africa!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at Ashdown House.
The room was superb, very clean and warm.
The bathrooms are a luxurious treat.
The bed was very comfortable and a had a great quality of sleep.
Thanks to Chantal and Nicolene for their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsram9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Amsram9

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of Ashdown House! We appreciate you giving us a 10 out of 10 score! You have pointed out the most important aspects of any guesthouse and we strive to be “excellent” every day.
It was wonderful meeting you and we hope to see you back again soon!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A very lovely and elegant guest house situated in the heart of exclusive Bryanston district in Johannesburg is where we stayed one night before our flight to start our African safari at Kruger, Zambia and Botswana and another night before we fly out of Africa to come home.

The room which overlook the lovely garden was absolutely beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was equally spacious and lovely. the room has everything one will probably need. It was very peaceful and we got our very much needed good night sleep on a very comfortable bed.

From check in to check out everything went smoothly. The staff were very friendly, and provided us with excellent service. they gave attention to detail and was always there to help. They accommodated our request to store the luggage that we can not take on safari which we are very grateful.They went over and beyond our expectation and were truly amazing! Adele and rest of the staff were truly awesome.

The breakfast was delicious and the dinner they prepared for us was really very good!

We wish we could have stayed longer and hopefully someday soon we can!

It was Almost a year ago on 09/12/2012/ & 09/20/2012 when we stayed at this absolutely beautiful place!

Nanette & Stuart Duzan,
Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

I

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms one on the first floor and one on the second floor and we think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Racoonia

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House –even after a year. We appreciate you giving us a 10 out of 10 score! You have written such a lovely description of AshDown House. We always try to do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. I will be sure to tell the staff how great you thought the service was. Thank you for all the wonderful comments. We hope to see you back again for another South African trip!

Kind regards
The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
7.6 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
8.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
10.8 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#36 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
783 reviews
12.2 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 66 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown House

Address: 14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $150 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashdown House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashdown House is an upmarket, exclusive guesthouse in Bryanston, Johannesburg. Relax at the pool, enjoy a drink at the "Club House" before retiring to one of the beautifully appointed rooms. Unwind in 5 star luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ashdown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing