We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in the rosebank”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

really good hotel, with great facilities,
nice gym and outside pool.
breakfast was really good, lots of choices and really delicious.
room was really great, comfortable beds, nice bathroom.
the wi fi is only available for limited time which is annoying.
walking distance to the rosebank mall, with lots of shops and restaurants

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear "bdelad",

Thank you for the fantastic review and your kind recommendations. We are thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the service and the facilities on offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 681 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Clean and comfort room.
Good Gym.
A bit sad it's Small pool.
The elevator is small and slow but they are prepairing and upgrading.
The hotel is located near center city.
I suggest you stay here if travel to Johannesbus.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Phạm Thành L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear "Phạm Thành L",

Thank you for the great comments and for recommending our hotel to your fellow TripAdvisor users.

Greetings from the entire team and warm regards,

Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was very impressed with the hotel. The main lobby is well decorated as are the rooms. We had dealings with the front check in desk & the concierge - both friendly & helpful.

This morning when we went down to breakfast - admittedly it was just before 9am but many others came in later, there wasn't a clean table to sit at. We chose the best we could find but had very little clean cutlery. I understand that there was not much choice left on the buffet this late in the morning but it took asking a number of waiters to replenish the bread for toast, surely this is not unreasonable. Eventually about 10 slices were brought out for a queue of 9 people.

The ladies doing the egg requests were so busy chatting amongst themselves that they didn't really listen to our preferences for eggs & just managed to dump them on my plate.

Being one of the handful of South Africans amongst a roomful of foreign tourist & business people I was embarrassed that this is what a top restaurant offers. By South African standards the cost for breakfast is expensive so surely extra staff could be employed to clear, reset tables & tidy up the buffet tables. I am thinking along the lines of first impressions and breakfast is the first impression of the day & could be a good ad for your hotel if people comment on the service received at breakfast during their day.



Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank boycehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear "boycehome",

Thank you for your frank comments. Although you do indicate to have enjoyed your stay with us, we are very disappointed to hear that we have dropped the ball during breakfast service when you were visiting the Fresh restaurant with your fellow group members. I can assure you that this is not the normal standard of service provided and I presume that at that specific morning some issues have been experienced with staffing levels, combined with peak volumes of guests visiting the restaurant.

I will evaluate your experience with the restaurant team and kitchen management, as we clearly are not consistent in meeting our guest's expectations. Thank you for assisting us to improve our service levels on an ongoing basis. Your input on the matter is much appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I’ve stayed here often on business trips to Jo'burg and always enjoyed it. So I booked myself in for the one night extra that I was staying during this business trip. The hotel is still as funky and textural as always, but this time I certainly noticed the service seems to have slipped.

At the hotel, the staff are still friendly and helpful, but I sent 3 emails relating to my online booking and never got one response. Which caused friction at check-in when I was due to pay R880 and they were wanting an extra R250 for an additional guest who didn’t exist. Frustrating!

And I had to arrange my own travel from the airport because I never got a response to my request for a transfer.

I hope the service improves as it’s a nice place, but just difficult to deal with… And it’s not just me. My company moved our regular annual booking for 6 colleagues for a week to a local B&B because the Crowne Plaza was just too difficult to deal with. It’s time for a wake-up call I think!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Keith R,

Thank you for the honest review. I am very disappointed to read that we haven't been responding adequately to your reservation and transport request. I can assure you that this is not of the normal standard and simply not acceptable. For some years, we have implemented a tracking system for incoming reservation requests which actually makes the reservation team far more effective and responsive, but clearly this has not been the case in your example. On behalf of the team at the hotel, our sincere apologies. We will not allow for standards to slip, hence we will discuss this in detail with all relevant team members.

We do hope that we can welcome you back again to our hotel in future to restore confidence in our hospitality on offer.

Yours sincerely,

Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza (aka "The Rosebank") multiple times (stopped counting years back), and as the title says, this is my usual "home" in JNB.

I have only used the executive/business rooms of the North Tower. They are large, modern with nice bathrooms. Some have very large showers, while others have bath. Just ask if you have a preference.

There is a good, fast and stable complimentary WiFi connection (valid for multiple devices).

A large covered parking is available (at a fee) and the hotel is walking distance (5-7 min) from the Rosebank GAUTRAIN station which makes it very convenient to commute to Sandton for shopping or to O.R. Tambo airport (JNB Int').

The hotel is conveniently located two blocks from the major shopping area of Rosebank (The Zone, The Rosebank Mall, the Flea Market) with its numerous restaurants. Walking from hotel to mall is no problems.

The concierge may arrange transportation (limo service) to anywhere in town should you need this.

The exec/business rooms come with complimentary access to the gym and the lounge.

The hotel went through a bit of a crisis a couple of years back: the place was flooded with airline crews that received 100% of the staff and Management attention, which was very detrimental to the “normal” customer base I belong to. I had stopped going there and used the IGH hotels in the vicinity (there is a Holiday Inn in Rosebank just at the GAUTRAIN station and another one in Sandton). Hotel Management appears to have worked on these issues and the service offer is now back to where it was.

Check-out remains a bit of a challenge sometimes: you MUST check your bill twice as there sometimes have erroneous charges (breakfast charged where it should be included in your room rate, complimentary services that appear on the bill, etc.): so be extra careful as this happens a lot (pretty much every time to be totally honest).

The few flaws are well compensated by a friendly, smiling and helpful staff.

Maybe not the best, but surely a very good one. Will return for sure (actually already have a booking…)!

Room Tip: If you can use your charms, try and get an upgrade to room 763... Upgrades to any of the other suite...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF_Leandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear JF_Leandri,

Greetings from the team at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg! Thank you for your kind and detailed recommendations. And for once more for choosing to stay with us and calling our hotel your home away from home.

We much appreciate your loyalty!

Kind regards,

Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Recently stayed the night and found the hotel amenities to be very good but service ad staff morale to be poor.

The Crowne Plaza is a renovation of the former Rosebank Hotel and whilst the rooms are excellent - the corridors, lobbies and common areas look extremely dated. The week i stayed they were renovating one lift which left the remaining lift servicing 180 rooms. Rooms themselves are great - very clean and comfortable.

The other thing to note is arrival and departure is tough. Staff at check in were very slow to attend and process and at check out it was worse. The other glitch (which is worth noting) is that there is no dedicated taxi stand for the hotel. All taxi's have to be booked in advance - you find this out once you've been standing in the street for 5 minutes - as none of the staff are inclined to mention it whilst you are being processed - perhaps the management could think of including "Would you require a taxi sir?" as par of the check out process? :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your candid comments! Your honesty is much appreciated. Clearly, we are disappointed to hear we were not able to fully meet your expectations during your stay. As pointed out by your kind self, we are currently upgrading our lifts at the hotel, in order to improve the guest experience. We apologise for the inconveniences experienced due to this "work in progress".

With regards to the service received by our team members, i can assure you that the service lapses experienced are not of the standard we normally offer to all of our guests, every day. Occasionally, the service times at front desk service can be slightly longer due to high guest volumes check in and / or checking out. Again, our apologies if this has led to unwanted and undesired delays.

Thank you for pointing out these areas of improvement and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg soonest.

Yours sincerely,

Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Excellent, courteous, polite. Customer and consumer oriented. Manager always follows through. Request are always filled in timely fashion. Rooms clean. Location is very strategic to other facilities in area. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear iimz
Thank you for your positive feed back to the review. I am indeed delighted that our training with the staff has paid off . I am looking forward to your next visit to us soon. Regards Alwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing