We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed a luxury guest house”
Review of Ashdown House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashdown House
Ranked #40 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Indeed a luxury guest house”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The warm welcome we received was exceptional, The rooms were very clean, top class with their white and earthy colours bedding. Their furniture, the theme and everything was just amazing. Most of all "the breakfast" was scrumptious choosing from "the chalkboab" something different and out of norm.
I would go on the whole day with this review mentioning how superb it is and their friendly Staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Tumi
Thank you for reviewing AshDown House with such lovely comments. It was wonderful having you and your partner here over the weekend for a “getaway” stay. The staff at AshDown House will be pleased to see their hard work is paying off and that guests are noticing how perfectly clean the rooms are. AshDown House takes a huge pride in preparing delicious breakfasts cooked with love!
We look forward to your next stay at AshDown House and hopefully by then we will have improved enough to be honoured with full points!

Kindest regards
Chantal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
38
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Enjoyed my stay to say the least. Staff were helpfull and friendly.Allways a smile to great you at breakfast and a wonderful homecoming experience in evening after a long day in the saddle.

Room comfortable and all that is required is there Preferred the uncluttered linear design of the TV lounge which is more user friendly for a business working environment yet very comfortable.
Location out of the way but very quiet and close to the main feeder routes to the major business centres. Very secure.

The staff really made my stay after nearly 2 months 'on the road'

Have given my personal recommendation to my company MACE Management Services

Room Tip: away from the Lapa area.to minimise effect of noisy guests. Not a frequent occurance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear John
Thank you for such a fantastic review. It was an absolute pleasure having you at AshDown House for over 3 weeks!–At AshDown House we always try to go the extra mile for each and every guest, so that their stay with us is a “homecoming experience”. We love the fact that you appreciated the clean modern look and solid mahogany furniture in our rooms.

Hopefully, by now you have settled into your cottage and living out of a suitcase is a thing of the past. Thank you so much for recommending us to your Company and hopefully we will see you again one day.

Warmest regards
Chantal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here on two seperate occasions recently and reluctantly to fit in with other travel plans. What a delight this guest house is. We read excellent reviews on tripadvisor, were collected from the airport by Prince ( who is charming), drove us into the safe and secure gated community the house is in - then met the efficient and charming Adelle. On our arrival into our room were all the extras you expect from a luxury highly rated stay PLUS freshly ground coffee, fruit and home made biscuits and complimentary sherry. Even candles, matches and bath crystals to go with all the bathroom accessories, shampoos, body lotions etc. We opted for the evening meal which was delicious on both occasions and met Chantelle the evening manager (and cook of at least one of the meals) and were as impressed by her as we are by Adelle. Their pride in their work and this place is commendable - we really felt like we were returning home. Thanks to all concerned - we're intending to visit again!

Room Tip: Make sure you enjoy the complimentary nibbles and meet other guests in the bar before your evening m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi Allen.G49
Thank you so much for the wonderful review on AshDown House. We all pride ourselves with ensuring that every guests experience at AshDown House is a memorable one. It was really great to hear that Adele and Chantal looked after you and took pride in what they do. I am sure that the memories of your amazing trip through Africa will be remembered and talked about for many years to come.It was really lovely meeting you both and we all really hope that you will be back someday and hopefully it will still feel like you are returning home!
Thanks again and warmest regards
Glynis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a wonderful guest house, with amazing attention to detail, even offering press coffee and gowns in the rooms. Although our November stay was leisure based, we do a fair amount of business travel and can only say that Ashdown House provides for every type of traveller. The accommodation provides for all comforts, the rooms are spacious, luxurious and private, service and cleanliness were excellent, the breakfasts were wonderful and the security commendable. We can only recommend this as excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Jenpen

Thank you so much for taking the time to review AshDown House. You have written a beautiful description of what makes Ashdown House “excellent”. We thank you for noticing details like the gowns and plunger coffee in the rooms, which are just a few of the things we believe are essential to making the stay at AshDown House more complete for our guests. All our staff, including the security guards, strives daily to achieve service excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed for a weekend (2 nights) at Ashdown house. The staff was absolutely adorable, a great attention was made to details, especially in the room which was very luxurious indeed and had a private terrace on which i enjoyed the sun for hours!
The atmosphere is very relaxing and i immediately felt as if at home.
And the breakfast was delicious!
I will definitely come back to Ashdown house when I go back to Jo'burg, and recommend this place to anyone looking for the perfect spot to spend some time around Jo'burg.

Room Tip: Room 1 & 2 are awesome, with their private terraces :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Nora

I am so pleased that you had a peaceful and relaxing stay at AshDown House –exactly our aim for each of our guests! And thank you for giving us a top score; the staff really appreciates your positive response. Thank you for appreciating the small details and niceties that make all our rooms feel luxurious. We always say our breakfasts are cooked with love and that is what makes them delicious! We look forward to accommodating you again next time you are back in Sunny South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We really loved our stay at AshDown House, the attention to detail is remarkable!
We absolutely loved our stay and you would never believe you in JHB with the setup of teh place.
I would definitely recommend AshDown House and would surely use it again when I'm up in JHB the next time
Well done to the staff for a lovely stay with a lovely breakfast as well

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Clive
Thank you for taking the time to review Ashdown House. We are so pleased that you noticed the attention to small details we try to achieve on a daily basis. Our staff strives continuously to be as caring as they can be, so always appreciate positive feedback. Our breakfasts are one of the most important elements, we believe, in ensuring that you feel completely satisfied with your stay. It was an absolute pleasure accommodating you, and we look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I wish we could stay longer. this was the best resort i've been to quot some time. it's peaceful, clean and beautiful. most of all the service was 110%. Thank-you (~~,)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Neo

Our 110% service was an absolute pleasure!
It was wonderful having you, even if just for one night. Thank you for giving us such a top score! The staff at AshDown House will be pleased to see that their hard work is being noticed by the guests. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.3 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Annabel's of Bryanston
Annabel's of Bryanston
#1 of 3 in Bryanston
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
#5 of 15 in Bryanston
25 reviews
1.8 mi away
A Peaceful Retreat Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Tiree B&B
Tiree B&B
#1 of 15 in Bryanston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown House

Property: Ashdown House
Address: 14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashdown House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashdown House is an upmarket, exclusive guesthouse in Bryanston, Johannesburg. Relax at the pool, enjoy a drink at the "Club House" before retiring to one of the beautifully appointed rooms. Unwind in 5 star luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ashdown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing