We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed there last April on a business trip.
Got a room upgrade and the room I got was specious comfortable, well equipped and clean.
Breakfast was good and the staff was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaniM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hi RaniM59,

Just a short note of appreciation for your kind and honest feedback. Great to hear we have been able to assist you in making your business trip to South Africa a comfortable one.

Looking forward to hosting you again soon!

At your service,

Kathleen Hedges - Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    278
    97
    33
    23
See reviews for
48
105
50
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Clean room, comfortable bed, shopping mall within walking distance.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Great to hear we have managed to exceed your expectations when visiting the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank. Greetings all in Perth and we look forward to welcoming you back soon...

Warm regards,

Kathleen Hedges - Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed 1 night at this hotel at the conclusion of a 16 day SA trip.

Upon arrival, whilst my husband was paying our driver, a young woman named Nomsa approached me at the front door and asked if she could help. Nomsa would have to be the most helpful and efficient staff member I've ever encountered. She quickly checked us in, arranged for our luggage to be taken to our room and generally exuded a very warm welcome.

Room was quite good, but bathroom very small, but ok for a 1 night stay. We ate at the "Butcher Block" that evening and very much enjoyed our meal. Buffet breakfast was good and service very attentive.

Maggie at the Travel Desk arranged for a driver for us to and from Sandton Shopping Centre, which has a large variety of shops and we enjoyed our 1 night stay. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuppy1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Hi Tuppy1Brisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences on your stay at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg with the rest of the TripAdvisor community! It’s much appreciated and all your comments will be celebrated with the team members at the hotel!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Rosebank soon!

Warm regards,

Kathleen Hedges – Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rosebank in January 2012 for a bit less than a week.

Overall the hotel was a great place to stay. The rooms were very quiet, clean and serviced frequently. The location of the hotel is great with a the nearby Rosebank Mall and plenty of places to eat and drink at. I enjoyed the hotel's fitness centre which had all new and working equipment. We also has a lovely meal at the "Butcher Block Executive Grill" and can highly recommend the restaurant if you don't want to go too far for dinner.

The staff and overall service we received was also great with the exception of one incident which took place at the hotel's reception desk. A long story short, we had to check-in twice as I had made two separate bookings, with the first night an add on due to a change in plans. The first experience of checking in was great, the gentleman at the desk got us checked in quickly after a really long day, and nothing was too much trouble to settle us in. He told us we would have to go through the process again the next day (which I'd expected because of the additional booking) but it would be quick. However the next day was not at all quick when the woman checking us in charged my card a second time, despite the payment already having been made in full on Expedia. I didn't mind the mistake, however instead of receiving an apology I was promptly told that they will keep the money as it is policy for a full deposit to be kept for "incidentals". Again I didn't mind a small deposit, but I thought 5,000 Rand was a bit excessive as a deposit. Her supervisor then backed her up and also didn't offer an apology for the original error that was made. Both women were extremely rude.

It was very fortunate that they rest of the staff were so good during our stay as this incident could have easily left us bitter.

Finally, just a quick note to let anyone future guests know that there is a Europcar Rental office out the back of the hotel. It is not well signed or advertised, although the hotel staff should be able to direct you there.

http://postcardsfromzambia.blogspot.com/2012/01/south-africa-johannesburg.html

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Hi Lauren_O,

Excellent review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in January and appreciated the wide variety of facilities offered at the hotel. And I can assure you that we will look into your comments on your experiences during your “second” check in on day two of your stay. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Greetings from the entire team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kathleen Hedges - Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We flew in from Sydney to Johannesburg and went straight to the hotel. It was at least an hours drive from the airport. The property is in very good condition and is very comfortable. The rooms are well sized but the bathroom is tiny to the extreme. The bed was very good and airconditioning worked well and waas not noisy. The hotel has a quite floor policy. That is, houskeeping does not work on those floors until 10am which is good for those trying to adjust their body clocks. The hotel has lots of places where you can sit and relax. Their breakfast buffet is very good as was the service. The staff throughout the hotel are efficient and pleasant. They have a luggage wrapping facility(about $8 per bag) which we have used so we can leave the bulk of our luggage at the hotel and only take a small bag to Victoria Falls. the hotel is within easy walking distance of Rosebank Plaza if you need to do any shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remr0da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Remr0da,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Crowne Plaza, Johannesburg, The Rosebank Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. I hope that the accommodation and service provided were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at the Crowne Plaza Hotel.

Thank you for giving such great feedback on our hotel and also for the wonderful tips of what is available within the Rosebank area.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best.

Best regards,

Kathleen Hedges
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Conveniently located in the center of plush Rosebank area, within walking distance of Rosebank mall and Gauteng train station.
Very clean and convenient hotel for business purpose.
Service was efficient and welcoming.
Rooms are large and convenient. Not the latest decoration maybe, nor is it luxurious, but matches the price as well.
What I liked less is the noise coming from the neighbor room through the communication doors.
What I liked most is the location, in a pleasant area with trees and not far from business and shopping locations.
To get to and from the airport, use the brand new and impressive Gautrain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skuatakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Hi Skuatakin,

Great feedback from such an experienced TripAdvisor reviewer such as yourself! We are excited to hear we have been able to turn you into a true “Crowne Plaza” ambassador.

Looking forward to hosting you again soon upon your return to South Africa.

Salutations de nous tous à Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank.

Allan Clingham – General Manager
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel replaced The Rosebank, a cozy relatively small hotel. The Crown Plaza is larger and garish in comparison. The bathroom was very small and the room decor
bright to a fault, with a strange painting over the bed. The staff were friendly and the hotel and room were clean. The attached restaurant, which the hotel is clear to point out is not part of the hotel, was very slow.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAinNH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear MEAinNH7,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your most valued feedback.
Please know that we take all guest feedback very seriously. Your feedback on the slow service that you received at The Butchers Block restaurant is not acceptable. I have passed your comments onto the owner of the Butchers block restaurant and he will deal with it As soon as possible.
We really appreciate your compliments with the regard to my team members that provided a good service to you. We are pleased to share with them praises, which will for sure motivate them even more to continuously strive for perfection and to thoroughly delight our guests all the time.
We hope that we can welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Best regards,
Kathleen Hedges – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
637 reviews
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
301 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Property: Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing