We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocked!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber Rose Country Estate

Amber Rose Country Estate
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amber Rose Country Estate
Ranked #25 of 290 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocked!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

I cannot believe the lack of integrity and poor communication of this place. After confirming that they have a self catering apartment for me, and me saying I'd like to go ahead and confirm the booking, I get an email that they can no longer give me the apartment, but two rooms instead. I then request a description of the rooms facilities, get no resply and had to call after them to further confirm that I am not happy about this last minute change but will take the two rooms and ask for confirmation so that I can proceed with payment. I also explained that I have two overseas guest in my party and have to keep them in the loop as they are making the payment, which they said would be fine. Not even an hour or two later I then get a response via voicemail saying sorry the rooms have now been taken. I subsequently turned other bookings away to take this one and as a result now have no accommodation.
It seems with the world cup upon us, all they are after is the next buck for their beds and it seems they have forgetton about customer service/follow up etc. and a long term view on who will actually be filling their rooms once the tourists have left??

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank leadingservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honeystraw, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, July 4, 2010
To Leading Service

AMBER ROSE REVIEW – TRIP ADVISOR

Dear Madam

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Amber Rose on Trip advisor, we are however shocked at the experience you had received. We would like to thoroughly investigate your complaint and request that you e-mail us your contact details so that we may contact you and find out exactly whom you had dealt with and take the necessary actions to prevent this type of experience in the future.

At Amber Rose our guests are our number one priority and with each and every one of them we aim to establish long term friendships of which we have to date been very successful. In receiving feedback such as yours means that we have failed in the promise we have made to our guests and ourselves.

We again would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Amber Rose and we look forward to communicating with you to prevent anything similar to your experience occurring again.

Respectfully yours in hospitality,

Mr Donovan Muirhead
Chief Executive Officer
Ntshongolanga Management Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
28
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Amazing place 5 minutes away from Montecasino Hotel and Casino, very nice, roomy and clean place with great staff and very friendly owners. Beautiful terrace to have tea or breakfast with a view of the gardens. Good location, with local attractions near by: Lesedi village, Lion Park, Cheeta research center, Hot air ballooning ... etc. The rooms are air conditioned and have huge bath along with the shower. A good and tasty breakfast and in the evening you can enjoy the common lounge, reading a book or watching TV (if you dont want to do it in your own room).
A place to truly relax, would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaAndBarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

We had the privilege of staying at Amber Rose Country Estate for the second time in three years and enjoyed our second stay as much as the first.

From our arrival to our departure (early on Sunday morning) we felt truly at home. Mackenzie assisted with our check in and Brave drew the short stick and had to serve us breakfast at 07.00 – all with a big smile on his face. The staff at Amber Rose are to be complimented!

As for the accommodation – everything is of the very best quality from guest amenities to an ironing board and iron in the cupboard. Lovely comfortable beds with cotton percale linen ensured that we had an excellent night’s rest. The general furnishings and fittings are top quality and add to the relaxing ambiance of the place.

This property caters mainly for the corporate market but anybody wishing to stay for a short leisure trip would not be disappointed. Close to the main highways and excellent restaurants, Amber Rose is situated in an area away from the maddening crowd of Johannesburg!

Congratulations to Ron & Lynne – you continue to shine!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnysnaHideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
3.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#14 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
12.7 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#27 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#6 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
10.2 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#18 of 290 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ashdown House
Ashdown House
#34 of 290 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Rose Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Rose Country Estate

Property: Amber Rose Country Estate
Address: 15 Zandspruit Road | Farmall, Chartwell West, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Rose Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandton, on the slopes of the Chartwell Hills, horse country, just North of Fourways, Amber Rose Country Estate, is ideal for a peaceful country getaway, for the discerning traveller or business man…. The garden, a place of refuge, invites you to explore its beauty. You may even hear the lions and hyenas from the nearby Lion Park while sipping a refreshing cocktail on the patio. Absorb the peace and tranquillity from one of the many shaded benches after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Amber Rose Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing