We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amber Rose - 5 Day Stay”

Amber Rose Country Estate
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Rose Country Estate
Ranked #25 of 289 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amber Rose - 5 Day Stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had to do a 5 day course in Bryanston and needed a place close by but also due to the length of stay wanted something clean, neat and relaxing. Amber Rose has a lovely country feel with amazing views but yet I only had to travel 11km to Bryanston to do my course. My room was perfect, clean, neat and beautifully decorated. Service and hospitality were great and I would 100% recommend this venue to anyone. The only negative was the road driving in was a bit tough on my A3 but probably not an issue in any other car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberRoseCountryEst, Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Courtney
thanks so much for taking the trouble to post your feedback on your stay at Amber Rose. You gave us a score of 34/ 35, an outstanding rating which we appreciate very much as you had a real opportunity to evaluate the guest house and the service rendered by the staff by staying for 5 days B&B and dinners.
1 point short of perfect for the road condition which is understandable, progress is being made on the road, although slow, by the local rate payers who are tarring it, as Johanneburg City has neglected its responsibility.
we look forward to hosting you or your family in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
30
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed 1 night here and the people and service were excellent.Had breakfast and dinner and both meals were excellent.The staff and Lynn the owner were very helpful.Well worth the stay if you are in that area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stan168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Stan
thanks for taking the trouble to give us feedback on your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you and your wife . We are pleased that your experience was so positive, pleasant and comfortable. We appreciate that you found both quality and excellence in the meals served. Thank you for 10/10 vote.
Kind regards
Lynne and staff of Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Was a wonderful stay - home away from home!
Staff were very friendly & helpful.
Room was comfortable and ensured a good nights sleep!
Breakfast was just right a balance of fresh food and a hot breakfast!
We will be back !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Lara
you really enjoyed your stay with us by rating us a perfect 10. thank you ! it is most appreciated.
All the Amber Rose staff love their jobs and try their most to make a guests stay perfect in every way - Comfortable, pleasant surroundings, a clean room, with luxurious furnishings and good food.

we look forward to seeing you again shortly.

kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Was a nice place to stay. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and the grounds were nice and quiet.

Only problem for us was we couldn't get wireless in our room (signal too weak). We chose this hotel as it listed free wireless in room. I had to sit on the step outside reception at night or take computer in the main room during the day to get to emails that we were waiting on etc.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to main reception for better internet signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightshade81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Nightshade
thank you for taking the trouble to write about your experience. we have had the Wi Fi , coverage reviewed, the technicians found that the station for your area, was burnt out by lightening due to a storm the previous day. Amber Rose in is a lightening belt and during the summer we are prone to severe lightening. South Africa is still very dependant on the National service provider for internet, which also limits the band width and slows us down.

although we are exposed to the repeated threat f lightening we believe customers value the wi fi service and we will continue to offer the service, even though at times with difficulty.
we will strive to improve as new technology is made available.
kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Amber Rose. The room was clean and tidy and the grounds were nice, and the staff were helpful.

Our only problem was we couldn't get internet access in our room which was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel (free wireless in room). So I had to sit on the step outside the main reception area late at night or inside when the door was open to check email etc. that we were waiting on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bronwen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Bronwen
thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding our wi fi in your room. we have had the wi fi technicians out to review our wi fi status in all our rooms. Perhaps you will recall that the grounds were wet after rain. we had had a sever thunderstorm and lightening. the lightening had burnt out 2 wi fi stations on the estate. The result was poor coverage for your area. The other problem that we have is that we are reliant on a Telkom Wymax service , the best we can get for the area, and the speed does slow down especially in the afternoons. to date we have improved the service but we are dependant on our National service provider.

We are glad that you experienced your stay as positive despite the Wi Fi problem and were still able to be connected all over the world 24/7, although in the main guest house lounge.

We look forward to hosting you again one day should you come back to Johannesburg and the Fourways area.

kind regards
Lynne Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The manager was very nice and here to help. Great place to saty. The accomocation is peacefull. Pool was clean and garden also.15 mim from montecasino. Which is not too far. I recommend it if you are looking for something quit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gildas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Gaborone,
Mr Gildas, It was a pleasure to welcome you to Amber Rose Country Estate.
we pride ourselves on our standards of cleanliness, and staff service, hoping, as you mentioned that our guests feel special on our beautiful estate in the country just north of Fourways.

we hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My company had its annual 3 day conference at Amber Rose Country Estate. About half an hour from the madness of Sandton you are in the countryside with wonderful views of rolling hills with shops and restaurants a short drive away.
The rooms are lovely with large comfortable beds, soft duvets and best of all airconditioning which was a necessity as it was 37 degrees during our stay. There is a sparkling pool to cool off in and a very beautiful garden to enjoy. Its only 10 minutes from Lanseria Airport and if your business is on this side of Johannesburg or you are looking for a breakaway not too far from home then this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKvisitor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Our Valued Client,
thank you for the feedback you posted on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to host your conference group at Amber Rose Country Estate. We are very aware that the cost of a conference needs to add value to the executive. As a result, we especially pay attention to detail and offer personal service so that the maximum benefit can be obtained. Good planning and efficiency allow for a seamless and enjoyable experience. Amber Rose offers an secluded, relaxed and beautiful setting for conferences and guests.

We hope to see you back at Amber Rose soon
you are most welcome
kind regards
Lynne, Jason and the Amber Rose team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#15 of 289 in Johannesburg
128 reviews
9.8 mi away
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
#36 of 289 in Johannesburg
66 reviews
12.7 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#28 of 289 in Johannesburg
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 289 in Johannesburg
127 reviews
10.2 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#17 of 289 in Johannesburg
45 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ashdown House
Ashdown House
#37 of 289 in Johannesburg
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Rose Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Rose Country Estate

Property: Amber Rose Country Estate
Address: 15 Zandspruit Road | Farmall, Chartwell West, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Rose Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandton, on the slopes of the Chartwell Hills, horse country, just North of Fourways, Amber Rose Country Estate, is ideal for a peaceful country getaway, for the discerning traveller or business man…. The garden, a place of refuge, invites you to explore its beauty. You may even hear the lions and hyenas from the nearby Lion Park while sipping a refreshing cocktail on the patio. Absorb the peace and tranquillity from one of the many shaded benches after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amber Rose Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing