We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northcliff Manor Guest House
Ranked #32 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything was really perfect, nice room, wonderful breakfast and beautiful placed in a quiet environment. The owners are very helpful and friendly people. Next time in Johannesburg I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lupo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Northcliff Manor Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 124 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a one night stopover in Johannesburg for the last night of our honeymoon before our flight home and a friend suggested Northcliff Manor.

The house itself is really interesting (as detailed in previous reviews), with a fine selection of artwork, and the grounds are lovely. We were in the honeymoon suite which was enormous, with a separate living room with spectacular views across Johannesburg - we thought this was very good value. Some of the bathroom fittings were slightly worn, but this in no way detracted from the charm of the place. We found Johnny and Ilse (and their dogs!) to be very warm, friendly hosts.

Breakfast was incredible - we couldn't believe that the vast selection of cereals, bread, muffins, yoghurt and fruit etc had been laid on just for us. This was then followed by a superb full English (with Thai basil in the mushrooms which I loved).

We enjoyed our time at Northcliff Manor and would not hesitate to stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I spent several days here on either end of our honeymoon trip and enjoyed it thoroughly. The house itself is reason enough to stay - absolutely stunning decor inside, vibrant and full of history (a home built for an anti-apartheid legend), and lush and tropical gardens outside. Johnny was a charming host and kind enough to write and offer to make arrangements for a coat we left behind. The guest house is in an extremely elegant part of Jo'burg and we felt safe and comfortable. We will be recommending it to our friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in Bedroom 1 in the tower, which was fabulous. We enjoyed the lounge overlooking the gard...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Januschka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the guest house. It not only provide comfortable surroundings but the view and the scenary is excellent. What is more pleasing is the personal attention that Ilze and her husband Jonnie give to their guests. My wife had gone for an eye review at a nearby Eye Clinic and we also needed to do a bit of shopping. We were given VIP treatment as we were shuttled for free between the Guest House, the clinic and the shopping centre for both days and that was done with a smile. Add to that the breakfast treat - you feel like you are in paradise. I have stayed in many other places in the Johannesburg area but this is my hotel of choice.
Rodgers

Room Tip: Go for Gold
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rthusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Thank you Johnny and Ilze for the warm welcome and accomm odation at North Cliff Guest House!
We were treated like in a 5* Hotel! Your house, rooms, decor is out of this world. Definitely something to experience.

You are a wonderful couple, and will see you again.

Thank you for your hospitality!

Karel and Elize Jankowitz (ecj@telkomsa.net )

Room Tip: Gold room great in winter time.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizejankowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently spent a few nights at either end of our trip at Northcliff Manor. From the moment we arrived we were looked after splendidly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are fit for an edition of Conde Nast magazine, and the owners sense of style is certainly a cut above the normal findings in South Africa. I will have no hesitation in either staying here again, or recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you want something unique and special, Northcliff Manor is sure to provide a treat. The lavish styling and decor creates an atmosphere of luxury and well-being that will take your breath away. Add to this the wonderful garden, stunning views that stretch to the Magalies mountains plus the hospitality of hosts Johnny and Ilse and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 is an amazing experience.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northcliffmanor, Owner at Northcliff Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

We thank you for the time spent on giving us your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
4.8 mi away
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
0.3 mi away
Over The Moon Guesthouse
Over The Moon Guesthouse
#3 of 55 in Randburg
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#16 of 299 in Johannesburg
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blackheath Manor Guest House
Blackheath Manor Guest House
#9 of 299 in Johannesburg
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
#41 of 299 in Johannesburg
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jubilee Lodge Guesthouse
Jubilee Lodge Guesthouse
#1 of 55 in Randburg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliff Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Manor Guest House

Address: 7 Hearn Drive | Northcliff, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $67 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcliff Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet upmarket suburb of Northcliff against the hill with a lovely view of Northern Johannesburg. Quiet and peaceful with DSTV and free Wi-Fi in each room. Huge garden with pool, tennis court and Jacuzzi. Owners are award-winning designers and manufacturers of Stage, Film, and TV decor sets. All credit cards welcome and foreign currency accepted. Transport and food can be arranged on prior notice. The owner has a fine collection of European Antiques and Yellow and Stinkwood Africana Furniture. Built in 1937, the manor was recently expertly renovated and refurbished with the comfort of guests in mind. Close to malls, cinemas and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Northcliff Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing