We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northcliff Manor Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Northcliff Manor Guest House
Ranked #28 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the guest house. It not only provide comfortable surroundings but the view and the scenary is excellent. What is more pleasing is the personal attention that Ilze and her husband Jonnie give to their guests. My wife had gone for an eye review at a nearby Eye Clinic and we also needed to do a bit of shopping. We were given VIP treatment as we were shuttled for free between the Guest House, the clinic and the shopping centre for both days and that was done with a smile. Add to that the breakfast treat - you feel like you are in paradise. I have stayed in many other places in the Johannesburg area but this is my hotel of choice.
Rodgers

Room Tip: Go for Gold
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rthusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    17
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
44
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Thank you Johnny and Ilze for the warm welcome and accomm odation at North Cliff Guest House!
We were treated like in a 5* Hotel! Your house, rooms, decor is out of this world. Definitely something to experience.

You are a wonderful couple, and will see you again.

Thank you for your hospitality!

Karel and Elize Jankowitz (ecj@telkomsa.net )

Room Tip: Gold room great in winter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizejankowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently spent a few nights at either end of our trip at Northcliff Manor. From the moment we arrived we were looked after splendidly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are fit for an edition of Conde Nast magazine, and the owners sense of style is certainly a cut above the normal findings in South Africa. I will have no hesitation in either staying here again, or recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you want something unique and special, Northcliff Manor is sure to provide a treat. The lavish styling and decor creates an atmosphere of luxury and well-being that will take your breath away. Add to this the wonderful garden, stunning views that stretch to the Magalies mountains plus the hospitality of hosts Johnny and Ilse and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 is an amazing experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northcliffmanor, Owner at Northcliff Manor Guest House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We thank you for the time spent on giving us your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife & I spent a most enjoyable week at this B & B. A true home from home, enhanced by outstanding elegance of decor. A very special ambience, a very special place, where we felt very special. Unfortunately, after the elapse of time, names escape me, but we remember that you all looked after us with such loving care!

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom en suite and not "across the hall"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinG987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Thanks to the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to go to northcliff Manor. What a wonderful place to stay. We only stayed for one night before we had to go back to Holland. But it was great. A beautifull house located on a Hill overlooking Jo'burg. The house and garden are just amazing and John and Ilse the best hosts ever. The room was spacious and very clean. We certainly had a "room with a view" thanks to John we ate at the best steakhouse! We only had one day to visit Jo'burg but John arranged a taxidriver to pick us up at the Apartheidsmuseum and take us to see Soweto. We learned alot on this 2 hour drive. And i am in love with the paintings that Ilse makes. They're beautifull. Ohh and the breakfast is to die die for! John and Ilse Thank you so much for making our stay in Jo'burg "onvergetelijk". Hope you have a great time in Amsterdam! We hope to come back and stay à little longer in your great guesthouse.
Karin & Peter

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaatje66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you shun cubist, minimalist and bland, then this is the place. Reflecting an era long past when wood and space was the norm, this guest house pleases the eye as much as it pampers the body. The warmth of Johnny and Ilse, your hosts, is real and unpretentious. Unfortunately we had only one night and a short one at that, but my colleague swam a quick 10 lengths in the sizeable pool the morning, I appreciated the free wi-fi connection to address a niggling issue as the experience of restful luxury made its mark and the sherry decanter was a nice touch. The three spaniels are a nice touch for someone who missed his own dogs.

Room Tip: For space the bridal suite is unchallenged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AskiesDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.4 mi away
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
#33 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
0.3 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#15 of 293 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dunkeld Manor
Dunkeld Manor
#17 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blackheath Manor Guest House
Blackheath Manor Guest House
#13 of 293 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#8 of 293 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliff Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Manor Guest House

Property: Northcliff Manor Guest House
Address: 7 Hearn Drive | Northcliff, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcliff Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet upmarket suburb of Northcliff against the hill with a lovely view of Northern Johannesburg. Quiet and peaceful with DSTV and free Wi-Fi in each room. Huge garden with pool, tennis court and Jacuzzi. Owners are award-winning designers and manufacturers of Stage, Film, and TV decor sets. All credit cards welcome and foreign currency accepted. Transport and food can be arranged on prior notice. The owner has a fine collection of European Antiques and Yellow and Stinkwood Africana Furniture. Built in 1937, the manor was recently expertly renovated and refurbished with the comfort of guests in mind. Close to malls, cinemas and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Northcliff Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing