We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a stopover in Jo'burg in June, so spent the nigh there.

It's a good location, nicely renovated a couple years ago, and excellent amenities.

Nice place for Business trips, and the staff is always attentive to your needs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niknpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear "niknpatel",

We are thrilled to hear we have been able to create a "Great Hotel Guests Love", as per the IHG motto. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again when visiting from Mauritius. Your loyalty is much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 681 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very conveniently located, stayed at hotel as was attending a breakfast conference . Did not realize how close the hotel was to the Rosebank Mall / Gautrain. Shortvwalk to the New Standard Bank Head office. Room I stayed in was very damp and perhaps rooms need some refurbishment. Overall stay was good and staff friendly. Will stay at hotel again if business is the area.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Shmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear "Shmsy",

Thank you for rating your guest experience on TripAdvisor and for sharing your kind recommendations.

The location of our hotel is indeed in the middle of sparkling Rosebank and close to the Gautrain station as well as main access roads. Do make sure you pay us another visit soon when returning to Johannesburg.

Warm regards,


Alvyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I always love to stay at this hotel. Though rooms are bit compact, staff is very friendly and willing to extend helping hand whenever required. Close proximity to Rosebank Shopping Mall is another added advantage. Unlike some places in J'berg, it is fairly safe to walk to shopping mall from hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtulKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear "AtulKB",

Great review and very "nice" comments! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg!

Warm regards,

Alan Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

As my father was an Israeli diplomat - we used to stay in this hotel but after 15 years I flew to S. africa alone to see my friends and stayed at this hotel. The hotel is so beautiful and the desine is one of the best. The staff gives you a great welcome at front desk and in a few moments you are in your room with a view that is the line of Crowne Plaze. The service and the food is outstanding and if you need a tour at the Saffari - the staff will help you at once. MOST RECOMENDED when you are in Johansburg for night-over or a week

Room Tip: I think the best rooms are on the South side
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear "Natan L",

We are humbled by your spectacular review! Thank you for the support and for choosing to stay at our beloved Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank.

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon when returning to South Africa.

Warm regards,


Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few times in the past few months. It's well managed. As a guest you have a feeling that staff is motivated to excel. There is always room for improvement but the overall experience is great.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room on the north tower
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZvikaGl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear "1stAccidentalTourist",

Its "always a pleasure" to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg! Thank you so much for your kind recommendations on TripAdvisor.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,


Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stopped off in Joburg to see some friends on the way to the Cape, were recommened to stay in either Sandton or Rosebank - choose Rosebank as price wise it's cheaper, the hotel itself it very nice, good facilities and has a mall very near by with a lot of restaurant - see separate review for The Grillhouse. Overall very good for our brief stop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krippy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear "Krippy1999",

Glad to hear we have been able to create a comfortable and relaxing "stop over" when visiting Johannesburg! Do make sure you pay us another visit soon.

Warm regards,

Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Positives: Safe Location, Parking space.
Average: Breakfast Buffet.
Negatives: The rooms are terribly small, the service is unimaginably slow, the check-in process is lengthy and they are not efficient with payments. I had to stand on counter for more than an hour to complete the formalities. The people will take their sweet time to deliver something to your room. While having breakfast I was struggling with the cloche of a dish and the lady was looking at me from a distance to know how I will figure it out instead of coming and helping me. They simply dont care, there is no motivation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear "Chandan M",

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback! You can imagine I was unpleasantly surprised to read your review and would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience.

The quality and speed of service you have received is certainly not reflective of the levels we strive to offer to every single guest of our hotel. I can however assure you that our team members "do care" about your quality of stay and are definitely motivated to provide efficient and effective guest service to every guest at the hotel. So, I am convinced that your experience is a rare and isolated one and not a repeating occurrence.

I will carefully review your comments with the senior management team and evaluate how this could have been avoided. Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $100 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing