We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to Gautrain and Rosebank”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good facilities, friendly staff.

The team added some nice touches to make our stay special.

Close to Rosebank Mall.

Downstairs bar provides the option to change lighting color of your private booth.

Bathrooms a tad small.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank zhenn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear "zhenn z",

Just a quick note to thank you for the great review! We appreciate the fact you have taken the time to share your recommendations with your fellow TripAdvisor readers.

Do make sure you come back to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg soon!

Warm regards,

Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 684 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had to go to South Africa for visa business and it was 2 adults and 2 children. The hotel was very accommodating with the rooms and sleeping arrangements as well as making sure we had sufficient space for my husband to continue to work and my children to not feel trapped in a small room. The staff are extremely friendly and very trustworthy, and lets face it in South Africa this is something to be happy about. One morning I was one the phone walking out the breakfast restaurant and left my bag on the seat. Before I realized and got back downstairs the staff had locked it away and were on the phone to our room. The rooms are clean and quiet. The night we arrived was the end of their fashion week and although the reception area and circle bar was a hive of activity we could rest easily in peace and quiet in our room two floor directly above. It is located across the road from a police station but again not noisy and we were able to have some documents certified without getting a car. a block away is Netcare hospital and although we didn't need them it was great to know it was right there. a few blocks away is the Rosebank mall and The Zone but is currently under construction for a remodel so a little dusty. The hotel has a pool but we didnt use this facility. We did avail of the business centre and although its pricey for use of their pc, everything else was done for a small fee. It is clean and quiet as well. The hotel has a spa that needs a few day pre booking especially in summer which I found hard when you don't know what you are doing each day.

My only two suggestions for this hotel would be to have a after hours spa facility for those coming back from a busy day shopping in Sandton or Rosebank :-) and the second would be to have at least one children's channel for kids to watch while parents are getting ready each day and before bed at night. We resolved the second issue with ipads and youtube player but that gets old fast.

Room Tip: if you are travelling with children and need 2 rooms phone the hotel directly to ensure interleading...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milkmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear "Milkmonkey",

Greetings from the Crowne Plaza team!

It was a pleasure hosting you and your family at our hotel. And we are extremely pleased to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Your detailed comments of the service received by the various team members is much appreciated and will be shared and celebrated. Thank you for pointing out some areas of improvement as well, which will be discussed with the management team.

Lastly, its great to hear you enjoyed the Rosebank area so much as we are convinced that many travellers to Johannesburg start to discover this exciting but centrally located area within our beloved city.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

TL;DR:
Hotel location was good, having a rental car facility next door to the hotel is what brought me here. Hotel security for the most part was good, but there was one Paul Blart overachiever that made my family scared. Internet was painfully slow, rooms were ok but needed repair, breakfast was great, and the IHG lounge was great to refuel during the middle of the day. Would I stay here again? Maybe, it would be my second choice.

Unabridged:
I reserved two rooms for a family for four because the rule of having a maximum of two people per room. We took the Gautrain from the airport, which sounded like a good idea but it wasn’t economical because the fare for four people was over $50 USD. When we arrived at the Rosebank station, it was a 5 minute downhill walk over uneven pavement. My advice is to use your handle and lean your suitcase on two wheels instead of four. We arrived during the day time and there was ample security around with local cops.

The check in process was normal with very few hiccups, they were courteous and fairly attentive. The bellhop was very attentive and grabbed our luggage without asking, I’m the kind of person where I would rather do everything myself. We had two adjoining rooms, one with a regular shower and one with a handicap shower. I mentioned the two different bathrooms because the handicap bathroom did not make sense to me. It leaked… a lot. We had to build a makeshift dam from the used towels to make sure water didn’t leak into the room. Other than that, the room was just okay. I’m not picky nor am I entitled, I am afraid of additional room charges because of the culture there. With that said, parts of the room with high traffic and usage showed signs of heavy wear. The door stop was beyond repair, you can tell it has been shoddily put back into place with caulk. The sliding shower door fell off the track after my second use and we were missing a chair. I called housekeeping to make sure they were aware of it so I wouldn’t be charged later on.

Breakfast and the IHG club were a huge plus to our experience. Breakfast was a combination of a buffet with an omelet station. The IHG club served as a pleasant recharge station for my family if we came back during the middle of the day.

Since this was our first time visiting Johannesburg, we came back to the hotel by sunset and explored the Rosebank Mall at night. There were guards present at the gate at all hours of the night, even though the neighborhood seemed safe to me. The streets were not that well lit compared to cities in the United States (I’m from Boston), so that would deter some people from exploring at night.

There was one major incident that really stuck out with me and it was with one of the security guards. He literally followed within 30 – 50 feet behind my family and I as we walked from one part of the hotel to another, even from the gym. He did this for several days before I spoke up and asked him if there was a problem. I asked for his name and complained to the hotel, I only got back a generic response from the deputy general manager. Even at that time, it sounded crazy to report an employee following you.

The Internet was free if I recall correctly, but it was so painfully slow it wasn’t worth it. The queen size beds were actually two twin size beds put together. It’s hard to sleep with your spouse because both of us fell in between the divider. If you’re staying anywhere close to the club over the weekend, forget about sleeping. The music and bass were so loud it kept you up after 2 am, this is a factor if you have an early morning road trip in the early morning.

//Advice on renting in SA

After reading some people’s advice, you have to make sure to document and videotape everything! Before we checked out, I made sure to videotape the room to make sure there was no damage that wasn’t documented with the hotel. I’m glad I did this because I ran into trouble with Europcar, see below. Make sure to double and triple check the bill before leaving because there were charges tacked onto my bill, such as breakfast. I paid in cash every time when we ate breakfast but for some reason several breakfast charges made it onto my bill.

//This is for Europcar

It’s great to have rental car facility next to the hotel, but you also have to make sure you do your own due diligence. Every single nick, scratch, and dent you must report to the agent; even if you think it’s minor. Before I returned my car I ran it through the carwash because it was dusty and muddy. When you check out the car the agent checks out with you, however when you return the car, it’s with a different person other than the agent. The employee that checked in my car scrutinized everything. He opened the trunk, checked the spare tire and he told me “Your tire is flat, we have to charge you for this.” I didn’t even know I had a spare in the trunk, but I told him several times to bring out his tire gauge so we can measure the air pressure. He ignored me after several attempts demanding that he take out his tire gauge. I was visibly irritated when he blatantly refused to acknowledge me, but after when he conferred with the agent that helped me check out the car, he simply said to me “ok, you’re fine.” Really??? On top of that I asked for a printout of my receipt with Europcar and the bill was literally three times my original quote. I brought in my copy of the quote and the agent was shocked at the price difference. She asked for a copy and made sure I was charged the lower price.

In conclusion, my family and I travel to Asia every year. This time we went out of our comfort zone and traveled to South Africa this time. It was an experience and we will return again, but you just have to respect and go with their ways of doing business for obvious reasons.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfong59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear "mfong59",

Thank you for the detailed comments. Although you do indicate you had a overall pleasant stay with us, I do want to apologize for some of the inconveniences experienced.

I was surprised to hear your experience with one of our security guards. The Crowne Plaza Johannesburg takes safety and security very seriously and put in a lot of time and effort to ensure the necessary precautions are in place. The behaviour of this specific security guard is not of the normal standard and will most definitely be discussed with our security company in charge.

My apologies for the error in billing, reflecting a breakfast charge that had been paid for in cash. Unacceptable and this should not happen. I have already discussed this with the relevant managers who will reiterate this in training and departmental procedures.

Your comments on the service experienced by EuropCar will be conveyed to their management team.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us when visiting South Africa and we hope you return to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg soon.

Yours sincerely,

Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It has a nice ambiance. Housekeepers come 3 times till 9AM, I didnt get why they were so insisting. There is a club and restaurant which are quite good.The hotel is 5 min walk away from the mall. Overall it was OK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear "basarco",

Great to hear you liked the design of our beloved Crowne Plaza Johannesburg. I fully agree with your comments on the easily accessible and attractive surroundings of Rosebank and the close proximity to the Rosebank Mall.

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon!

Warm regards,

Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of previous occasions and while I am impressed with the front of house service and the general level of service, I remain disappointed by the fact that the only choices of in-hotel dining in the evening are room service or the out-sourced franchise restaurant. This might well suit carnivores, but it does not suit me, particularly when I travel on business and do not want to be confined to my room to dine. The menu choice for vegetarians and/or those who prefer not to eat huge quantities of meat, is sadly limited and although the waitron was accommodating, the quality of what I received was inferior to the lunch served by the hotel bistro the following day. An up market hotel like this does need to ensure a better range of choices for business travellers who, for various reasons, may be confined to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift lobby
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear "gingermelonmp",

Thank you for your posting your experiences on TripAdvisor and we appreciate the detailed comments on the food offering at the various outlets at our hotel. Of course, we find it very disappointing to hear that we have not met your expectations when it comes to our restaurant offering at the hotel, focused on vegetarian options in our dining venues.

We are not sure whether the various vegetarian options have been properly communicated / offered to you while visiting the different dining venues as - besides our room service menu - we offer our guests a variety of light meals, soups and salads and sandwiches, including several vegetarian options at Rosebank Cafe, in the lobby area of the hotel. Furthermore, our outsourced restaurant adjacent to the hotel called Butcher Block actually does feature a selection of vegetarian dishes on their menu as well as multiple sumptuous chicken and fish dishes for those guests who are not vegan. Again, I am not sure whether these options have been clearly explained to you by your waiter or host.

Irrespectively, I will forward your comments to the restaurant management for internal review. Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Situated at good location near Rosebank Malls. Hotel staffs are friendly and also rooms service is very efficient. Had great stay:) Food is awesome at "Butcher Block" also buffet breakfast with lots of variety of dishes i.e. healthy and tasty both.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamika_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don j, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2016

Dear Guest
Your feedback is much appreciated.
The hotel and it's staff will be ensuring that we turn the feedback into an improved guest experience.

Kind regards
Don Jesseman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The worst hotel stay in my 10+ year of traveling. Stayed for a few weeks. I would have changed the hotel if I had a choice.

Generally, the staff don't do their job well. Front desk staff including managers don't seem to be well trained with exception of the housekeeping manager. Many issues (from minor to major - you name it) occurred throughout the stay, but the GM didn't seem to care that much. One example, my rate included breakfast buffet, but this was never told at check-in. Even when I asked at the restaurant, I got an incorrect answer. The GM said this should have been told me by a travel agent who booked my hotel. Really? Isn't this one of the hotel staff's responsibilities?

With my extensive travel experience, I don't complain just to complain. Also, I understand everyone makes mistakes. It really matters how they are rectified. After my letter to the GM, I saw some, yet inconsistent, improvement, but not by much. And I continued to have issues until the day of check-out (simple example, I was promised to receive my folio via email after my check-in because they messed up and it would take an hour to fix - never seen the folio). This hotel has a long way to go for it to be called a full service hotel.

Also, there were some major design flaws that I found very annoying. To me, the design concept of the hotel is more like trying to be hip and cool, but not functional.
1. Bathroom faucets were so strong that water gets splashed all over. Very inconvenient!
2. In a regular room, the bathroom door opens outward, not inward, so often conflicts with a room door (they're located next to each other).
3. In a suite, the bathroom and bedroom are open. There's no door for the shower, so the bedroom gets humid after each shower. Closet space was very limited given that it was a suite.

On the other hand, the Butcher Block was a good on-site restaurant. Also, the wait staff at breakfast were quite friendly and nice. Regardless, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. I would stay either at Hyatt or Holiday Inn if you need to stay in Rosebank.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildcatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear "wildcatm",

Thank you for posting the review on your stay with us at the beginning of this year. As you know, we have had extensive communication in the months following to address all your concerns raised and rectify the service lapses experienced. This resulted in us provided you with full compensation as requested by your kind self. We felt at that stage, we had done everything possible to restore your confidence in our hotel to the best of our ability, but at least show our genuine and best intentions to settle the matter in the best possible way.

Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests. Your interest and concern are much appreciated.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Yours sincerely,


Allan Clingham - General manager & the Crowne Plaza team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $100 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing