We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel on the whole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A good hotel on the whole”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for three nights for work reasons. I liked the hotel and had a good room, although I had a suite (not terribly expensive) and I suspect the ordinary rooms would have been rather small. The bed was comfortable. Most of the staff were really nice and friendly, with the notable exception of the reception staff who seemed quite surly and under-trained. An example of this (but by no means the only example) was that although I had emailed and had a conversation to say I would not be arriving till the early morning after the date I had booked in, I was kept waiting at reception for ages on check-in, without any explanation about why, until I realised they were probably searching for me on the following day's check-in list. This was despite the fact that I had specifically asked for a note to be added to my booking to make sure there were no hold-ups.
The wi-fi service (with a provider called 'Always On', which is a bit of a joke) was unreliable - it was down for a whole day throughout the hotel when I was there (fortunately I was out that day); and also failed in my room on another occasion.
A slightly annoying thing was that much was made of a free aromatherapy kit in the rooms. I don't care either way about that, but if you make a big deal of it, it should be there! I did like the card in the room providing tips on jetlag, which made me feel as though my situation was acknowledged!
The room service meals were quite nice but nothing special.
I'd probably stay here again as it was in a nice neighbourhood with an easy walk to the Rosebank Mall.

Room Tip: If you can afford it I recommend a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Ert53,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review and for your constructive criticism.

I was disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations and would like to offer my sincere apologies for the areas that we have let you down. All the points that you have mentioned will be raised with the management team and where possible rectified.

We do hope that the service lapse experienced will not deter you from visiting us again in future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Hedges – Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    293
    100
    35
    24
See reviews for
53
110
50
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a warm welcome by the lady at the reception and was able to do a early checkin. One of the few occasions during checkin that the person at the reception gave me all the hotel information including breakfast timings, restaurants, bar and gym etc without being asked for. The room was comfortable though the bathrooms were a bit small. They should have a shower partition or else a shower curtain as the half partition wets the bathroom. The wifi was a bit slow but I find that the case in the other hotels in Johannesburg as well. The staff at the concierge desk and the bell boys are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread is great and the highlight was the waffle dough dispenser and the waffle making machine for self use. This is the first time I have seen something like this in a breakfast buffet.

The Rosebank mall is at a walking distance. The surroundings look safe and I would recommend this hotel for business visits. The check out was very smooth as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsimDalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
This is the kind of review that we love! Thank you for giving us such amazing feedback after your recent stay at Crowne Plaza, Johannesburg – The Rosebank.

I am pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. Our location in the trendy Rosebank Precinct has easy and safe access to a variety of retail shops, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. We do hope that you will have the chance to experience this unique city again during your next visit.

We pride ourselves in delivering the best GUEST service and to get the basics right consistently and judging by your experience with us, we have surpassed your expectations.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again.
Kind regards,

Kathleen Hedges – Guest relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm a weekly regular at his hotel and this has to be the worst Crown Plaza I've ever stayed in. The rooms are poorly maintained the service is average and they boast a Business (fast) wifi that is extremely slow or just doesn't work. If you would like to watch TV you need to be a sports lover as they have 7 dedicated sports channels and if your unlucky to be here on a weekend make that 9 and little else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_B0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Stuart _B0000,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. We very much value your opinion being one of our regular guests and it is very important to us that we live up to your expectations.

I have contacted you directly via TripAdvisor to obtain some more details around your concerns raised. Please be assured that we will look into the issues mentioned around Internet speed and the TV channel offering. We sincerely apologize for the poor Housekeeping service you have received during your stay which is clearly below standard. Our Executive Housekeeper is looking into this with her team.
Despite your recent negative experience, we do sincerely hope to welcome you back soon, and that your next stay will be a comfortable and memorable one.

Kind regards,


Kathleen Hedges – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just stayed 5 weeks in the Crowne Plaza - Rosebank. This was my fifth visit to Johannesburg and fifth stay at the hotel and I can't imagine staying at another hotel. My wife was with me for two weeks and share my opinion. All requests were quickly realized. Extra chairs, extra bathrobes ,etc
Highlights. Accomodation. We had a large clean cormfortable sunny room on the 7th floor, large bath with shower. Staff - Just excellent . Efficient and Friendly throughout the hotel - at Reception, at Breakfast , everywhere. Travel Desk- Took care of all Travel needs. To work, to and from the airport, trips at weekends to the Safari Parks,shopping malls ,etc. Location. Minutes walk away from the lively Rosebank Mall, Restaurants, Craft market, Cinema.and Gautrain station.Butchers Block on site Restaurant- Excellent Food and Service,certainly as good as the other top restaurants in Johannesburg - Internet Access. Free 2 day renewable voucher for Priority Club members. 1 hour free for others. Gym and Spa facilities - Very Good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Errol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Errol H,

Thank you very much for reviewing Crowne Plaza – The Rosebank on Trip Advisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for acknowledging that our staff made the difference on your visit, we have a fantastic team and cherish their contribution to the hotel and to our guests.

We are thrilled to have you as one of our regular guests. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards,
Kathleen Hedges – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

i recently spent a week at the Crowne Plaza Rosebank hotel. i really enjoyed my stay, the staff were friendly and very helpful, the accommodation was well maintained and check-in/check-out was a breeze. The breakfast at the Fresh was fantastic and catered for everyone's needs.

i would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for accomodation in the Rosebank area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maithree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear "Maithree B",

Excellent feedback - especially coming from a guest who has stayed with us for a consecutive week.

I can assure you that everyone at the hotel enjoyed having you as one of our valued guests and we are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon, so we can create a home away from home for you when travelling to Johannesburg.

Kind regards to everyone in Pietermaritzburg!

Kathleen Hedges - Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south-africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night recently. Our King Suite was very nice and big. Bed was very comfy and the shower is big. Breakfast was great and room service was quick. Will definitely stay here again if I am in Johannesburg...

Room Tip: King Suite was very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear "robmich",

Great to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your comfortable "King Suite" when recently staying with us.

And thank you for the kind recommendations of the breakfast served at our Fresh Restaurant as well as the quality of service received by our Room Service team. We will most definitely share your feedback with the team members involved.

We are looking forward to welcoming you both back upon your next visit to Johannesburg!

Warm regards,

Kathleen Hedges - Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A very nice hotel, modern, with excellent location. By reserving in advance they have a very convenient rate. The room is nice, the bathroom and shower big and the bed comfortable. I could not try breakfast because I had an early flight. They can book transport to and from the airport. The Gautrain station is also convenient within walking distance, some 300 m. Also nearby, are nice coffee shops and lots of stores. The area feels safe. My only complain is that none of the two standing lamps was working, so the room felt rather gloom at night.

Room Tip: Check to see if there is an event that uses the lobby, if so try to get a room on the upper floors b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcela_MDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear "Marcela_MDP",

Thank you for the kind recommendations! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg as well as the lovely Rosebank area!

Our apologies for the malfunctioning of the light in the standing lamp. We have an extensive room check program that would normally pick up these minor guest room issues before arrival and will investigate how this has slipped through the cracks.

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon!

Warm regards,

Kathleen Hedges - Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#14 of 67 in Johannesburg
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 67 in Johannesburg
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 67 in Johannesburg
683 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Property: Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing