We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northcliff Manor Guest House
Ranked #29 of 305 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I wholeheartedly recommend this guesthouse. I'm a New Yorker who frequently travels to South Africa for work. For this reason, I've stayed in many hotels and guesthouses in JoBurg and Pretoria and this was, without a doubt, the best experience I've had. I stayed for 3 nights in August, 2013. Apart from the charming location and guest house itself, I was most impressed by the owners who are truly nice and affectionate to their guests - and went out of their way to accommodate me and other friends who have stayed there. They are great, and rare, people and I hope anyone travelling to JoBurg gets to experience North Cliff Manor.

Room Tip: The most beautiful room is the honeymoon suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Northcliff Manor is beautifully and tastefully furnished with antiques and the guest rooms are superbly appointed. Everything one could want is provided - hot water bottles, rusks for early morning tea, chocolates on the bed, etc. The breakfast was excellent and we shall definitely stay here again. We shall highly recommend this to all our friends.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Porscheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in December 2012 for 2 nights, 4 adults and 2 under 2 yrs old at the time.
The guest house was beautiful, rooms so spacious.
Felt very welcome and secure there.
Would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in a guest house.
The owners were lovely and could not have been more helpful and kind to our children.
Wonderful few day there, would turn if we come back to joburg.

Room Tip: All rooms we stayed in were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was my first trip to South Africa and I was a little nervous to say the least! My client booked me into Northcliff Manor and I had no idea what to expect...

The place is amazing. So much character from the 1930's design to the artwork displayed around the rooms. Jonny and Ilse are the perfect hosts and the are well laid out and very comfortable.

I can't wait to return next year - maybe with my family in tow...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianthemodeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

i stayed at the Manor for a few days while on business, what a lovely experience!!!!
the house was warm, secure and the owners were friendly and accommodating - HOME away from home!! i received service that one doesn't always get in SA, which is just wonderful! the breakfast was AMAZING, everything about the stay was just perfect - i would recommend the place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey lee Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The most beautiful Manor House, full of genuine antiques, super one on one service from Johnny and Ilse, best breakfast. Nothing was to much trouble for them, so clean fresh and very comfortable. We will always stay there when we go up to Johannesburg and nowhere else.
Beautiful view as well!! Staying there takes the shock out of going to Johannesburg. They were prepared to drop us off for shopping and to restaurants. Very caring.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is the best. You have a lounge as well and the beautiful view over Johannesburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marguerite202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

On the lookout for a weekend break in Johannesburg we found this amazing guesthouse located on the leafy slopes of Johannesburg's landmark Nothcliff. Build in the 1930's as a wedding gift for Helen Suzman South Africa's leading white anti-apartheid activist, Northcliff Manor really has this old time charm that is so rare to find in the City of Gold. The wood-paneled entrance hall, the breakfast room and the guest rooms are very tastefully decorated by Ilse, the owner/manager who was very knowledgeable in explaining the history of the Northcliff and the guesthouse. From Northcliff Manor we went to explore interesting places in the city such as the Saturday market in Braamfontein (Juta Street) and the (Sunday-) Market on Main in the newly developed Maboeng District. We also went on to visit the roof-top bars at the Radisson Blu in Sandton and the "54 on Bath" in Rosebank.
Breakfast was great and we enjoyed sitting on the terrace of this beautiful charming guesthouse to have a coffee and just chat.
This is an ideal place to stay in Johannesburg if you are looking for tranquility and hate the standard hotel environments.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
4.5 mi away
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
#6 of 305 in Johannesburg
271 reviews
8.8 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 305 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
7.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliff Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Manor Guest House

Address: 7 Hearn Drive | Northcliff, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $69 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcliff Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet upmarket suburb of Northcliff against the hill with a lovely view of Northern Johannesburg. Quiet and peaceful with DSTV and free Wi-Fi in each room. Huge garden with pool, tennis court and Jacuzzi. Owners are award-winning designers and manufacturers of Stage, Film, and TV decor sets. All credit cards welcome and foreign currency accepted. Transport and food can be arranged on prior notice. The owner has a fine collection of European Antiques and Yellow and Stinkwood Africana Furniture. Built in 1937, the manor was recently expertly renovated and refurbished with the comfort of guests in mind. Close to malls, cinemas and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Northcliff Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing